Softwr

Video Production · head to head

Captions vs D-ID

Captions logo

Captions

Video Production

AI video editor that automates post-production at scale

From
Free
Rated
-
D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Captions credit rollover limited to 3x monthly maximum, forcing spending within quarters; D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Captions covers AI Edit, D-ID covers Photo-to-video.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Captions and D-ID actually diverge.

Attributes where Captions and D-ID differ
AttributeCaptionsD-ID
Pricing modelUnknownsubscription
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb
CategoryVideo ProductionAI
FoundedUnknown2017

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Captions

  • AI Edit
  • Auto-Captions
  • AI Avatars
  • Eye Contact Correction
  • Background Noise Removal
  • Pause Trimming
  • Text-to-Edit
  • Royalty-Free Music

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK
  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Captions

  • Rapid video production for social media content at scalenot D-ID
  • Converting long-form recordings into short-form clipsnot D-ID
  • Adding captions and translations for global audience reachnot D-ID
  • Cleaning up podcast and interview audio automaticallynot D-ID
  • Building library of branded videos with consistent stylingnot D-ID

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot Captions
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot Captions
  • API-driven video automationnot Captions

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Captions

  • Credit rollover limited to 3x monthly maximum, forcing spending within quarters
  • Free plan provides limited editing capability, requiring immediate paid upgrade
  • Minimum 3-day refund window and 10-20 percent credit usage threshold restricts refunds
  • Per-credit pricing model increases costs for high-volume video production
  • Enterprise plan requires custom negotiation with no transparent pricing

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Pricing, plan by plan

Captions

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Basic editing tools
    • Trim functionality
    • Transitions
  • Max$24.99/month
    • 500 AI credits per month
    • AI Edit styles
    • Digital twins and custom AI actors
  • Scale 1x$69.99/month
    • 1,400 AI credits per month
    • Everything in Max
    • Sophisticated generative AI model access
  • Scale 2x$139.99/month
    • 2,800 AI credits per month
    • Everything in Max
    • Sophisticated generative AI model access

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Captions if

  • You need ai edit.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want auto-captions.

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Questions people ask

Is Captions or D-ID better?
Neither clearly leads. Captions starts at Free and D-ID at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Captions or D-ID?
Captions starts at Free and D-ID at Free.
Does Captions or D-ID run on more platforms?
Captions runs on Web, iOS, Android. D-ID runs on Web.
Can I use Captions for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Captions best used for?
Captions is most often used for rapid video production for social media content at scale, converting long-form recordings into short-form clips, adding captions and translations for global audience reach, cleaning up podcast and interview audio automatically. Of those, rapid video production for social media content at scale and converting long-form recordings into short-form clips are not what D-ID is typically brought in for.
What can Captions do that D-ID cannot?
Captions covers AI Edit, Auto-Captions, AI Avatars, Eye Contact Correction. D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Captions: What is the price of the Max plan?

The Max plan costs $24.99 per month and includes 500 AI credits per month, AI Edit styles, digital twins, chat-based editor, and custom B-roll.

Source
D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
Captions: How many languages are supported for captions?

Captions supports 100+ languages for auto-caption generation with 100+ caption style options.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
Captions: Can I use Captions on mobile devices?

Yes, Captions is available on iOS App Store and Google Play for mobile editing, along with the web-based editor.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
Captions: What does the Scale pricing tier include?

Scale plans offer 1,400, 2,800, or 5,600 AI credits per month at $69.99, $139.99, and $279.99 respectively, with everything in Max plus access to sophisticated generative AI models.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads