Softwr

AI · head to head

Anthropic API vs D-ID

Anthropic API logo

Anthropic API

AI

Claude API for developers

From
On request
Rated
-
D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only D-ID has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Anthropic API pricing varies significantly by model tier; D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Anthropic API covers Multiple models, D-ID covers Photo-to-video.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Anthropic API and D-ID actually diverge.

Attributes where Anthropic API and D-ID differ
AttributeAnthropic APID-ID
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelusage-basedsubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsApiWeb
Founded20212017

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Anthropic API

  • Multiple models
  • 200K context
  • Vision capabilities
  • Function calling
  • REST API
  • SDKs
  • Amazon Bedrock
  • Google Vertex

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK
  • Web support

Both cover

  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Anthropic API

  • AI agent developmentnot D-ID
  • LLM-powered API integrationnot D-ID
  • Batch processing for cost optimizationnot D-ID

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot Anthropic API
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot Anthropic API
  • API-driven video automationnot Anthropic API

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Anthropic API

  • Pricing varies significantly by model tier
  • Batch processing and Fast Mode add additional surcharges
  • US-only inference costs 1.1x standard pricing

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Pricing, plan by plan

Anthropic API

On request
  • Fable 5$undefined/mo
    • Input: $10/MTok
    • Output: $50/MTok
    • Prompt caching Write: $12.50/MTok
  • Opus 5$undefined/mo
    • Input: $5/MTok
    • Output: $25/MTok
    • Prompt caching Write: $6.25/MTok
  • Sonnet 5$undefined/mo
    • Input: $2/MTok
    • Output: $10/MTok
    • Prompt caching Write: $2.50/MTok
  • Haiku 4.5$undefined/mo
    • Input: $1/MTok
    • Output: $5/MTok
    • Prompt caching Write: $1.25/MTok

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Anthropic API if

  • You need multiple models.
  • You work on Api.
  • You also want 200k context.

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Questions people ask

Is Anthropic API or D-ID better?
Neither clearly leads. Anthropic API starts at On request and D-ID at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Anthropic API or D-ID?
D-ID has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Anthropic API and Free for D-ID.
Does Anthropic API or D-ID run on more platforms?
Anthropic API runs on Api. D-ID runs on Web.
Can I use D-ID for free?
Yes. D-ID has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Anthropic API starts at On request.
What is Anthropic API best used for?
Anthropic API is most often used for ai agent development, llm-powered api integration, batch processing for cost optimization. Of those, ai agent development and llm-powered api integration are not what D-ID is typically brought in for.
What can Anthropic API do that D-ID cannot?
Anthropic API covers Multiple models, 200K context, Vision capabilities, Function calling. D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access. Both handle Api support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Anthropic API: How much does the Claude API cost?

Claude API uses pay-as-you-go pricing per million tokens (MTok). Haiku 4.5 costs $1 input/$5 output per MTok; Sonnet 5 costs $2 input/$10 output; Opus 5 costs $5 input/$25 output; Fable 5 costs $10 input/$50 output per MTok.

Source
D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
Anthropic API: What discounts does the Claude API offer?

Batch processing saves 50% on API costs. Prompt caching reduces token costs by up to 90% for cached reads (charged at 80% discount compared to standard rates). Fast Mode for Opus 5 costs 2x standard pricing for up to 2.5x faster response speeds.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
Anthropic API: Does the Claude API have different billing models?

Self-serve access uses usage-based tiers with automatic rate limit increases as volume grows. Enterprise customers receive custom rate limits, monthly invoice billing, and hands-on support at negotiated pricing.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
Anthropic API: How much extra does US-only inference cost on the Claude API?

US-only inference costs 1.1x pricing for input and output tokens across all model tiers compared to standard multi-region pricing.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads