Softwr

AI · head to head

D-ID vs DALL-E

D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-
DALL-E logo

DALL-E

Social Media

OpenAI's advanced image generation model

From
$0.04/per-image
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only D-ID has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed; DALL-E dALL-E 3 API pricing as captured 6 January 2024 ranged from $0.040 per Standard 1024x1024 image up to $0.120 per HD widescreen image; DALL-E 2 was cheaper at $0.016 to $0.020 per image depending on resolution
  • They diverge on capability: D-ID covers Photo-to-video, DALL-E covers Text-to-image.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which D-ID and DALL-E actually diverge.

Attributes where D-ID and DALL-E differ
AttributeD-IDDALL-E
Starting priceFree$0.04/per-image
Pricing modelsubscriptionusage-based
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebWeb, Api, Chatgpt
CategoryAISocial Media
Founded20172015

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • Web SDK

Only in DALL-E

  • Text-to-image
  • Prompt refinement
  • Multiple aspect ratios
  • HD quality
  • OpenAI API
  • Chatgpt support

Both cover

  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot DALL-E
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot DALL-E
  • API-driven video automationnot DALL-E

DALL-E

  • ai tools managementnot D-ID
  • Workflow automationnot D-ID
  • Reportingnot D-ID

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

DALL-E

  • DALL-E 3 API pricing as captured 6 January 2024 ranged from $0.040 per Standard 1024x1024 image up to $0.120 per HD widescreen image; DALL-E 2 was cheaper at $0.016 to $0.020 per image depending on resolution

Pricing, plan by plan

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

DALL-E

$0.04/per-image
  • Standard$0.04/per-image
    • 1024x1024 resolution
  • HD$0.08/per-image
    • HD quality
    • 1792x1024 resolution

Which should you pick?

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Choose DALL-E if

  • You need text-to-image.
  • You work on Web, Api, Chatgpt.
  • You also want prompt refinement.

Questions people ask

Is D-ID or DALL-E better?
Neither clearly leads. D-ID starts at Free and DALL-E at $0.04/per-image, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, D-ID or DALL-E?
D-ID has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for D-ID and $0.04/per-image for DALL-E.
Does D-ID or DALL-E run on more platforms?
D-ID runs on Web. DALL-E runs on Web, Api, Chatgpt.
Can I use D-ID for free?
Yes. D-ID has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. DALL-E starts at $0.04/per-image.
What is D-ID best used for?
D-ID is most often used for ai video generation with digital avatars, multilingual video creation in 120+ languages, api-driven video automation. Of those, ai video generation with digital avatars and multilingual video creation in 120+ languages are not what DALL-E is typically brought in for.
What can D-ID do that DALL-E cannot?
D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access. DALL-E covers Text-to-image, Prompt refinement, Multiple aspect ratios, HD quality. Both handle ChatGPT integration, Web support, Api support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads