Softwr

APIs · head to head

3scale vs Nintex

3scale logo

3scale

APIs

API management platform for designing, securing, and monetizing APIs

From
$300/monthly
Rated
-
Nintex logo

Nintex

Automation Integration

The work automation platform

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Nintex has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: 3scale red Hat's managed 3scale services end on 30 June 2027, so anyone adopting the hosted option now is choosing a product with a published end date; Nintex no published pricing on website; requires direct sales contact
  • They diverge on capability: 3scale covers API Gateway, Nintex covers Workflow builder.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3scale and Nintex actually diverge.

Attributes where 3scale and Nintex differ
Attribute3scaleNintex
Starting price$300/monthlyFree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsCloud, On-premises, HybridWeb, Mobile
CategoryAPIsAutomation Integration
Founded19932006

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3scale

  • API Gateway
  • Developer Portal
  • API Monetization
  • Red Hat OpenShift
  • AWS
  • Azure
  • Kubernetes
  • Cloud support

Only in Nintex

  • Workflow builder
  • Process mining
  • Task automation
  • Case management
  • Mobile access
  • Analytics
  • Monitoring
  • 300+ apps

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3scale

  • API gateway and lifecycle managementnot Nintex
  • Rate limiting and traffic control across API consumersnot Nintex
  • Developer portal and access key managementnot Nintex
  • Monetising APIs with usage-based plansnot Nintex
  • Hybrid deployment across on-premises and cloudnot Nintex

Nintex

  • Business process automation and workflow managementnot 3scale
  • Document generation and digital signature collectionnot 3scale
  • Salesforce and enterprise integrationnot 3scale

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3scale

  • Red Hat's managed 3scale services end on 30 June 2027, so anyone adopting the hosted option now is choosing a product with a published end date
  • Sold as part of Red Hat middleware rather than standalone, and 3scale.net redirects into redhat.com
  • Pricing is not published and a subscription is required for some services

Nintex

  • No published pricing on website; requires direct sales contact
  • Free trials available but no trial duration specified
  • Multiple product lines (Cloud, K2, Salesforce) complicate pricing assessment

Pricing, plan by plan

3scale

$300/monthly
  • Starter$300/monthly
    • API gateway
    • Developer portal
    • Basic analytics
  • Professional$750/monthly
    • Advanced features
    • API monetization
    • Enhanced support
  • Enterprise$undefined/monthly
    • Custom deployment
    • Dedicated support
    • Premium SLA

Nintex

Free
  • StarterFree
    • Limited workflows
    • Community support
  • Professional$500/month
    • Advanced workflows
    • Email support
  • Enterprise$2000/month
    • Unlimited workflows
    • Dedicated support

Which should you pick?

Choose 3scale if

  • You need api gateway.
  • You work on Cloud, On-premises, Hybrid.
  • You also want developer portal.

Choose Nintex if

  • You need workflow builder.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want process mining.

Questions people ask

Is 3scale or Nintex better?
Neither clearly leads. 3scale starts at $300/monthly and Nintex at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3scale or Nintex?
Nintex has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $300/monthly for 3scale and Free for Nintex.
Does 3scale or Nintex run on more platforms?
3scale runs on Cloud, On-premises, Hybrid. Nintex runs on Web, Mobile.
Can I use Nintex for free?
Yes. Nintex has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. 3scale starts at $300/monthly.
What is 3scale best used for?
3scale is most often used for api gateway and lifecycle management, rate limiting and traffic control across api consumers, developer portal and access key management, monetising apis with usage-based plans. Of those, api gateway and lifecycle management and rate limiting and traffic control across api consumers are not what Nintex is typically brought in for.
What can 3scale do that Nintex cannot?
3scale covers API Gateway, Developer Portal, API Monetization, Red Hat OpenShift. Nintex covers Workflow builder, Process mining, Task automation, Case management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3scale: Does Red Hat 3scale require a subscription?

Yes. The page states a subscription may be required for some services, though specific subscription details and costs are not published on this page.

Source
Nintex: Is Nintex free?

Nintex offers 30-day free trials for Workflow and Apps, plus free trials for Process Manager, eSign, and DocGen. No permanent free tier is advertised on their website.

Source
3scale: Is a trial available for 3scale?

A 'Start a trial' link is mentioned in navigation, but trial duration, included features, and limitations are not specified on this page.

Source
Nintex: What is Nintex pricing?

Nintex does not publish pricing on their public website. Pricing varies by product (Cloud Automation, K2, Salesforce) and deployment model. Contact their sales team via nintex.com or request a demo to obtain pricing quotes.

Source
3scale: When will Red Hat 3scale end support?

Red Hat 3scale API Management maintenance and managed services will end on June 30, 2027. Customers should plan migrations accordingly.

Source
Nintex: How long are Nintex free trials?

Nintex offers 30-day free trials for Workflow and Apps products. Process Manager, eSign, and DocGen trials are available, though exact durations are not specified on the trial page.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads