Softwr

Design · head to head

Affinity Designer vs Kittl

Affinity Designer logo

Affinity Designer

Design

Professional graphic design software for everyone

From
$69.99/one-time
Rated
-
Kittl logo

Kittl

Content Creation

Browser design tool for typography, lettering and merchandise graphics with a licensed asset library

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Kittl has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Kittl the asset licence is tied to an active subscription rather than to the exported file, so anyone building a shop on Kittl artwork needs to read the terms before cancelling and assume nothing about designs already sold.
  • They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Kittl covers Asset library.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Kittl actually diverge.

Attributes where Affinity Designer and Kittl differ
AttributeAffinity DesignerKittl
Starting price$69.99/one-timeFree
Pricing modelone-timePer user per month
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, Macos, IosWeb
CategoryDesignContent Creation
Founded1994Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Affinity Designer

  • Vector drawing
  • Bezier tools
  • Gradient tools
  • Typography
  • Pixel-perfect editing
  • Artboards
  • Symbols
  • Non-destructive effects

Only in Kittl

  • Asset library
  • Text effects
  • AI image generation
  • Vectoriser
  • Background removal
  • Mockups

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Affinity Designer

  • Logo designnot Kittl
  • Vector illustrationnot Kittl
  • Icon designnot Kittl
  • Brandingnot Kittl

Kittl

  • Producing a run of t-shirt designs where every font and texture must be cleared for resalenot Affinity Designer
  • Building a small brand identity quickly without an Illustrator licence or a designernot Affinity Designer
  • Turning a rough sketch into vector artwork for a poster or packaging label in one sessionnot Affinity Designer
  • Generating listing mockups for a print-on-demand shop in the same tool that made the artworknot Affinity Designer

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Affinity Designer

  • Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed

Kittl

  • The asset licence is tied to an active subscription rather than to the exported file, so anyone building a shop on Kittl artwork needs to read the terms before cancelling and assume nothing about designs already sold.
  • Several effects rasterise on export, so a design that looks correct on screen can fail a printer requirement for genuine vector artwork or CMYK separations.
  • There is no offline mode at all; the editor is browser-only, which matters for anyone working from a market stall, a print shop floor or an unreliable connection.
  • Kittl does not disclose the training data behind its AI image generation, so buyers who need provenance assurances for client or licensed work cannot obtain them.
  • The typography effects are tuned for the bundled faces, so uploading your own licensed fonts is possible on paid plans but loses much of what makes the tool fast.

Pricing, plan by plan

Affinity Designer

$69.99/one-time
  • Standard$69.99/one-time
    • Full version
    • All features
    • Lifetime updates

Kittl

Free
  • Free$undefined/month
    • Limited exports
    • Restricted asset access
    • No commercial licence on premium assets
  • Pro$undefined/month
    • Full asset library with commercial use
    • High-resolution export
    • AI generation credits
  • Expert$undefined/month
    • Higher generation limits
    • Priority rendering
    • Extended export formats

Which should you pick?

Choose Affinity Designer if

  • You need vector drawing.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
  • You also want bezier tools.

Choose Kittl if

  • You need asset library.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want text effects.

Questions people ask

Is Affinity Designer or Kittl better?
Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Kittl at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Kittl?
Kittl has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69.99/one-time for Affinity Designer and Free for Kittl.
Does Affinity Designer or Kittl run on more platforms?
Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Kittl runs on Web.
Can I use Kittl for free?
Yes. Kittl has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time.
What is Affinity Designer best used for?
Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what Kittl is typically brought in for.
What can Affinity Designer do that Kittl cannot?
Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. Kittl covers Asset library, Text effects, AI image generation, Vectoriser.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?

Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.

Source
Kittl: Can I sell what I make with the bundled assets?

Yes on paid plans, which grant commercial use of the library assets. The right is tied to the subscription, so read the licence terms before you cancel.

Affinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?

Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.

Source
Kittl: Is it a replacement for Illustrator?

No. It has no serious path editing, colour management or prepress tooling. It is a fast route to decorative print artwork, not a general vector editor.

Affinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?

No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.

Source
Kittl: Who owns the AI-generated images?

Kittl grants commercial use of generated output on paid plans. It does not publish what the underlying models were trained on.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads