Softwr

Energy · head to head

Aurora Solar vs Sunrun EnergyBase

Aurora Solar logo

Aurora Solar

Energy

The leading solar design and sales platform

From
$135/month
Rated
-
Sunrun EnergyBase logo

Sunrun EnergyBase

Energy

Residential solar and energy management platform

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Aurora Solar both published plans are single user, so a second designer means a second licence; Sunrun EnergyBase no specific pricing published on website; mentions locked-in rates but does not disclose dollar amounts
  • They diverge on capability: Aurora Solar covers 3D solar design, Sunrun EnergyBase covers Solar design and simulation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Aurora Solar and Sunrun EnergyBase actually diverge.

Attributes where Aurora Solar and Sunrun EnergyBase differ
AttributeAurora SolarSunrun EnergyBase
Starting price$135/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
PlatformsWeb, ApiWeb, Mobile
Founded20132007

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Energy).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Aurora Solar

  • 3D solar design
  • Shade analysis
  • LIDAR integration
  • Performance simulation
  • Sales proposals
  • Financing options
  • Permit packages
  • NEC code compliance

Only in Sunrun EnergyBase

  • Solar design and simulation
  • Project management
  • Real-time monitoring
  • Customer portal
  • Financial analysis
  • Google Maps
  • Data encryption
  • Cloud deployment

Both cover

  • Salesforce
  • SSL encryption

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Aurora Solar

  • Designing and simulating residential and commercial solar installationsnot Sunrun EnergyBase
  • Producing shade analysis and sales proposals for solar projectsnot Sunrun EnergyBase

Sunrun EnergyBase

  • Residential solar salesnot Aurora Solar
  • Energy managementnot Aurora Solar

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Aurora Solar

  • Both published plans are single user, so a second designer means a second licence
  • Projects are capped at 50 a month on both Basic and Premium, so the tiers differ on features rather than volume
  • LIDAR assisted modelling, shade reports and battery storage modelling all require Premium at $259 a month
  • API access and integrations are Enterprise only, which is priced per project rather than per month
  • Paying monthly rather than annually costs $288 more a year on Basic and $468 on Premium

Sunrun EnergyBase

  • No specific pricing published on website; mentions locked-in rates but does not disclose dollar amounts

Pricing, plan by plan

Aurora Solar

$135/month
  • Basic$159/month
    • Tablet-friendly sales proposals
    • Industry-leading design accuracy
    • HD imagery
  • Premium$259/month
    • Tablet-friendly sales proposals
    • Industry-leading design accuracy
    • HD imagery
  • Enterprise$null/project
    • All Premium features
    • AI-assisted site models
    • APIs and integrations

Sunrun EnergyBase

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Sunrun EnergyBase review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Aurora Solar if

  • You need 3d solar design.
  • You work on Web, Api.
  • You also want shade analysis.

Choose Sunrun EnergyBase if

  • You need solar design and simulation.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want project management.

Questions people ask

Is Aurora Solar or Sunrun EnergyBase better?
Neither clearly leads. Aurora Solar starts at $135/month and Sunrun EnergyBase at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Aurora Solar or Sunrun EnergyBase?
Aurora Solar starts at $135/month and Sunrun EnergyBase at On request.
Does Aurora Solar or Sunrun EnergyBase run on more platforms?
Aurora Solar runs on Web, Api. Sunrun EnergyBase runs on Web, Mobile.
What is Aurora Solar best used for?
Aurora Solar is most often used for designing and simulating residential and commercial solar installations, producing shade analysis and sales proposals for solar projects. Of those, designing and simulating residential and commercial solar installations and producing shade analysis and sales proposals for solar projects are not what Sunrun EnergyBase is typically brought in for.
What can Aurora Solar do that Sunrun EnergyBase cannot?
Aurora Solar covers 3D solar design, Shade analysis, LIDAR integration, Performance simulation. Sunrun EnergyBase covers Solar design and simulation, Project management, Real-time monitoring, Customer portal. Both handle Salesforce, SSL encryption.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Aurora Solar: How much does Aurora Solar cost per month?

Aurora Solar Basic costs $159/month billed monthly or $135/month billed annually (save $288/year). Premium costs $259/month monthly or $220/month annually (save $468/year). Enterprise pricing is custom per project. Monthly plans have no minimum commitment and can be cancelled at any billing period end. Annual plans require a one-year commitment.

Source
Sunrun EnergyBase: How much does Sunrun EnergyBase cost?

Sunrun does not publish specific pricing for EnergyBase on its website. The company mentions predictable monthly payments with locked-in rates and add-on battery options available for as little as $0 down, but exact costs are not disclosed.

Source
Aurora Solar: What features does Aurora Solar Premium add over Basic?

Premium adds LIDAR-assisted modeling, bankable shade reports, and battery modeling for backup, self-consumption, and arbitrage scenarios. Both tiers include 50 projects per month and support 1 user.

Source
Sunrun EnergyBase: How can I get a Sunrun EnergyBase price quote?

To obtain pricing details, interested customers must use the quote request form or contact a Sunrun solar advisor directly through the website.

Source
Aurora Solar: How many users and projects can I have on Aurora Solar?

Basic and Premium plans support 1 user with a 50-project monthly limit. Enterprise plans support unlimited users and custom project limits; Enterprise pricing and terms are custom and determined through sales.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads