Softwr

Aviation · head to head

AGI STK vs Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

AGI STK logo

AGI STK

Aviation

Systems Tool Kit for space and aerospace analysis

From
Free
Rated
-
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 logo

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Aviation

Hyper-realistic cloud-based flight simulation

From
$9.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only AGI STK has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: AGI STK sTK is sold as a ladder of separate licences, STK Pro, STK Premium Air, STK Premium Space and STK Enterprise, so mission areas are gated behind different products; Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • They diverge on capability: AGI STK covers Orbit analysis, Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which AGI STK and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 actually diverge.

Attributes where AGI STK and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 differ
AttributeAGI STKMicrosoft Flight Simulator 2024
Starting priceFree$9.99/month
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWindows, LinuxWindows, Xbox
Founded19892020

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Aviation).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in AGI STK

  • Orbit analysis
  • 4D visualization
  • Mission planning
  • Communication analysis
  • Conjunction assessment
  • MATLAB
  • Python
  • C++/.NET API

Only in Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Photogrammetry scenery
  • Realistic weather
  • Aircraft systems
  • Global coverage
  • ATC
  • Xbox Game Pass
  • Azure cloud
  • Third-party add-ons

Both cover

  • Windows support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

AGI STK

  • Modelling satellite orbits, coverage and conjunction risknot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024
  • Mission analysis and visualization for air, space and defence systemsnot Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Flight trainingnot AGI STK
  • Recreationnot AGI STK
  • VR flyingnot AGI STK
  • Network flyingnot AGI STK

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

AGI STK

  • STK is sold as a ladder of separate licences, STK Pro, STK Premium Air, STK Premium Space and STK Enterprise, so mission areas are gated behind different products
  • Further capability is sold as separate add-on toolkits including TETK, the RF Channel Modeler and the STK Missile Toolkit
  • Distributing an application built on STK Engine to end users requires each of them to hold an Ansys STK Engine Runtime License
  • Free access is limited to students at accredited institutions and to time-limited trials
  • No price, minimum or cost driver is published for any STK tier

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

  • Pricing not disclosed on vendor site; available only through external retailers
  • Multiple editions without published pricing comparison

Pricing, plan by plan

AGI STK

Free
  • STK FreeFree
    • Basic analysis
    • 2D/3D visualization
    • Orbit analysis
  • STK Professional$15000/year
    • Advanced analysis
    • Premium modules
    • API access
  • STK Enterprise$50000/year
    • All modules
    • Multi-user
    • Custom solutions

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024

$9.99/month
  • Game Pass$9.99/month
    • Full simulator
    • Game Pass included
    • Cloud saves
  • Standalone$89.99/lifetime
    • Full simulator
    • Lifetime license
    • All updates

Which should you pick?

Choose AGI STK if

  • You need orbit analysis.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Windows, Linux.
  • You also want 4d visualization.

Choose Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 if

  • You need photogrammetry scenery.
  • You work on Windows, Xbox.
  • You also want realistic weather.

Questions people ask

Is AGI STK or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 better?
Neither clearly leads. AGI STK starts at Free and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 at $9.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, AGI STK or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?
AGI STK has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for AGI STK and $9.99/month for Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024.
Does AGI STK or Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 run on more platforms?
AGI STK runs on Windows, Linux. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 runs on Windows, Xbox.
Can I use AGI STK for free?
Yes. AGI STK has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 starts at $9.99/month.
What is AGI STK best used for?
AGI STK is most often used for modelling satellite orbits, coverage and conjunction risk, mission analysis and visualization for air, space and defence systems. Of those, modelling satellite orbits, coverage and conjunction risk and mission analysis and visualization for air, space and defence systems are not what Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is typically brought in for.
What can AGI STK do that Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 cannot?
AGI STK covers Orbit analysis, 4D visualization, Mission planning, Communication analysis. Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 covers Photogrammetry scenery, Realistic weather, Aircraft systems, Global coverage. Both handle Windows support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: What editions of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 are available?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available in four editions: Standard (70 aircraft, 150 airports), Deluxe (80 aircraft, 155 airports), Premium Deluxe (95 aircraft, 160 airports), and Aviator (125 aircraft, 160 airports, includes 30 Microsoft-published marketplace aircraft).

Source
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024: Where can I purchase Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024?

Microsoft Flight Simulator 2024 is available on Microsoft Store, Steam, PlayStation Store, and Xbox Game Pass. Pricing is not listed on the official website; customers must check these retailers for current prices.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads