Softwr

CAD · head to head

Corona Renderer vs DraftSight

Corona Renderer logo

Corona Renderer

CAD

Modern high-performance rendering

From
Free
Rated
-
DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Corona Renderer has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Corona Renderer plugs into 3ds Max and Cinema 4D only, so it is not available for Blender, Maya or standalone use; DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • They diverge on capability: Corona Renderer covers Unbiased rendering, DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Corona Renderer and DraftSight actually diverge.

Attributes where Corona Renderer and DraftSight differ
AttributeCorona RendererDraftSight
Starting priceFree$29/month
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWindows, macOSWindows, MacOS, Linux
Founded20091981

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Corona Renderer

  • Unbiased rendering
  • Interactive rendering
  • LightMix
  • Scatter
  • Materials
  • 3ds Max
  • Cinema 4D
  • License management

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • SolidWorks
  • CATIA

Both cover

  • Windows support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Corona Renderer

  • Photorealistic architectural visualisation rendersnot DraftSight
  • Interior and exterior stills from 3ds Maxnot DraftSight
  • Motion graphics rendering from Cinema 4Dnot DraftSight
  • Rendering with minimal setup thanks to defaults tuned for archviznot DraftSight

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Corona Renderer
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Corona Renderer
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Corona Renderer
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Corona Renderer

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Corona Renderer

  • Plugs into 3ds Max and Cinema 4D only, so it is not available for Blender, Maya or standalone use
  • Sold by subscription rather than perpetual licence, from $414 a year for Corona Solo
  • Asset library access is metered by tier, at 15,000 assets on Solo against 18,500 on Premium
  • AI credits are capped monthly, at 100 on Solo and 500 on Premium
  • Real-time ray tracing through Vantage requires the Corona Collection tier at $994.80 a year

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

Pricing, plan by plan

Corona Renderer

Free
  • Corona Solo$345/month
    • Personal license (single user across devices)
    • Core rendering engine
    • 15,000 3D assets and materials
  • Corona Premium$110/month
    • Add-on to Solo (total $455/month)
    • Floating/team license
    • 18,500+ 3D assets
  • Corona Collection$225/month
    • Full suite for teams
    • Floating/team license
    • Real-time ray-tracing (Vantage)

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

Which should you pick?

Choose Corona Renderer if

  • You need unbiased rendering.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Windows, macOS.
  • You also want interactive rendering.

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Questions people ask

Is Corona Renderer or DraftSight better?
Neither clearly leads. Corona Renderer starts at Free and DraftSight at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Corona Renderer or DraftSight?
Corona Renderer has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Corona Renderer and $29/month for DraftSight.
Does Corona Renderer or DraftSight run on more platforms?
Corona Renderer runs on Windows, macOS. DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
Can I use Corona Renderer for free?
Yes. Corona Renderer has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. DraftSight starts at $29/month.
What is Corona Renderer best used for?
Corona Renderer is most often used for photorealistic architectural visualisation renders, interior and exterior stills from 3ds max, motion graphics rendering from cinema 4d, rendering with minimal setup thanks to defaults tuned for archviz. Of those, photorealistic architectural visualisation renders and interior and exterior stills from 3ds max are not what DraftSight is typically brought in for.
What can Corona Renderer do that DraftSight cannot?
Corona Renderer covers Unbiased rendering, Interactive rendering, LightMix, Scatter. DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Both handle Windows support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Corona Renderer: How much does Corona Renderer cost?

Corona Solo is $345/month or $4,140/year (charged monthly). Corona Collection starts at $225/month. Corona Premium is a $110/month add-on to Solo. Educational licenses save up to 80% versus commercial pricing.

Source
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
Corona Renderer: Does Corona offer a free trial?

Yes, Corona includes a 30-day free trial for both Windows and macOS with full feature access and training resources. A 14-day money-back guarantee is included with all paid plans.

Source
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
Corona Renderer: What is the difference between Corona Solo and Corona Collection?

Corona Solo ($345/month) is a personal license for single users and includes 100 AI credits monthly. Corona Collection ($225/month) is a floating team license with real-time ray-tracing (Vantage), 4,000+ animated characters, and 1,500 AI credits monthly.

Source
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
Corona Renderer: Are there per-node render costs?

Yes, Corona offers expandable render nodes at separate pricing. Additionally, Chaos AI credits can be purchased on a pay-as-you-go basis beyond monthly allowances.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads