AI · head to head
D-ID vs OpenAI API

OpenAI API
Machine Learning
Hosted API for OpenAI's language, embedding, image and audio models, billed per token
- From
- $0.15/per-million-tokens
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only D-ID has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed; OpenAI API cost scales with tokens rather than with seats, so a successful feature's bill grows with its adoption, and an interface that lets users paste long documents has no natural ceiling on spend unless you build one yourself.
- They diverge on capability: D-ID covers Photo-to-video, OpenAI API covers Text and reasoning models.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which D-ID and OpenAI API actually diverge.
| Attribute | D-ID | OpenAI API |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | $0.15/per-million-tokens |
| Pricing model | subscription | usage-based |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Web | Api |
| Category | AI | Machine Learning |
| Founded | 2017 | 2015 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in D-ID
- Photo-to-video
- Talking avatars
- Voice cloning
- API access
- API access
- ChatGPT integration
- Web SDK
- Web support
Only in OpenAI API
- Text and reasoning models
- Embeddings
- Speech and audio
- Image generation
- Function calling
- Structured outputs
- Batch processing
- Prompt caching
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
D-ID
- AI video generation with digital avatarsnot OpenAI API
- Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot OpenAI API
- API-driven video automationnot OpenAI API
OpenAI API
- Adding summarisation, drafting or classification to an existing product where building a model would take longer than the product's whole roadmapnot D-ID
- Retrieval-augmented question answering over internal documents, using the embedding and generation models togethernot D-ID
- Extracting structured records from unstructured text, where schema-constrained output removes most of the parsing problemnot D-ID
- Prototyping a language feature quickly to find out whether it is worth the cost of a self-hosted alternative laternot D-ID
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
D-ID
- Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
- Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
- Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly
OpenAI API
- Cost scales with tokens rather than with seats, so a successful feature's bill grows with its adoption, and an interface that lets users paste long documents has no natural ceiling on spend unless you build one yourself.
- Models are deprecated on the vendor's timetable, and a fine-tuned model built on a retired base goes with it, so the tuning work and the data curation behind it must be redone rather than migrated.
- Behaviour shifts between model versions in ways no test catches unless you wrote one, so prompts tuned over months against a particular snapshot can regress quietly on migration, which makes an evaluation suite a prerequisite rather than an improvement.
- It cannot run inside your own network, so data residency requirements, air-gapped environments and contracts forbidding third-party processing rule it out regardless of the provider's own security posture.
- You inherit its availability and its rate limits, so a provider incident is an outage in your product and a traffic spike can be throttled at precisely the moment the feature is proving itself.
Pricing, plan by plan
D-ID
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.
OpenAI API
$0.15/per-million-tokens- GPT-4o mini$0.15/per-million-input-tokens
- Fast
- Affordable
- GPT-4o$5/per-million-input-tokens
- Multimodal
- 128K context
Which should you pick?
Choose D-ID if
- You need photo-to-video.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want talking avatars.
Choose OpenAI API if
- You need text and reasoning models.
- You work on Api.
- You also want embeddings.
Questions people ask
- Is D-ID or OpenAI API better?
- Neither clearly leads. D-ID starts at Free and OpenAI API at $0.15/per-million-tokens, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, D-ID or OpenAI API?
- D-ID has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for D-ID and $0.15/per-million-tokens for OpenAI API.
- Does D-ID or OpenAI API run on more platforms?
- D-ID runs on Web. OpenAI API runs on Api.
- Can I use D-ID for free?
- Yes. D-ID has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. OpenAI API starts at $0.15/per-million-tokens.
- What is D-ID best used for?
- D-ID is most often used for ai video generation with digital avatars, multilingual video creation in 120+ languages, api-driven video automation. Of those, ai video generation with digital avatars and multilingual video creation in 120+ languages are not what OpenAI API is typically brought in for.
- What can D-ID do that OpenAI API cannot?
- D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access. OpenAI API covers Text and reasoning models, Embeddings, Speech and audio, Image generation.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?
D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.
SourceOpenAI API: Is my data used to train the models?
API inputs and outputs are not used for training by default, which differs from the consumer product. Retention periods and enterprise terms change, so read the current data usage policy rather than trusting a summary.
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?
Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.
SourceOpenAI API: Can I run these models on my own hardware?
No. The weights are not distributed. If self-hosting is a requirement, you are looking at open-weight models instead, with the operational and quality trade-offs that implies.
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?
D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.
SourceOpenAI API: How is it priced?
Per token, with input and output priced differently and each model priced differently. Batch processing and cached input prefixes reduce it. The practical consequence is that your bill is a function of prompt design, not just of request count.
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?
Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.
SourceOpenAI API: What is the difference from Azure OpenAI Service?
The same model family delivered by Microsoft under an Azure contract, with Azure identity, networking and regional controls, and a different release cadence for new models. Enterprises with an Azure agreement often choose it for procurement and data residency reasons rather than technical ones.
OpenAI API: How do I keep the cost under control?
Cap input length, cache repeated prefixes, route easy requests to smaller models, use the batch path where latency does not matter, and set per-user limits before launch rather than after the first surprising invoice.
Related pages
Other head to heads
- D-ID vs HeyGen
- D-ID vs Pika
- D-ID vs Copy.ai
- D-ID vs Jasper
- D-ID vs Anyword
- D-ID vs Grok
- D-ID vs Stable Diffusion
- D-ID vs ChatGPT
- D-ID vs AI21 Labs
- D-ID vs Murf
- D-ID vs Replika
- D-ID vs Rytr
- D-ID vs Rev
- D-ID vs Sourcegraph Cody
- D-ID vs Tabnine
- D-ID vs Verbit
- D-ID vs Cohere
- D-ID vs AWS SageMaker
- D-ID vs Google Vertex AI
- D-ID vs Azure Machine Learning
- D-ID vs DataRobot
- D-ID vs Fal AI
- D-ID vs BentoML
- D-ID vs Snowflake
- D-ID vs Hugging Face
- D-ID vs Python
- D-ID vs Ollama
- D-ID vs Neptune.ai
- D-ID vs Weka
- D-ID vs ClearML
- D-ID vs BigQuery ML
- D-ID vs Semantic Kernel
- OpenAI API vs HeyGen
- OpenAI API vs Pika
- OpenAI API vs Copy.ai
- OpenAI API vs Jasper
- OpenAI API vs Anyword
- OpenAI API vs Grok
- OpenAI API vs Stable Diffusion
- OpenAI API vs ChatGPT
- OpenAI API vs AI21 Labs
- OpenAI API vs Murf
- OpenAI API vs Replika
- OpenAI API vs Rytr
- OpenAI API vs Rev
- OpenAI API vs Sourcegraph Cody
- OpenAI API vs Tabnine
- OpenAI API vs Verbit
- OpenAI API vs Cohere
- OpenAI API vs AWS SageMaker
- OpenAI API vs Google Vertex AI
- OpenAI API vs Azure Machine Learning
- OpenAI API vs DataRobot
- OpenAI API vs Fal AI
- OpenAI API vs BentoML
- OpenAI API vs Snowflake
- OpenAI API vs Hugging Face
- OpenAI API vs Python
- OpenAI API vs Ollama
- OpenAI API vs Neptune.ai
- OpenAI API vs Weka
- OpenAI API vs ClearML
- OpenAI API vs BigQuery ML
- OpenAI API vs Semantic Kernel

