Softwr

AI · head to head

D-ID vs Synthesia

D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-
Synthesia logo

Synthesia

Video Production

AI video creation with digital presenters

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed; Synthesia free plan limited to 10 minutes of video per month
  • They diverge on capability: D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Synthesia covers AI avatars.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which D-ID and Synthesia actually diverge.

Attributes where D-ID and Synthesia differ
AttributeD-IDSynthesia
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
CategoryAIVideo Production

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), founded (2017).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK

Only in Synthesia

  • AI avatars
  • 140+ languages
  • Video templates
  • Brand customization
  • LMS integrations
  • PowerPoint

Both cover

  • API access
  • API access
  • Web support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot Synthesia
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot Synthesia
  • API-driven video automationnot Synthesia

Synthesia

  • Training video creation with AI avatarsnot D-ID
  • Multilingual video localisation with AI dubbingnot D-ID
  • Enterprise video production and managementnot D-ID

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Synthesia

  • Free plan limited to 10 minutes of video per month
  • Starter plan limited to 10 minutes of video per month
  • Creator plan capped at 30 minutes of video per month
  • SSO/SAML authentication restricted to Enterprise tier

Pricing, plan by plan

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Synthesia

Free
  • BasicFree
    • 1,200 credits per month
    • Up to 10 minutes of video per month
    • 9 AI avatars
  • Starter$29/month
    • 14,500 credits per year
    • Up to 120 minutes of video per year
    • 125+ AI avatars
  • Creator$89/month
    • 44,000 credits per year
    • Up to 360 minutes of video per year
    • 180+ AI avatars

Which should you pick?

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Choose Synthesia if

  • You need ai avatars.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want 140+ languages.

Questions people ask

Is D-ID or Synthesia better?
Neither clearly leads. D-ID starts at Free and Synthesia at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, D-ID or Synthesia?
D-ID starts at Free and Synthesia at Free.
Does D-ID or Synthesia run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use D-ID for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is D-ID best used for?
D-ID is most often used for ai video generation with digital avatars, multilingual video creation in 120+ languages, api-driven video automation. Of those, ai video generation with digital avatars and multilingual video creation in 120+ languages are not what Synthesia is typically brought in for.
What can D-ID do that Synthesia cannot?
D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, ChatGPT integration. Synthesia covers AI avatars, 140+ languages, Video templates, Brand customization. Both handle API access, API access, Web support, Api support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
Synthesia: How much does Synthesia cost?

Synthesia offers a free Basic plan with 10 minutes of video per month, Starter at $29 per month with 120 minutes per year, and Creator at $89 per month with 360 minutes per year. Annual billing provides 38% savings. Enterprise plans are available with custom pricing.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
Synthesia: What is included in Synthesia's free plan?

The free Basic plan includes 1,200 credits per month (approximately 10 minutes of video), 9 AI avatars, 3 personal avatars, and access to 160+ languages and voices. No credit card is required.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads