Softwr

Web Development · head to head

Bolt.new vs v0 by Vercel

Bolt.new logo

Bolt.new

Web Development

Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps

From
Free
Rated
-
v0 by Vercel logo

v0 by Vercel

Web Development

Generate UI with AI

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; v0 by Vercel free plan is capped at 7 messages per day and 5 USD of included monthly credits, and Plus tier costs 30 USD per user per month
  • They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, v0 by Vercel covers AI UI generation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and v0 by Vercel actually diverge.

Attributes where Bolt.new and v0 by Vercel differ
AttributeBolt.newv0 by Vercel
Founded20172015

Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (freemium), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Web Development).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Bolt.new

  • Full-stack app generation
  • Prompt-to-app creation
  • Real-time editing
  • Instant deployment
  • Screenshot to UI
  • Multi-framework support
  • Live preview
  • Code export

Only in v0 by Vercel

  • AI UI generation
  • React component creation
  • shadcn/ui integration
  • Tailwind CSS styling
  • Copy-paste ready code
  • Real-time preview
  • Component variations
  • Design system adherence

Both cover

  • React
  • Next.js
  • GitHub
  • Privacy controls
  • Cloud deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Bolt.new

  • Rapid prototypingnot v0 by Vercel
  • MVP developmentnot v0 by Vercel
  • UI mockup creationnot v0 by Vercel
  • Full-stack app generationnot v0 by Vercel
  • Proof of conceptnot v0 by Vercel

v0 by Vercel

  • UI prototypingnot Bolt.new
  • Component generationnot Bolt.new
  • Design to codenot Bolt.new
  • Rapid frontend developmentnot Bolt.new
  • Design system creationnot Bolt.new

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Bolt.new

  • The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
  • Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
  • Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
  • Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two

v0 by Vercel

  • Free plan is capped at 7 messages per day and 5 USD of included monthly credits, and Plus tier costs 30 USD per user per month

Pricing, plan by plan

Bolt.new

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Limited generations
    • Basic templates
    • Public projects
  • Pro$20/month
    • Unlimited generations
    • Advanced AI models
    • Private projects

v0 by Vercel

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 200 generations per month
    • Basic AI models
    • shadcn/ui components
  • Pro$20/month
    • 5,000 generations per month
    • Advanced AI models
    • Priority processing

Which should you pick?

Choose Bolt.new if

  • You need full-stack app generation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want prompt-to-app creation.

Choose v0 by Vercel if

  • You need ai ui generation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want react component creation.

Questions people ask

Is Bolt.new or v0 by Vercel better?
Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and v0 by Vercel at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or v0 by Vercel?
Bolt.new starts at Free and v0 by Vercel at Free.
Does Bolt.new or v0 by Vercel run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Bolt.new for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Bolt.new best used for?
Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what v0 by Vercel is typically brought in for.
What can Bolt.new do that v0 by Vercel cannot?
Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. v0 by Vercel covers AI UI generation, React component creation, shadcn/ui integration, Tailwind CSS styling. Both handle React, Next.js, GitHub, Privacy controls.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?

Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.

Source
v0 by Vercel: What is the cost of the v0 Free plan?

The Free plan costs nothing and includes $5 of monthly credits, but has a 7 message per day limit.

Source
Bolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?

The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.

Source
v0 by Vercel: How much does the v0 Plus plan cost?

The Plus plan costs $30 per user per month and includes $30 of monthly credits per user.

Source
Bolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?

The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.

Source
v0 by Vercel: What is the cost of the v0 Business plan?

The Business plan costs $100 per user per month.

Source
v0 by Vercel: Does v0 offer pricing based on token usage?

Yes, v0 offers model-based pricing where users can purchase tokens consumed by four AI models: v0 Mini, v0 Pro, v0 Max, and v0 Max Fast. Each model charges separately for input, output, and cached tokens at different rates.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads