Web Development · head to head
Bolt.new vs Lit

Bolt.new
Web Development
Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; Lit smaller ecosystem compared to React or Vue
- They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Lit covers Reactive properties.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and Lit actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Web Development).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Bolt.new
- Full-stack app generation
- Prompt-to-app creation
- Real-time editing
- Instant deployment
- Screenshot to UI
- Multi-framework support
- Live preview
- Code export
Only in Lit
- Reactive properties
- Tagged template literals
- Scoped styling with Shadow DOM
- Web Components standard
- Minimal bundle size
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Bolt.new
- Rapid prototypingnot Lit
- MVP developmentnot Lit
- UI mockup creationnot Lit
- Full-stack app generationnot Lit
- Proof of conceptnot Lit
Lit
- Building reusable component libraries across frameworksnot Bolt.new
- Creating design systems with scoped stylesnot Bolt.new
- Developing progressive web applications with minimal dependenciesnot Bolt.new
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Bolt.new
- The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
- Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
- Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
- Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two
Lit
- Smaller ecosystem compared to React or Vue
- Web Components adoption still growing in the industry
- Requires understanding of Shadow DOM concepts
Pricing, plan by plan
Bolt.new
Free- FreeFree
- Limited generations
- Basic templates
- Public projects
- Pro$20/month
- Unlimited generations
- Advanced AI models
- Private projects
Lit
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Lit review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Bolt.new if
- You need full-stack app generation.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want prompt-to-app creation.
Choose Lit if
- You need reactive properties.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Node.js.
- You also want tagged template literals.
Questions people ask
- Is Bolt.new or Lit better?
- Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and Lit at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or Lit?
- Bolt.new starts at Free and Lit at Free.
- Does Bolt.new or Lit run on more platforms?
- Bolt.new runs on Web. Lit runs on Web, Node.js.
- Can I use Bolt.new for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Bolt.new best used for?
- Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what Lit is typically brought in for.
- What can Bolt.new do that Lit cannot?
- Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. Lit covers Reactive properties, Tagged template literals, Scoped styling with Shadow DOM, Web Components standard.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?
Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.
SourceLit: Is Lit free to use?
Yes, Lit is open source and completely free under the BSD 3-Clause license.
SourceBolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?
The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.
SourceBolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?
The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Bolt.new vs Flask
- Bolt.new vs MySQL
- Bolt.new vs Django
- Bolt.new vs Next.js
- Bolt.new vs Remix
- Bolt.new vs SolidStart
- Bolt.new vs TanStack Start
- Bolt.new vs Ruby on Rails
- Bolt.new vs Nuxt
- Bolt.new vs Qwik
- Bolt.new vs Spring Boot
- Bolt.new vs Rollup
- Bolt.new vs Sass
- Bolt.new vs SolidJS
- Bolt.new vs v0 by Vercel
- Bolt.new vs React
- Bolt.new vs Vue.js
- Bolt.new vs MUI
- Bolt.new vs Bootstrap
- Bolt.new vs Preact
- Bolt.new vs shadcn/ui
- Bolt.new vs Chakra UI
- Bolt.new vs esbuild
- Bolt.new vs Docusaurus
- Bolt.new vs Radix UI
- Bolt.new vs Strikingly
- Bolt.new vs Svelte
- Bolt.new vs Turbopack
- Bolt.new vs TypeScript
- Bolt.new vs Wix
- Lit vs Flask
- Lit vs MySQL
- Lit vs Django
- Lit vs Next.js
- Lit vs Remix
- Lit vs SolidStart
- Lit vs TanStack Start
- Lit vs Ruby on Rails
- Lit vs Nuxt
- Lit vs Qwik
- Lit vs Spring Boot
- Lit vs Rollup
- Lit vs Sass
- Lit vs SolidJS
- Lit vs v0 by Vercel
- Lit vs React
- Lit vs Vue.js
- Lit vs MUI
- Lit vs Bootstrap
- Lit vs Preact
- Lit vs shadcn/ui
- Lit vs Chakra UI
- Lit vs esbuild
- Lit vs Docusaurus
- Lit vs Radix UI
- Lit vs Strikingly
- Lit vs Svelte
- Lit vs Turbopack
- Lit vs TypeScript
- Lit vs Wix

