Softwr

Remote Work · head to head

IFTTT vs Zigbee Alliance

IFTTT logo

IFTTT

Remote Work

Automate almost anything with IFTTT

From
Free
Rated
-
Zigbee Alliance logo

Zigbee Alliance

Smart Home

Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: IFTTT free plan limited to only 2 applets total; Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
  • They diverge on capability: IFTTT covers If-then applets, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which IFTTT and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.

Attributes where IFTTT and Zigbee Alliance differ
AttributeIFTTTZigbee Alliance
Pricing modelfreemiumopen-source
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidZigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms
CategoryRemote WorkSmart Home
Founded20112002

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in IFTTT

  • If-then applets
  • Webhooks
  • Smart home integration
  • Social media
  • Email notifications
  • Data logging
  • 650+ services
  • Social media

Only in Zigbee Alliance

  • Low Power
  • Mesh Networking
  • Self-Healing
  • Scalable
  • Hubs
  • Controllers
  • Integration platforms
  • Zigbee devices support

Both cover

  • Smart home devices

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

IFTTT

  • Casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plannot Zigbee Alliance
  • Power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via Pro plannot Zigbee Alliance
  • Advanced automation with unlimited applets and AI services via Pro+ plannot Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance

  • Smart lightingnot IFTTT
  • Sensor networksnot IFTTT
  • Home automationnot IFTTT
  • Industrial monitoringnot IFTTT

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

IFTTT

  • Free plan limited to only 2 applets total
  • Free plan applets run at standard speed; fastest speeds require Pro tier
  • Free plan excludes webhooks, multi-action applets, and Twitter integrations
  • Free plan limited to 30-day onboarding support; paid plans offer ongoing customer support

Zigbee Alliance

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.

Pricing, plan by plan

IFTTT

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 2 Applets maximum
    • Standard Applet speeds
    • DIY or published Applets access
  • Pro$2.99/month
    • 20 Applets maximum
    • Fastest Applet speeds
    • Multi-action Applets
  • Pro+ (Annual)$35.88/year
    • Equivalent to $2.99/month with 40% annual discount
  • Pro+$8.99/month
    • Unlimited Applets
    • All Pro features included
    • Fastest Applet speeds

Zigbee Alliance

Free
  • Open SpecificationFree
    • Low power mesh
    • Self-healing
    • Interoperable

Which should you pick?

Choose IFTTT if

  • You need if-then applets.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want webhooks.

Choose Zigbee Alliance if

  • You need low power.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
  • You also want mesh networking.

Questions people ask

Is IFTTT or Zigbee Alliance better?
Neither clearly leads. IFTTT starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, IFTTT or Zigbee Alliance?
IFTTT starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free.
Does IFTTT or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
IFTTT runs on Web, iOS, Android. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
Can I use IFTTT for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is IFTTT best used for?
IFTTT is most often used for casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plan, power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via pro plan, advanced automation with unlimited applets and ai services via pro+ plan. Of those, casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plan and power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via pro plan are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
What can IFTTT do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
IFTTT covers If-then applets, Webhooks, Smart home integration, Social media. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable. Both handle Smart home devices.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

IFTTT: Is there a free version of IFTTT?

Yes, IFTTT offers a free tier that allows users to create up to 2 Applets with standard speeds and unlimited runs. The free plan includes DIY or published Applets access, a mobile app, and 30 days of onboarding support.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?

Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.

Source
IFTTT: How much does IFTTT Pro cost?

IFTTT Pro costs $2.99/month (or $35.88/year with 40% annual savings). Pro users get up to 20 Applets with fastest speeds, multi-action Applets, Webhooks access, Twitter Applets, and customer support.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?

Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.

Source
IFTTT: What does the IFTTT Pro+ tier include?

IFTTT Pro+ costs $8.99/month ($107.88/year with 40% annual discount). It includes unlimited Applets, all Pro features, AI services access, multiple account connections per service, query and filter code capabilities, and prioritized customer support.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?

The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads