Softwr

LMS · head to head

LinkedIn Learning vs Thinkific

LinkedIn Learning logo

LinkedIn Learning

LMS

Develop skills with expert-led courses

From
On request
Rated
-
Thinkific logo

Thinkific

LMS

Create and sell online courses your way

From
$36/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: LinkedIn Learning no pricing published on main site; specific subscription costs and billing periods not disclosed; Thinkific no free plan, 14-day trial only
  • They diverge on capability: LinkedIn Learning covers Video courses, Thinkific covers Course builder.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which LinkedIn Learning and Thinkific actually diverge.

Attributes where LinkedIn Learning and Thinkific differ
AttributeLinkedIn LearningThinkific
Starting priceOn request$36/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionUnknown
PlatformsWeb, IOS, AndroidWeb, Mobile
Founded20032012

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (LMS).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in LinkedIn Learning

  • Video courses
  • Learning paths
  • Skill assessments
  • LinkedIn integration
  • Mobile learning
  • Offline viewing
  • Recommendations
  • LinkedIn

Only in Thinkific

  • Course builder
  • Website builder
  • Quizzes
  • Communities
  • Memberships
  • Marketing tools
  • Analytics
  • Zapier

Both cover

  • Certificates
  • Web support
  • IOS support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

LinkedIn Learning

  • Skill developmentnot Thinkific
  • Career growthnot Thinkific
  • Team trainingnot Thinkific
  • Professional developmentnot Thinkific

Thinkific

  • Course creationnot LinkedIn Learning
  • Membership sitesnot LinkedIn Learning
  • Coaching programsnot LinkedIn Learning
  • Corporate trainingnot LinkedIn Learning

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

LinkedIn Learning

  • No pricing published on main site; specific subscription costs and billing periods not disclosed
  • Free trial available but specific trial duration not stated on homepage

Thinkific

  • No free plan, 14-day trial only
  • Transaction fees on third-party payment processors (5% on Basic tier)
  • PayPal only available on Grow plan ($199/month), not on Basic or Start
  • Limited customization on lower-tier plans
  • Cannot embed courses in external domains or iframes
  • Limited number of spaces per plan
  • Less interactive community features compared to alternatives
  • Features continuously moved to higher-priced tiers
  • Payment processing delays reported (up to 90 days)

Pricing, plan by plan

LinkedIn Learning

On request
  • Monthly$29.99/month
    • All courses
    • Certificates
    • LinkedIn integration
  • Annual$19.99/month
    • All courses
    • Offline viewing
    • Personalized recommendations
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Admin tools
    • Analytics
    • Learning paths

Thinkific

$36/month
  • Basic$36/month
    • 1 course
    • Up to 500 students
    • Thinkific Payments (0% fees)
  • Start$74/month
    • Up to 3 courses
    • Up to 2,000 students
    • Third-party payment (3% fees)
  • Grow$149/month
    • Unlimited courses
    • Unlimited students
    • Third-party payment (0% fees)

Which should you pick?

Choose LinkedIn Learning if

  • You need video courses.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android.
  • You also want learning paths.

Choose Thinkific if

  • You need course builder.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want website builder.

Questions people ask

Is LinkedIn Learning or Thinkific better?
Neither clearly leads. LinkedIn Learning starts at On request and Thinkific at $36/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, LinkedIn Learning or Thinkific?
LinkedIn Learning starts at On request and Thinkific at $36/month.
Does LinkedIn Learning or Thinkific run on more platforms?
LinkedIn Learning runs on Web, IOS, Android. Thinkific runs on Web, Mobile.
What is LinkedIn Learning best used for?
LinkedIn Learning is most often used for skill development, career growth, team training, professional development. Of those, skill development and career growth are not what Thinkific is typically brought in for.
What can LinkedIn Learning do that Thinkific cannot?
LinkedIn Learning covers Video courses, Learning paths, Skill assessments, LinkedIn integration. Thinkific covers Course builder, Website builder, Quizzes, Communities. Both handle Certificates, Web support, IOS support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

LinkedIn Learning: How much does LinkedIn Learning cost?

LinkedIn Learning does not publish subscription prices on its website. Pricing is only available after clicking the 'Start free trial' or 'Buy for my team' buttons to access the purchase page.

Source
Thinkific: Does Thinkific have a free plan?

No. Thinkific does not offer a free plan but provides a 14-day free trial. Paid plans start at $36/month (Basic tier).

Source
LinkedIn Learning: Does LinkedIn Learning offer a free trial?

Yes, LinkedIn Learning offers a free trial option accessible from the main site, though the specific trial duration is not stated on the homepage.

Source
Thinkific: Are there transaction fees on Thinkific?

Thinkific charges no transaction fees when using their built-in Thinkific Payments. Third-party payment processors incur 5% fees (Basic) down to 0% (Plus), plus 3.6% for Stripe with subscriptions.

Source
Thinkific: What payment methods does Thinkific support?

PayPal is locked to Grow plan ($199/month). Basic and Start plans do not support PayPal, limiting payment options for international creators and potentially reducing conversions.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads