Softwr

Crypto · head to head

Nansen vs Rainbow

Nansen logo

Nansen

Crypto

Blockchain analytics for smart money

From
$150/month
Rated
-
Rainbow logo

Rainbow

Crypto

The fun, simple, and secure Ethereum wallet

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Rainbow has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Nansen no pricing published on public pages; pricing details require app login; Rainbow free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
  • They diverge on capability: Nansen covers Wallet Labels, Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Nansen and Rainbow actually diverge.

Attributes where Nansen and Rainbow differ
AttributeNansenRainbow
Starting price$150/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWebIos, Android, Chrome

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Crypto), founded (2019).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Nansen

  • Wallet Labels
  • Smart Money Tracking
  • Token God Mode
  • NFT Paradise
  • DeFi Analytics
  • Multi-chain
  • API
  • Web support

Only in Rainbow

  • Ethereum Wallet
  • NFT Gallery
  • ENS Integration
  • Layer 2 Support
  • Swaps
  • Ethereum
  • Optimism
  • Arbitrum

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Nansen

  • Analyticsnot Rainbow
  • On Chainnot Rainbow
  • Researchnot Rainbow

Rainbow

  • Walletsnot Nansen
  • Ethereumnot Nansen
  • Mobilenot Nansen

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Nansen

  • No pricing published on public pages; pricing details require app login

Rainbow

  • Free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees

Pricing, plan by plan

Nansen

$150/month
  • Pioneer$150/month
    • Smart Money
    • Token Flows
    • NFT analytics
  • Standard$750/month
    • All Pioneer features
    • API access
    • Advanced queries

Rainbow

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Ethereum wallet
    • NFTs
    • ENS

Which should you pick?

Choose Nansen if

  • You need wallet labels.
  • You also want smart money tracking.

Choose Rainbow if

  • You need ethereum wallet.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Ios, Android, Chrome.
  • You also want nft gallery.

Questions people ask

Is Nansen or Rainbow better?
Neither clearly leads. Nansen starts at $150/month and Rainbow at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Nansen or Rainbow?
Rainbow has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $150/month for Nansen and Free for Rainbow.
Does Nansen or Rainbow run on more platforms?
Nansen runs on Web. Rainbow runs on Ios, Android, Chrome.
Can I use Rainbow for free?
Yes. Rainbow has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Nansen starts at $150/month.
What is Nansen best used for?
Nansen is most often used for analytics, on chain, research. Of those, analytics and on chain are not what Rainbow is typically brought in for.
What can Nansen do that Rainbow cannot?
Nansen covers Wallet Labels, Smart Money Tracking, Token God Mode, NFT Paradise. Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet, NFT Gallery, ENS Integration, Layer 2 Support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Nansen: How much does Nansen cost?

Nansen does not publish pricing on its public website. The site mentions 'Low Fees, Optimized Pricing' and references a tier system that 'unlocks lower fees' through platform activity, but specific costs require logging into the Nansen app to view.

Source
Rainbow: Is there a premium tier available on Rainbow wallet?

Yes, Rainbow Black is a premium upgrade that offers free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded. The specific cost of Rainbow Black is not disclosed on the homepage.

Source
Nansen: What pricing model does Nansen use?

Nansen uses a tier-based fee structure where users accumulate Stack Points through trading activity to climb tiers and unlock reduced fees. Exact fee percentages and tier thresholds are not disclosed on the public website.

Source
Rainbow: Does Rainbow offer a rewards program?

Yes, every trade on Rainbow earns RNBW tokens as rewards. However, the homepage does not specify conversion rates or redemption value for the RNBW token.

Source
Rainbow: What is the cost of using the base Rainbow wallet?

The Rainbow wallet app appears to be free to use, with a premium Rainbow Black tier available for additional features. Specific pricing for Rainbow Black is not published on the homepage.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads