Softwr

Aviation · head to head

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 vs Prepar3D Professional

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 logo

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Aviation

Hyper-realistic cloud-based flight simulation

From
$9.99/month
Rated
-
Prepar3D Professional logo

Prepar3D Professional

Aviation

Professional flight simulation platform

From
$9.95/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers; Prepar3D Professional the Personal licence at $59.95 is restricted to home use, personal training and K-12 classrooms, so any business, military or university use requires the Professional licence at $350.00
  • They diverge on capability: Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, Prepar3D Professional covers Flight physics.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 and Prepar3D Professional actually diverge.

Attributes where Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 and Prepar3D Professional differ
AttributeMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2024Prepar3D Professional
Starting price$9.99/month$9.95/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionone-time
PlatformsWindows, XboxWindows
Founded20202008

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Aviation).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Photogrammetry scenery
  • Realistic weather
  • Global coverage
  • Xbox Game Pass
  • Azure cloud
  • Third-party add-ons
  • VR support
  • Game Pass account

Only in Prepar3D Professional

  • Flight physics
  • Scenery
  • Training
  • Add-ons
  • VR
  • Training devices
  • APIs
  • License activation

Both cover

  • Aircraft systems
  • ATC
  • Hardware
  • Multiplayer
  • Windows support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Flight trainingnot Prepar3D Professional
  • Recreationnot Prepar3D Professional
  • VR flyingnot Prepar3D Professional
  • Network flyingnot Prepar3D Professional

Prepar3D Professional

  • Running procedural and flight training in a commercial or military simulation facilitynot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Building multi-channel visual systems across several synchronised displaysnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Developing custom aircraft, scenery and scenarios against the Prepar3D SDKnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Delivering STEM and K-12 classroom flight simulation on the Personal licencenot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • Multiple editions without published pricing comparison

Prepar3D Professional

  • The Personal licence at $59.95 is restricted to home use, personal training and K-12 classrooms, so any business, military or university use requires the Professional licence at $350.00
  • Weapons and sensors, AI behaviors in scenarios, DIS and CIGI packet support, the SimOperator instructor station and multi-channel concurrent operation are confined to Professional Plus at $2,750.00
  • The Personal licence requires an internet connection during use, while only Professional and above run in disconnected environments
  • Developer subscriptions at $9.95 and $50.00 per month watermark the image and are forbidden from delivering training

Pricing, plan by plan

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

$9.99/month
  • Game Pass$9.99/month
    • Full simulator
    • Game Pass included
    • Cloud saves
  • Standalone$89.99/lifetime
    • Full simulator
    • Lifetime license
    • All updates

Prepar3D Professional

$9.95/month
  • Professional License$350/one-time
    • Proven simulation framework application
    • Rich and interactive environment
  • Professional Developer License$9.95/month
    • Development, testing, and marketing activities

Which should you pick?

Choose Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 if

  • You need photogrammetry scenery.
  • You work on Windows, Xbox.
  • You also want realistic weather.

Choose Prepar3D Professional if

  • You need flight physics.
  • You work on Windows.
  • You also want scenery.

Questions people ask

Is Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or Prepar3D Professional better?
Neither clearly leads. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 starts at $9.99/month and Prepar3D Professional at $9.95/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or Prepar3D Professional?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 starts at $9.99/month and Prepar3D Professional at $9.95/month.
Does Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 or Prepar3D Professional run on more platforms?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 runs on Windows, Xbox. Prepar3D Professional runs on Windows.
What is Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 best used for?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is most often used for flight training, recreation, vr flying, network flying. Of those, flight training and recreation are not what Prepar3D Professional is typically brought in for.
What can Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 do that Prepar3D Professional cannot?
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, Realistic weather, Global coverage, Xbox Game Pass. Prepar3D Professional covers Flight physics, Scenery, Training, Add-ons. Both handle Aircraft systems, ATC, Hardware, Multiplayer.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: What editions of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 are available?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available in four editions: Standard (70 aircraft, 150 airports), Deluxe (80 aircraft, 155 airports), Premium Deluxe (95 aircraft, 160 airports), and Aviator (125 aircraft, 160 airports, includes 30 Microsoft-published marketplace aircraft).

Source
Prepar3D Professional: How much does Prepar3D Professional cost?

Prepar3D Professional License costs $350.00 USD as a one-time purchase.

Source
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: Where can I purchase Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available on Microsoft Store, Steam, PlayStation Store, and Xbox Game Pass. Pricing is not listed on the official website; customers must check these retailers for current prices.

Source
Prepar3D Professional: What is the cost of a Prepar3D developer license?

The Professional Developer License costs $9.95 USD per developer per month for development, testing, and marketing activities.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads