Softwr

Aviation · head to head

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 vs simBrief

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 logo

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Aviation

Hyper-realistic cloud-based flight simulation

From
$9.99/month
Rated
-
simBrief logo

simBrief

Aviation

Free online flight planning for flight simulators

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only simBrief has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers; simBrief the free version uses a navigation database the vendor describes as slightly outdated by default
  • They diverge on capability: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, simBrief covers Flight planning.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 and simBrief actually diverge.

Attributes where Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 and simBrief differ
AttributeMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2024simBrief
Starting price$9.99/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfree
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, XboxWeb
Founded20202009

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Aviation).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Photogrammetry scenery
  • Realistic weather
  • Aircraft systems
  • Global coverage
  • ATC
  • Xbox Game Pass
  • Azure cloud
  • Third-party add-ons

Only in simBrief

  • Flight planning
  • Weather integration
  • NOTAM analysis
  • Fuel calculation
  • Briefing generation
  • Real weather
  • NOTAM data
  • Aircraft database

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Flight trainingnot simBrief
  • Recreationnot simBrief
  • VR flyingnot simBrief
  • Network flyingnot simBrief

simBrief

  • Generating realistic flight plans and briefing packs for flight simulationnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Calculating fuel, routing and weight and balance for simulated flightsnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • Multiple editions without published pricing comparison

simBrief

  • The free version uses a navigation database the vendor describes as slightly outdated by default
  • Current navigation data updated every 28 days requires a separate Navigraph subscription
  • Jeppesen IFR and VFR charts require the higher Navigraph Unlimited subscription
  • Neither subscription price is stated on the SimBrief site, since both are sold by Navigraph

Pricing, plan by plan

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

$9.99/month
  • Game Pass$9.99/month
    • Full simulator
    • Game Pass included
    • Cloud saves
  • Standalone$89.99/lifetime
    • Full simulator
    • Lifetime license
    • All updates

simBrief

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Flight planning
    • Weather analysis
    • Fuel planning

Which should you pick?

Choose Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 if

  • You need photogrammetry scenery.
  • You work on Windows, Xbox.
  • You also want realistic weather.

Choose simBrief if

  • You need flight planning.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want weather integration.

Questions people ask

Is Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or simBrief better?
Neither clearly leads. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 starts at $9.99/month and simBrief at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or simBrief?
simBrief has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $9.99/month for Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 and Free for simBrief.
Does Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or simBrief run on more platforms?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 runs on Windows, Xbox. simBrief runs on Web.
Can I use simBrief for free?
Yes. simBrief has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 starts at $9.99/month.
What is Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 best used for?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is most often used for flight training, recreation, vr flying, network flying. Of those, flight training and recreation are not what simBrief is typically brought in for.
What can Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 do that simBrief cannot?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, Realistic weather, Aircraft systems, Global coverage. simBrief covers Flight planning, Weather integration, NOTAM analysis, Fuel calculation.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: What editions of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 are available?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available in four editions: Standard (70 aircraft, 150 airports), Deluxe (80 aircraft, 155 airports), Premium Deluxe (95 aircraft, 160 airports), and Aviator (125 aircraft, 160 airports, includes 30 Microsoft-published marketplace aircraft).

Source
simBrief: Is SimBrief free to use?

Yes, SimBrief is free to use. It is a free flight planning service provided by Navigraph for Flight Simulation enthusiasts. Creating a Navigraph account is free, quick, and easy.

Source
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: Where can I purchase Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available on Microsoft Store, Steam, PlayStation Store, and Xbox Game Pass. Pricing is not listed on the official website; customers must check these retailers for current prices.

Source
simBrief: What does SimBrief provide for flight planning?

SimBrief is a web-based dispatching system that generates in-depth flight plan packages featuring detailed fuel planning, weather forecasts, current NOTAMs, ETOPS calculations, and much more in seconds.

Source
simBrief: Can I upgrade SimBrief for better features?

SimBrief is free by default and uses a slightly outdated navigation database. You can purchase a Navigraph subscription after registering to access the latest navigation database and additional features.

Source
simBrief: How do I access SimBrief?

To access SimBrief, you need to sign in using a Navigraph account. You can create a free Navigraph account from the SimBrief website.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads