Softwr

Web Development · head to head

Bolt.new vs Nuxt

Bolt.new logo

Bolt.new

Web Development

Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps

From
Free
Rated
-
Nuxt logo

Nuxt

Web Development

The Full-Stack Vue Framework

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; Nuxt no commercial pricing available as Nuxt is entirely free and open source
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and Nuxt actually diverge.

Attributes where Bolt.new and Nuxt differ
AttributeBolt.newNuxt
Pricing modelfreemiumopen-source
Founded2017Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Web Development).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Bolt.new

  • Full-stack app generation
  • Prompt-to-app creation
  • Real-time editing
  • Instant deployment
  • Screenshot to UI
  • Multi-framework support
  • Live preview
  • Code export

Only in Nuxt

Nothing recorded that Bolt.new does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Bolt.new

  • Rapid prototypingnot Nuxt
  • MVP developmentnot Nuxt
  • UI mockup creationnot Nuxt
  • Full-stack app generationnot Nuxt
  • Proof of conceptnot Nuxt

Nuxt

  • Vue.js meta-framework for building web applicationsnot Bolt.new
  • Server-side rendering and static site generationnot Bolt.new
  • Full-stack JavaScript development with frontend-backend integrationnot Bolt.new

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Bolt.new

  • The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
  • Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
  • Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
  • Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two

Nuxt

  • No commercial pricing available as Nuxt is entirely free and open source
  • Enterprise support requires community or third-party arrangements
  • Sponsorship available but not required

Pricing, plan by plan

Bolt.new

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Limited generations
    • Basic templates
    • Public projects
  • Pro$20/month
    • Unlimited generations
    • Advanced AI models
    • Private projects

Nuxt

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Nuxt review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Bolt.new if

  • You need full-stack app generation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want prompt-to-app creation.

Choose Nuxt if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Bolt.new or Nuxt better?
Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and Nuxt at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or Nuxt?
Bolt.new starts at Free and Nuxt at Free.
Does Bolt.new or Nuxt run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Bolt.new for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Bolt.new best used for?
Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what Nuxt is typically brought in for.
What can Bolt.new do that Nuxt cannot?
Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?

Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.

Source
Nuxt: Is Nuxt free?

Yes, Nuxt is completely free and will remain free forever. It is open source under the MIT License, written by developers like you.

Source
Bolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?

The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.

Source
Nuxt: Is there a Nuxt pricing model?

Nuxt has no pricing model. It is 100% open source and can be used for any project at no cost. Optional sponsorship is available for those who wish to support the project.

Source
Bolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?

The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.

Source
Nuxt: Does Nuxt offer paid support or services?

Nuxt itself is free. While the core framework is open source with no commercial pricing, businesses may arrange paid consulting or support through third-party providers or community members.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads