Softwr

Web Development · head to head

Bolt.new vs OpenAI API

Bolt.new logo

Bolt.new

Web Development

Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps

From
Free
Rated
-
OpenAI API logo

OpenAI API

Machine Learning

Hosted API for OpenAI's language, embedding, image and audio models, billed per token

From
$0.15/per-million-tokens
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Bolt.new has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; OpenAI API cost scales with tokens rather than with seats, so a successful feature's bill grows with its adoption, and an interface that lets users paste long documents has no natural ceiling on spend unless you build one yourself.
  • They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, OpenAI API covers Text and reasoning models.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and OpenAI API actually diverge.

Attributes where Bolt.new and OpenAI API differ
AttributeBolt.newOpenAI API
Starting priceFree$0.15/per-million-tokens
Pricing modelfreemiumusage-based
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebApi
CategoryWeb DevelopmentMachine Learning
Founded20172015

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Bolt.new

  • Full-stack app generation
  • Prompt-to-app creation
  • Real-time editing
  • Instant deployment
  • Screenshot to UI
  • Multi-framework support
  • Live preview
  • Code export

Only in OpenAI API

  • Text and reasoning models
  • Embeddings
  • Speech and audio
  • Image generation
  • Function calling
  • Structured outputs
  • Batch processing
  • Prompt caching

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Bolt.new

  • Rapid prototypingnot OpenAI API
  • MVP developmentnot OpenAI API
  • UI mockup creationnot OpenAI API
  • Full-stack app generationnot OpenAI API
  • Proof of conceptnot OpenAI API

OpenAI API

  • Adding summarisation, drafting or classification to an existing product where building a model would take longer than the product's whole roadmapnot Bolt.new
  • Retrieval-augmented question answering over internal documents, using the embedding and generation models togethernot Bolt.new
  • Extracting structured records from unstructured text, where schema-constrained output removes most of the parsing problemnot Bolt.new
  • Prototyping a language feature quickly to find out whether it is worth the cost of a self-hosted alternative laternot Bolt.new

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Bolt.new

  • The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
  • Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
  • Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
  • Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two

OpenAI API

  • Cost scales with tokens rather than with seats, so a successful feature's bill grows with its adoption, and an interface that lets users paste long documents has no natural ceiling on spend unless you build one yourself.
  • Models are deprecated on the vendor's timetable, and a fine-tuned model built on a retired base goes with it, so the tuning work and the data curation behind it must be redone rather than migrated.
  • Behaviour shifts between model versions in ways no test catches unless you wrote one, so prompts tuned over months against a particular snapshot can regress quietly on migration, which makes an evaluation suite a prerequisite rather than an improvement.
  • It cannot run inside your own network, so data residency requirements, air-gapped environments and contracts forbidding third-party processing rule it out regardless of the provider's own security posture.
  • You inherit its availability and its rate limits, so a provider incident is an outage in your product and a traffic spike can be throttled at precisely the moment the feature is proving itself.

Pricing, plan by plan

Bolt.new

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Limited generations
    • Basic templates
    • Public projects
  • Pro$20/month
    • Unlimited generations
    • Advanced AI models
    • Private projects

OpenAI API

$0.15/per-million-tokens
  • GPT-4o mini$0.15/per-million-input-tokens
    • Fast
    • Affordable
  • GPT-4o$5/per-million-input-tokens
    • Multimodal
    • 128K context

Which should you pick?

Choose Bolt.new if

  • You need full-stack app generation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want prompt-to-app creation.

Choose OpenAI API if

  • You need text and reasoning models.
  • You work on Api.
  • You also want embeddings.

Questions people ask

Is Bolt.new or OpenAI API better?
Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and OpenAI API at $0.15/per-million-tokens, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or OpenAI API?
Bolt.new has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Bolt.new and $0.15/per-million-tokens for OpenAI API.
Does Bolt.new or OpenAI API run on more platforms?
Bolt.new runs on Web. OpenAI API runs on Api.
Can I use Bolt.new for free?
Yes. Bolt.new has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. OpenAI API starts at $0.15/per-million-tokens.
What is Bolt.new best used for?
Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what OpenAI API is typically brought in for.
What can Bolt.new do that OpenAI API cannot?
Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. OpenAI API covers Text and reasoning models, Embeddings, Speech and audio, Image generation.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?

Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.

Source
OpenAI API: Is my data used to train the models?

API inputs and outputs are not used for training by default, which differs from the consumer product. Retention periods and enterprise terms change, so read the current data usage policy rather than trusting a summary.

Bolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?

The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.

Source
OpenAI API: Can I run these models on my own hardware?

No. The weights are not distributed. If self-hosting is a requirement, you are looking at open-weight models instead, with the operational and quality trade-offs that implies.

Bolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?

The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.

Source
OpenAI API: How is it priced?

Per token, with input and output priced differently and each model priced differently. Batch processing and cached input prefixes reduce it. The practical consequence is that your bill is a function of prompt design, not just of request count.

OpenAI API: What is the difference from Azure OpenAI Service?

The same model family delivered by Microsoft under an Azure contract, with Azure identity, networking and regional controls, and a different release cadence for new models. Enterprises with an Azure agreement often choose it for procurement and data residency reasons rather than technical ones.

OpenAI API: How do I keep the cost under control?

Cap input length, cache repeated prefixes, route easy requests to smaller models, use the batch path where latency does not matter, and set per-user limits before launch rather than after the first surprising invoice.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads