Softwr

Web Development · head to head

Bolt.new vs Lovable

Bolt.new logo

Bolt.new

Web Development

Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps

From
Free
Rated
-
Lovable logo

Lovable

Technology

Build software by prompting

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; Lovable credit-metered rather than unlimited: Free plan gets 5 build credits/day capped at 30/month, plus 20 cloud-hosting credits/month and 4 AI-feature credits/month
  • They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Lovable covers Natural language programming.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and Lovable actually diverge.

Attributes where Bolt.new and Lovable differ
AttributeBolt.newLovable
Pricing modelfreemiumUnknown
CategoryWeb DevelopmentTechnology
Founded20172023

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Bolt.new

  • Full-stack app generation
  • Prompt-to-app creation
  • Real-time editing
  • Instant deployment
  • Screenshot to UI
  • Multi-framework support
  • Live preview
  • Code export

Only in Lovable

  • Natural language programming
  • Full application generation
  • Real-time development
  • AI pair programming
  • Multi-technology support
  • Automated testing
  • Deployment assistance
  • Code optimization

Both cover

  • React
  • Next.js
  • Vercel
  • GitHub
  • Privacy controls
  • Cloud deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Bolt.new

  • Rapid prototypingnot Lovable
  • MVP developmentnot Lovable
  • UI mockup creationnot Lovable
  • Full-stack app generationnot Lovable
  • Proof of conceptnot Lovable

Lovable

  • SaaS and business apps: subscription products, customer dashboards, admin panelsnot Bolt.new
  • Consumer community and content platformsnot Bolt.new
  • Marketplaces: booking tools and storefrontsnot Bolt.new
  • Internal tools: workflow tools and operational dashboardsnot Bolt.new
  • Marketing landing pages and campaign sitesnot Bolt.new

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Bolt.new

  • The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
  • Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
  • Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
  • Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two

Lovable

  • Credit-metered rather than unlimited: Free plan gets 5 build credits/day capped at 30/month, plus 20 cloud-hosting credits/month and 4 AI-feature credits/month
  • Credits expire: monthly plan credits expire after 2 months unused, annual-plan credits expire 1 month after the annual period ends, and all credits are non-refundable
  • Not open source; only the legacy precursor CLI gpt-engineer is open source (MIT), and that repo was archived read-only on 2026-04-22
  • Hosting is free only for smaller apps; significant traffic or size draws additional charges from the credit balance

Pricing, plan by plan

Bolt.new

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Limited generations
    • Basic templates
    • Public projects
  • Pro$20/month
    • Unlimited generations
    • Advanced AI models
    • Private projects

Lovable

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Lovable review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Bolt.new if

  • You need full-stack app generation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want prompt-to-app creation.

Choose Lovable if

  • You need natural language programming.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want full application generation.

Questions people ask

Is Bolt.new or Lovable better?
Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and Lovable at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or Lovable?
Bolt.new starts at Free and Lovable at Free.
Does Bolt.new or Lovable run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Bolt.new for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Bolt.new best used for?
Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what Lovable is typically brought in for.
What can Bolt.new do that Lovable cannot?
Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. Lovable covers Natural language programming, Full application generation, Real-time development, AI pair programming. Both handle React, Next.js, Vercel, GitHub.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?

Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.

Source
Lovable: What is included in Lovable's free plan?

The free plan includes 5 build credits per day (up to 30 per month), 20 Cloud credits per month, and 4 AI feature credits for trying features in apps. All plan members can access unlimited workspace members.

Source
Bolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?

The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.

Source
Lovable: How do credits work in Lovable's paid plans?

Lovable uses a credit-based model where costs depend on monthly credit allocation rather than per-seat pricing. Build tasks consume variable credits ranging from 0.50 to 1.70 credits depending on complexity, or 1 credit per message in Plan Mode.

Source
Bolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?

The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.

Source
Lovable: Do credits expire in Lovable?

Yes, credit expiration depends on the plan: monthly plan credits expire 2 months after issuance, annual plan credits expire 1 month after the annual period ends, and top-up credits expire 12 months from purchase. Daily grants expire daily with no rollover.

Source
Lovable: Are there additional costs for app hosting on Lovable?

Most small and new apps run free under included grants, but larger apps with significant traffic incur charges against the credit balance.

Source
Lovable: Does Lovable offer educational discounts?

Yes, a student discount is available with a valid university email.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads