Crypto · head to head
Lido vs Rainbow
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Lido no traditional pricing plans published; Rainbow free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
- They diverge on capability: Lido covers Liquid Staking, Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Lido and Rainbow actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Crypto).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Lido
- Liquid Staking
- stETH Token
- No Minimum
- DeFi Composable
- LDO Token
- Multi-chain
- Web support
Only in Rainbow
- Ethereum Wallet
- NFT Gallery
- ENS Integration
- Layer 2 Support
- Swaps
- Ethereum
- Optimism
- Arbitrum
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Lido
- Liquid staking of ETH and other proof of stake tokensnot Rainbow
Rainbow
- Walletsnot Lido
- Ethereumnot Lido
- Mobilenot Lido
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Lido
- No traditional pricing plans published
- APR and APY rates displayed instead of subscription fees
- Liquid staking protocol with variable yield rates
Rainbow
- Free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
Pricing, plan by plan
Lido
Free- FreeFree
- Liquid staking
- stETH token
- DeFi integration
Rainbow
Free- FreeFree
- Ethereum wallet
- NFTs
- ENS
Which should you pick?
Choose Lido if
- You need liquid staking.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want steth token.
Choose Rainbow if
- You need ethereum wallet.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Ios, Android, Chrome.
- You also want nft gallery.
Questions people ask
- Is Lido or Rainbow better?
- Neither clearly leads. Lido starts at Free and Rainbow at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Lido or Rainbow?
- Lido starts at Free and Rainbow at Free.
- Does Lido or Rainbow run on more platforms?
- Lido runs on Web. Rainbow runs on Ios, Android, Chrome.
- Can I use Lido for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Lido best used for?
- Lido is most often used for liquid staking of eth and other proof of stake tokens. Of those, liquid staking of eth and other proof of stake tokens is not what Rainbow is typically brought in for.
- What can Lido do that Rainbow cannot?
- Lido covers Liquid Staking, stETH Token, No Minimum, DeFi Composable. Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet, NFT Gallery, ENS Integration, Layer 2 Support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Lido: Does Lido have a cost?
Lido is a liquid staking protocol without traditional pricing. Users deposit ETH to receive stETH tokens. The protocol generates yields reported as APR/APY rates rather than subscription fees.
SourceRainbow: Is there a premium tier available on Rainbow wallet?
Yes, Rainbow Black is a premium upgrade that offers free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded. The specific cost of Rainbow Black is not disclosed on the homepage.
SourceLido: What are the current APR and APY rates?
According to the Lido homepage, stETH APR is 2.3%, EarnETH APY is 3.1%, and EarnUSD APY is 6.4%. These rates are subject to change.
SourceRainbow: Does Rainbow offer a rewards program?
Yes, every trade on Rainbow earns RNBW tokens as rewards. However, the homepage does not specify conversion rates or redemption value for the RNBW token.
SourceRainbow: What is the cost of using the base Rainbow wallet?
The Rainbow wallet app appears to be free to use, with a premium Rainbow Black tier available for additional features. Specific pricing for Rainbow Black is not published on the homepage.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Lido vs Binance
- Lido vs Aave
- Lido vs Bybit
- Lido vs Curve Finance
- Lido vs Gemini
- Lido vs Uniswap
- Lido vs Etherscan
- Lido vs MetaMask
- Lido vs Trust Wallet
- Lido vs Compound
- Lido vs Glassnode
- Lido vs Argent
- Lido vs Bitfinex
- Lido vs Bitget
- Lido vs Bitstamp
- Lido vs CoinMarketCap
- Lido vs BscScan
- Lido vs Infura
- Lido vs Phantom
- Lido vs Exodus
- Lido vs Zerion
- Lido vs OKX
- Lido vs SushiSwap
- Lido vs Alchemy
- Rainbow vs Binance
- Rainbow vs Aave
- Rainbow vs Bybit
- Rainbow vs Curve Finance
- Rainbow vs Gemini
- Rainbow vs Uniswap
- Rainbow vs Etherscan
- Rainbow vs MetaMask
- Rainbow vs Trust Wallet
- Rainbow vs Compound
- Rainbow vs Glassnode
- Rainbow vs Argent
- Rainbow vs Bitfinex
- Rainbow vs Bitget
- Rainbow vs Bitstamp
- Rainbow vs CoinMarketCap
- Rainbow vs BscScan
- Rainbow vs Infura
- Rainbow vs Phantom
- Rainbow vs Exodus
- Rainbow vs Zerion
- Rainbow vs OKX
- Rainbow vs SushiSwap
- Rainbow vs Alchemy


