Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

Doximity vs Lunit

Doximity logo

Doximity

Healthcare

Social network and collaboration platform for physicians

From
Free
Rated
-
Lunit logo

Lunit

Healthcare

FDA cleared and CE marked AI for mammography, tomosynthesis and chest radiography

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Doximity has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Doximity free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium; Lunit the regulatory permission differs by product and by region, and INSIGHT Risk has been filed with the FDA but not cleared, so a buyer who reads a corporate press release rather than the specific clearance for their product and jurisdiction will plan a deployment they cannot legally run.
  • They diverge on capability: Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Lunit covers Lunit INSIGHT MMG.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Doximity and Lunit actually diverge.

Attributes where Doximity and Lunit differ
AttributeDoximityLunit
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelfreemiumquote
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Doximity

  • Secure Messaging
  • Professional Network
  • Telehealth
  • Job Board
  • CME Access
  • Collaboration Tools
  • EHR Systems
  • HIPAA

Only in Lunit

  • Lunit INSIGHT MMG
  • Lunit INSIGHT DBT
  • Lunit INSIGHT CXR
  • Volpara density assessment
  • Volpara RiskPathways
  • Volpara dose tracking
  • PACS and mammography workstation integration

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Doximity

  • Physician professional network and communicationnot Lunit
  • AI-powered medical reference and clinical decision supportnot Lunit
  • Patient outreach and documentation automationnot Lunit

Lunit

  • A national breast screening programme evaluating AI as a second reader to reduce double reading workload where two human readers are currently mandatednot Doximity
  • A breast centre that moved to tomosynthesis and now has reading times it cannot staff, wanting detection support on DBT specificallynot Doximity
  • An American breast imaging centre needing automated volumetric density assessment to meet patient density notification requirements, which is what Volpara is bought fornot Doximity
  • A tuberculosis or lung screening programme in a high volume, radiologist scarce setting using chest radiography triage to prioritise filmsnot Doximity

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Doximity

  • Free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
  • AI Scribe and Dialer features accessible only to US-based healthcare professionals
  • Premium tier pricing not disclosed on main site

Lunit

  • The regulatory permission differs by product and by region, and INSIGHT Risk has been filed with the FDA but not cleared, so a buyer who reads a corporate press release rather than the specific clearance for their product and jurisdiction will plan a deployment they cannot legally run.
  • Detection AI changes recall rates in screening, and the downstream cost of additional diagnostic workup lands on the programme rather than on the software budget, which is the cost most screening business cases omit.
  • Performance is sensitive to the mammography vendor and acquisition protocol, so published results from a Hologic estate do not transfer to a GE or Siemens estate without local validation the buyer must fund.
  • MMG, DBT and CXR are licensed separately and Volpara modules are separate again, so a breast centre wanting detection, density and risk pathways is assembling four line items rather than buying one product.
  • Using AI as a replacement for one of two human readers is a workforce and liability decision that regulators and professional bodies treat differently in each country, so the saving that justifies the purchase may not be permitted where you operate.

Pricing, plan by plan

Doximity

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Doximity review.

Lunit

On request
  • Lunit INSIGHT$undefined/year
    • Priced per study or per annual examination volume by product
    • MMG, DBT and CXR licensed separately
    • Volpara density and RiskPathways modules quoted separately

Which should you pick?

Choose Doximity if

  • You need secure messaging.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want professional network.

Choose Lunit if

  • You need lunit insight mmg.
  • You also want lunit insight dbt.

Questions people ask

Is Doximity or Lunit better?
Neither clearly leads. Doximity starts at Free and Lunit at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Doximity or Lunit?
Doximity has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Doximity and On request for Lunit.
Does Doximity or Lunit run on more platforms?
Doximity runs on Web, iOS, Android. Lunit runs on Web.
Can I use Doximity for free?
Yes. Doximity has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Lunit starts at On request.
What is Doximity best used for?
Doximity is most often used for physician professional network and communication, ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support, patient outreach and documentation automation. Of those, physician professional network and communication and ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support are not what Lunit is typically brought in for.
What can Doximity do that Lunit cannot?
Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Professional Network, Telehealth, Job Board. Lunit covers Lunit INSIGHT MMG, Lunit INSIGHT DBT, Lunit INSIGHT CXR, Volpara density assessment.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Doximity: Is Doximity free?

Doximity is free for verified US clinicians. Specific subscription tiers and paid plan pricing are not disclosed on their website.

Source
Lunit: Is Lunit FDA cleared?

Yes for specific products. INSIGHT MMG, INSIGHT DBT and INSIGHT CXR Triage hold FDA 510(k) clearances. INSIGHT Risk, the five year risk prediction model, has been filed but was not cleared at the time of writing.

Lunit: Can Lunit replace a second human reader in screening?

That depends entirely on your jurisdiction and professional body guidance, not on the software. The CE mark permits clinical use; it does not authorise a workforce model.

Lunit: What did the Volpara acquisition add?

Volumetric breast density measurement, dose tracking and RiskPathways high risk programme management, which are the things American breast centres buy for density notification compliance rather than for detection.

Lunit: Is pricing published?

No. It is quoted per study or per annual volume, by product, with on premises and cloud priced differently.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads