Web Development · head to head
Bolt.new vs npm

Bolt.new
Web Development
Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; npm private packages require a paid user or organization account; the free registry publishes publicly only
- They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, npm covers Package installation.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and npm actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (freemium), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Web Development).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Bolt.new
- Full-stack app generation
- Prompt-to-app creation
- Real-time editing
- Instant deployment
- Screenshot to UI
- Multi-framework support
- Live preview
- Code export
Only in npm
- Package installation
- Dependency management
- Version management
- Script running
- Package publishing
- Security auditing
- Package discovery
- CLI interface
Both cover
- GitHub
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Bolt.new
- Rapid prototypingnot npm
- MVP developmentnot npm
- UI mockup creationnot npm
- Full-stack app generationnot npm
- Proof of conceptnot npm
npm
- Package managementnot Bolt.new
- Dependency installationnot Bolt.new
- Project scaffoldingnot Bolt.new
- Build automationnot Bolt.new
- Package publishingnot Bolt.new
- Version controlnot Bolt.new
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Bolt.new
- The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
- Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
- Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
- Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two
npm
- Private packages require a paid user or organization account; the free registry publishes publicly only
Pricing, plan by plan
Bolt.new
Free- FreeFree
- Limited generations
- Basic templates
- Public projects
- Pro$20/month
- Unlimited generations
- Advanced AI models
- Private projects
npm
Free- FreeFree
- Unlimited public packages
- Package discovery
- npm CLI
- Pro$7/month
- Unlimited private packages
- Package analytics
- Support
- Teams$7/month
- Team management
- Organization packages
- Audit logs
Which should you pick?
Choose Bolt.new if
- You need full-stack app generation.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want prompt-to-app creation.
Choose npm if
- You need package installation.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Linux.
- You also want dependency management.
Questions people ask
- Is Bolt.new or npm better?
- Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and npm at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or npm?
- Bolt.new starts at Free and npm at Free.
- Does Bolt.new or npm run on more platforms?
- Bolt.new runs on Web. npm runs on Windows, Macos, Linux.
- Can I use Bolt.new for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Bolt.new best used for?
- Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what npm is typically brought in for.
- What can Bolt.new do that npm cannot?
- Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. npm covers Package installation, Dependency management, Version management, Script running. Both handle GitHub.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?
Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.
SourceBolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?
The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.
SourceBolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?
The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Bolt.new vs Flask
- Bolt.new vs MySQL
- Bolt.new vs Django
- Bolt.new vs Next.js
- Bolt.new vs Remix
- Bolt.new vs SolidStart
- Bolt.new vs TanStack Start
- Bolt.new vs Ruby on Rails
- Bolt.new vs Nuxt
- Bolt.new vs Qwik
- Bolt.new vs Spring Boot
- Bolt.new vs Strikingly
- Bolt.new vs Svelte
- Bolt.new vs TypeScript
- Bolt.new vs Nginx
- Bolt.new vs v0 by Vercel
- Bolt.new vs Turbopack
- Bolt.new vs React
- Bolt.new vs Node.js
- Bolt.new vs Wix Studio
- Bolt.new vs Apache HTTP Server
- Bolt.new vs MUI
- Bolt.new vs Radix UI
- Bolt.new vs shadcn/ui
- Bolt.new vs Chakra UI
- Bolt.new vs esbuild
- npm vs Flask
- npm vs MySQL
- npm vs Django
- npm vs Next.js
- npm vs Remix
- npm vs SolidStart
- npm vs TanStack Start
- npm vs Ruby on Rails
- npm vs Nuxt
- npm vs Qwik
- npm vs Spring Boot
- npm vs Strikingly
- npm vs Svelte
- npm vs TypeScript
- npm vs Nginx
- npm vs v0 by Vercel
- npm vs Turbopack
- npm vs React
- npm vs Node.js
- npm vs Wix Studio
- npm vs Apache HTTP Server
- npm vs MUI
- npm vs Radix UI
- npm vs shadcn/ui
- npm vs Chakra UI
- npm vs esbuild

