Softwr

Crypto · head to head

Infura vs Rainbow

Infura logo

Infura

Crypto

Ethereum and IPFS APIs for developers

From
Free
Rated
-
Rainbow logo

Rainbow

Crypto

The fun, simple, and secure Ethereum wallet

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Infura the free plan is capped at 3 million credits a day, 500 credits per second and a single API key; Rainbow free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees
  • They diverge on capability: Infura covers Ethereum APIs, Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Infura and Rainbow actually diverge.

Attributes where Infura and Rainbow differ
AttributeInfuraRainbow
Pricing modelsubscriptionfree
PlatformsApiIos, Android, Chrome
Founded20162019

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Crypto).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Infura

  • Ethereum APIs
  • IPFS Gateway
  • Archive Data
  • WebSocket Support
  • Transaction Pool
  • IPFS
  • Polygon
  • Api support

Only in Rainbow

  • Ethereum Wallet
  • NFT Gallery
  • ENS Integration
  • Layer 2 Support
  • Swaps
  • Arbitrum
  • Base
  • Ios support

Both cover

  • Ethereum
  • Optimism

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Infura

  • Hosted Ethereum and multi-chain node access across 40+ networksnot Rainbow
  • Archive data queries without running an archive nodenot Rainbow
  • Backing a production dapp with managed RPC endpointsnot Rainbow
  • Debug and trace calls for contract development on paid tiersnot Rainbow

Rainbow

  • Walletsnot Infura
  • Ethereumnot Infura
  • Mobilenot Infura

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Infura

  • The free plan is capped at 3 million credits a day, 500 credits per second and a single API key
  • The Debug and Trace APIs are withheld from the free plan and need Developer at $50 a month
  • Support on the free tier is community forums only
  • Unlimited API keys require the Team plan at $225 a month
  • Auto-scaling and an enhanced SLA are Enterprise only

Rainbow

  • Free instant deposits and fee auto-compounding are gated behind the paid Rainbow Black tier; the vendor's own site states "Upgrade to Rainbow Black for free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded", implying standard accounts pay deposit and trading fees

Pricing, plan by plan

Infura

Free
  • CoreFree
    • 3 million daily credits
    • 500 credits/second throughput
    • 1 API key
  • Developer$50/month
    • 15 million daily credits
    • 4,000 credits/second throughput
    • 5 API keys
  • Team$225/month
    • 75 million daily credits
    • 40,000 credits/second throughput
    • unlimited API keys
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • custom daily credits
    • custom throughput
    • unlimited API keys

Rainbow

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Ethereum wallet
    • NFTs
    • ENS

Which should you pick?

Choose Infura if

  • You need ethereum apis.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Api.
  • You also want ipfs gateway.

Choose Rainbow if

  • You need ethereum wallet.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Ios, Android, Chrome.
  • You also want nft gallery.

Questions people ask

Is Infura or Rainbow better?
Neither clearly leads. Infura starts at Free and Rainbow at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Infura or Rainbow?
Infura starts at Free and Rainbow at Free.
Does Infura or Rainbow run on more platforms?
Infura runs on Api. Rainbow runs on Ios, Android, Chrome.
Can I use Infura for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Infura best used for?
Infura is most often used for hosted ethereum and multi-chain node access across 40+ networks, archive data queries without running an archive node, backing a production dapp with managed rpc endpoints, debug and trace calls for contract development on paid tiers. Of those, hosted ethereum and multi-chain node access across 40+ networks and archive data queries without running an archive node are not what Rainbow is typically brought in for.
What can Infura do that Rainbow cannot?
Infura covers Ethereum APIs, IPFS Gateway, Archive Data, WebSocket Support. Rainbow covers Ethereum Wallet, NFT Gallery, ENS Integration, Layer 2 Support. Both handle Ethereum, Optimism.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Infura: How much does Infura cost?

Infura offers a free Core plan with 3 million daily credits. Paid plans include Developer at $50/month for 15 million credits, Team at $225/month for 75 million credits, and Enterprise plans with custom pricing. Additional credits cost $200 per month for 55 million extra credits.

Source
Rainbow: Is there a premium tier available on Rainbow wallet?

Yes, Rainbow Black is a premium upgrade that offers free instant deposits, bigger rewards, and up to 100% of your trading fees auto-compounded. The specific cost of Rainbow Black is not disclosed on the homepage.

Source
Infura: Is there a free version of Infura?

Yes, Infura Core is completely free and includes 3 million daily credits, 500 credits/second guaranteed throughput, 1 API key, access to 40+ supported networks, Gas API, and full archive data with community forum support.

Source
Rainbow: Does Rainbow offer a rewards program?

Yes, every trade on Rainbow earns RNBW tokens as rewards. However, the homepage does not specify conversion rates or redemption value for the RNBW token.

Source
Infura: Can I upgrade or downgrade Infura plans anytime?

Yes, upgrades and downgrades are available anytime. Upgrades take effect immediately while request visibility requires 24 to 30 days depending on the plan tier.

Source
Rainbow: What is the cost of using the base Rainbow wallet?

The Rainbow wallet app appears to be free to use, with a premium Rainbow Black tier available for additional features. Specific pricing for Rainbow Black is not published on the homepage.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads