Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

August Smart Lock vs Zigbee Alliance

August Smart Lock logo

August Smart Lock

Smart Home

Smart locks that work with your existing deadbolt

From
$29.99/mo
Rated
-
Zigbee Alliance logo

Zigbee Alliance

Smart Home

Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: August Smart Lock one-time purchase model with no recurring subscription fees; Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
  • They diverge on capability: August Smart Lock covers Retrofit Design, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which August Smart Lock and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.

Attributes where August Smart Lock and Zigbee Alliance differ
AttributeAugust Smart LockZigbee Alliance
Starting price$29.99/moFree
Pricing modelone-timeopen-source
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIOS, Android, WebZigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms
Founded20122002

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in August Smart Lock

  • Retrofit Design
  • Auto-Unlock
  • Guest Access
  • Activity Log
  • Alexa
  • Google Home
  • HomeKit
  • SmartThings

Only in Zigbee Alliance

  • Low Power
  • Mesh Networking
  • Self-Healing
  • Scalable
  • Smart home devices
  • Hubs
  • Controllers
  • Integration platforms

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

August Smart Lock

  • Keyless entrynot Zigbee Alliance
  • Guest accessnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Remote unlocknot Zigbee Alliance
  • Activity monitoringnot Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance

  • Smart lightingnot August Smart Lock
  • Sensor networksnot August Smart Lock
  • Home automationnot August Smart Lock
  • Industrial monitoringnot August Smart Lock

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

August Smart Lock

  • One-time purchase model with no recurring subscription fees
  • Smart locks range from $129.99 to $229.99 depending on model and features

Zigbee Alliance

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.

Pricing, plan by plan

August Smart Lock

$29.99/mo
  • Smart Lock$149.99/mo
    • Standard smart lock
  • Yale Approach Lock with Wi-Fi$129.99/mo
    • Wi-Fi enabled
  • Wi-Fi Smart Lock$229.99/mo
    • Wi-Fi connectivity
  • Smart Lock + Connect$210.99/mo
    • Lock plus connectivity module

Zigbee Alliance

Free
  • Open SpecificationFree
    • Low power mesh
    • Self-healing
    • Interoperable

Which should you pick?

Choose August Smart Lock if

  • You need retrofit design.
  • You work on IOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want auto-unlock.

Choose Zigbee Alliance if

  • You need low power.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
  • You also want mesh networking.

Questions people ask

Is August Smart Lock or Zigbee Alliance better?
Neither clearly leads. August Smart Lock starts at $29.99/mo and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, August Smart Lock or Zigbee Alliance?
Zigbee Alliance has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29.99/mo for August Smart Lock and Free for Zigbee Alliance.
Does August Smart Lock or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
August Smart Lock runs on IOS, Android, Web. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
Can I use Zigbee Alliance for free?
Yes. Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. August Smart Lock starts at $29.99/mo.
What is August Smart Lock best used for?
August Smart Lock is most often used for keyless entry, guest access, remote unlock, activity monitoring. Of those, keyless entry and guest access are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
What can August Smart Lock do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
August Smart Lock covers Retrofit Design, Auto-Unlock, Guest Access, Activity Log. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

August Smart Lock: How much do August smart locks cost?

August smart locks are one-time purchases. Prices range from $129.99 for the Yale Approach Lock with Wi-Fi to $229.99 for the Wi-Fi Smart Lock. Standard Smart Lock is $149.99. Bundles like Wi-Fi Smart Lock + Keypad Touch are $249.99.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?

Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.

Source
August Smart Lock: Does August offer a money-back guarantee?

Yes. August offers a 30-day money-back guarantee on purchases. Additionally, shipping is free in the United States.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?

Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?

The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads