Softwr

File Storage · head to head

Box vs TrueNAS

Box logo

Box

File Storage

Cloud content management for the enterprise

From
Free
Rated
-
TrueNAS logo

TrueNAS

File Storage

Open-source ZFS storage operating system for network-attached storage

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Box pricing not disclosed for Personal Pro, Business Plus, Enterprise, and Enterprise Plus tiers; TrueNAS requires self-hosting on x86 hardware, no managed cloud offering; organisations must provision, configure, and maintain their own infrastructure
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Box and TrueNAS actually diverge.

Attributes where Box and TrueNAS differ
AttributeBoxTrueNAS
Pricing modelsubscriptionopen-source
PlatformsWebSelf-hosted, Linux, Web, API

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (File Storage).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Box

  • Enterprise cloud file storage and collaborationnot TrueNAS
  • Document management with AI capabilitiesnot TrueNAS
  • API integration for business automationnot TrueNAS

TrueNAS

  • On-premises backup and archival storage for enterprisesnot Box
  • Home lab and small business network-attached storagenot Box
  • Media server storage for video, photo, and document librariesnot Box
  • Disaster recovery and business continuity replicationnot Box
  • S3-compatible object storage for cloud-native applicationsnot Box
  • High-availability storage clusters for datacentresnot Box

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Box

  • Pricing not disclosed for Personal Pro, Business Plus, Enterprise, and Enterprise Plus tiers
  • Enterprise Advanced requires quote and minimum purchase commitments
  • File upload limits vary from 250 MB to 500 GB across tiers
  • Business plan requires minimum 3 users

TrueNAS

  • Requires self-hosting on x86 hardware, no managed cloud offering; organisations must provision, configure, and maintain their own infrastructure
  • ZFS filesystem entails high memory requirements (1 GB RAM per 1 TB of storage recommended), increasing costs for large deployments
  • Limited ARM/embedded support; Community Edition is primarily x86-64, reducing deployment options for edge installations
  • Clustering and replication setup requires operational expertise; misconfiguration can lead to data loss
  • Enterprise support and SLA guarantees require paid subscriptions; Community Edition relies on peer-based forums

Pricing, plan by plan

Box

Free
  • IndividualFree
    • 10 GB storage
    • 250 MB file upload limit
    • 1 file version
  • Business$5/month
    • Unlimited storage
    • 5 GB file upload
    • 25 file versions
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • Unlimited storage
    • 50 GB file upload
    • 1,000 AI Units per month
  • Enterprise Plus$null/month
    • Unlimited storage
    • 150 GB file upload
    • 2,000 AI Units per month

TrueNAS

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the TrueNAS review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Box if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose TrueNAS if

  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Self-hosted, Linux, Web, API.

Questions people ask

Is Box or TrueNAS better?
Neither clearly leads. Box starts at Free and TrueNAS at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Box or TrueNAS?
Box starts at Free and TrueNAS at Free.
Does Box or TrueNAS run on more platforms?
Box runs on Web. TrueNAS runs on Self-hosted, Linux, Web, API.
Can I use Box for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Box best used for?
Box is most often used for enterprise cloud file storage and collaboration, document management with ai capabilities, api integration for business automation. Of those, enterprise cloud file storage and collaboration and document management with ai capabilities are not what TrueNAS is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Box: What is the starting price for Box Business plan?

Business plan starts at $5 per user per month with unlimited storage, 5 GB file uploads, and Box AI included.

Source
TrueNAS: What is the cost of TrueNAS Community Edition?

TrueNAS Community Edition is free and open-source. There are no licensing fees, but organisations must purchase and maintain their own x86 hardware. Enterprise Edition requires paid support contracts for production environments.

Source
Box: Does the free plan support file sharing?

Yes, Individual free plan includes 10 GB storage, 250 MB file uploads, and 5 Box Sign signature requests per month.

Source
TrueNAS: Can I replicate TrueNAS data between sites?

Yes. TrueNAS supports snapshot-based replication over network links, enabling disaster recovery and business continuity. Replication can occur between Community Edition systems or between Enterprise Appliances.

Source
Box: What are the file upload limits by tier?

File upload limits are 250 MB (Individual), 5 GB (Business), 50 GB (Enterprise), 150 GB (Enterprise Plus), and 500 GB (Enterprise Advanced).

Source
TrueNAS: What storage protocols does TrueNAS support?

TrueNAS simultaneously supports NFS (network file system), SMB (Windows file sharing), iSCSI (block storage), and S3-compatible object storage, all from the same storage pool.

Source
Box: How is AI priced in Box?

Business plan includes Box AI at no extra cost; Enterprise tiers include 1,000-20,000 AI Units per month depending on plan level.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads