Softwr

Aviation · head to head

LogTen Pro vs Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

LogTen Pro logo

LogTen Pro

Aviation

Professional pilot logbook for iOS and Mac

From
$79.99/year
Rated
-
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 logo

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Aviation

Hyper-realistic cloud-based flight simulation

From
$9.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: LogTen Pro free use is capped at the first 50 hours of total flight time logged; Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • They diverge on capability: LogTen Pro covers Digital logbook, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which LogTen Pro and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 actually diverge.

Attributes where LogTen Pro and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 differ
AttributeLogTen ProMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2024
Starting price$79.99/year$9.99/month
PlatformsIos, MacosWindows, Xbox
Founded20062020

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Aviation).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in LogTen Pro

  • Digital logbook
  • Currency tracking
  • Report generation
  • Cloud sync
  • Flight import
  • ForeFlight
  • APDL
  • FlightAware

Only in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Photogrammetry scenery
  • Realistic weather
  • Aircraft systems
  • Global coverage
  • ATC
  • Xbox Game Pass
  • Azure cloud
  • Third-party add-ons

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

LogTen Pro

  • Keeping an electronic pilot logbook that meets airline interview and currency requirementsnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Generating printable and exportable logbook reports for licence applicationsnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Logging flight time from an iPhone or Apple Watch immediately after a flightnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Flight trainingnot LogTen Pro
  • Recreationnot LogTen Pro
  • VR flyingnot LogTen Pro
  • Network flyingnot LogTen Pro

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

LogTen Pro

  • Free use is capped at the first 50 hours of total flight time logged
  • Mac access requires the Pro subscription rather than the Basic subscription
  • Basic costs $9.99 per month or $79.99 per year and Pro $129.99 per year, billed as in-app purchases
  • The app runs only on Apple platforms and requires iOS 15.0 or later, with no Android or Windows version

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • Multiple editions without published pricing comparison

Pricing, plan by plan

LogTen Pro

$79.99/year
  • Basic$79.99/year
    • Logging, analysis, tracking, and reporting
    • Automatic backup and cloud sync
    • Industry analytics and currency/duty/rest tracking
  • Pro$129.99/year
    • LogTen for Mac application
    • Schedule importing for 100+ airlines
    • Advanced smart filter groups

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

$9.99/month
  • Game Pass$9.99/month
    • Full simulator
    • Game Pass included
    • Cloud saves
  • Standalone$89.99/lifetime
    • Full simulator
    • Lifetime license
    • All updates

Which should you pick?

Choose LogTen Pro if

  • You need digital logbook.
  • You work on Ios, Macos.
  • You also want currency tracking.

Choose Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 if

  • You need photogrammetry scenery.
  • You work on Windows, Xbox.
  • You also want realistic weather.

Questions people ask

Is LogTen Pro or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 better?
Neither clearly leads. LogTen Pro starts at $79.99/year and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 at $9.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, LogTen Pro or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?
LogTen Pro starts at $79.99/year and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 at $9.99/month.
Does LogTen Pro or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 run on more platforms?
LogTen Pro runs on Ios, Macos. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 runs on Windows, Xbox.
What is LogTen Pro best used for?
LogTen Pro is most often used for keeping an electronic pilot logbook that meets airline interview and currency requirements, generating printable and exportable logbook reports for licence applications, logging flight time from an iphone or apple watch immediately after a flight. Of those, keeping an electronic pilot logbook that meets airline interview and currency requirements and generating printable and exportable logbook reports for licence applications are not what Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is typically brought in for.
What can LogTen Pro do that Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 cannot?
LogTen Pro covers Digital logbook, Currency tracking, Report generation, Cloud sync. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, Realistic weather, Aircraft systems, Global coverage.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

LogTen Pro: How much does LogTen Basic cost annually?

LogTen Basic is $79.99 per year, approximately $7 per month, with first 50 flight hours logged at no cost.

Source
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: What editions of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 are available?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available in four editions: Standard (70 aircraft, 150 airports), Deluxe (80 aircraft, 155 airports), Premium Deluxe (95 aircraft, 160 airports), and Aviator (125 aircraft, 160 airports, includes 30 Microsoft-published marketplace aircraft).

Source
LogTen Pro: What is included in LogTen Pro?

Pro plan at $129.99 per year adds LogTen for Mac application, schedule importing for 100+ airlines, advanced smart filters, batch editing, and additional flight data imports.

Source
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: Where can I purchase Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available on Microsoft Store, Steam, PlayStation Store, and Xbox Game Pass. Pricing is not listed on the official website; customers must check these retailers for current prices.

Source
LogTen Pro: Is there a free trial for new users?

Both plans include the first 50 hours of flight logging at no cost, which covers student pilot certification requirements.

Source
LogTen Pro: Does LogTen offer volume pricing?

Yes, volume pricing is available for groups exceeding 5 pilots.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads