Softwr

Remote Work · head to head

IFTTT vs Thread

IFTTT logo

IFTTT

Remote Work

Automate almost anything with IFTTT

From
Free
Rated
-
Thread logo

Thread

Smart Home

IPv6-based mesh networking for smart home devices

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: IFTTT free plan limited to only 2 applets total; Thread thread Group publishes six membership levels with annual fees of $750, $7,500, $15,000 and $65,000, and a one-time initiation fee of $35,000 for the top tier
  • They diverge on capability: IFTTT covers If-then applets, Thread covers IPv6 Mesh.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which IFTTT and Thread actually diverge.

Attributes where IFTTT and Thread differ
AttributeIFTTTThread
Pricing modelfreemiumopen-source
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidThread devices, Mesh networks, Apple Home, Smart hubs
CategoryRemote WorkSmart Home
Founded20112014

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in IFTTT

  • If-then applets
  • Webhooks
  • Smart home integration
  • Social media
  • Email notifications
  • Data logging
  • 650+ services
  • Smart home devices

Only in Thread

  • IPv6 Mesh
  • Self-Healing
  • Secure
  • Low Power
  • HomeKit
  • Matter
  • Smart devices
  • Smart home hubs

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

IFTTT

  • Casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plannot Thread
  • Power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via Pro plannot Thread
  • Advanced automation with unlimited applets and AI services via Pro+ plannot Thread

Thread

  • Wireless mesh networking protocol development and certificationnot IFTTT
  • IoT and home automation device connectivitynot IFTTT
  • Thread alliance membership and technical educationnot IFTTT

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

IFTTT

  • Free plan limited to only 2 applets total
  • Free plan applets run at standard speed; fastest speeds require Pro tier
  • Free plan excludes webhooks, multi-action applets, and Twitter integrations
  • Free plan limited to 30-day onboarding support; paid plans offer ongoing customer support

Thread

  • Thread Group publishes six membership levels with annual fees of $750, $7,500, $15,000 and $65,000, and a one-time initiation fee of $35,000 for the top tier
  • Certifying a product and using the Thread certification logo requires Thread Group membership
  • Free access to the Thread Test Harness is restricted to higher membership levels; lower levels only get the option to purchase it
  • Voting in work groups, chairing committees and a board seat are reserved for the paid upper membership levels
  • The Implementer level is described as being for white-label or rebranded certified products only
  • Academic membership is open only to organizations with fewer than 50 employees

Pricing, plan by plan

IFTTT

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 2 Applets maximum
    • Standard Applet speeds
    • DIY or published Applets access
  • Pro$2.99/month
    • 20 Applets maximum
    • Fastest Applet speeds
    • Multi-action Applets
  • Pro+ (Annual)$35.88/year
    • Equivalent to $2.99/month with 40% annual discount
  • Pro+$8.99/month
    • Unlimited Applets
    • All Pro features included
    • Fastest Applet speeds

Thread

Free
  • Open ProtocolFree
    • IPv6 mesh
    • Secure
    • Self-healing

Which should you pick?

Choose IFTTT if

  • You need if-then applets.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want webhooks.

Choose Thread if

  • You need ipv6 mesh.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Thread devices, Mesh networks, Apple Home, Smart hubs.
  • You also want self-healing.

Questions people ask

Is IFTTT or Thread better?
Neither clearly leads. IFTTT starts at Free and Thread at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, IFTTT or Thread?
IFTTT starts at Free and Thread at Free.
Does IFTTT or Thread run on more platforms?
IFTTT runs on Web, iOS, Android. Thread runs on Thread devices, Mesh networks, Apple Home, Smart hubs.
Can I use IFTTT for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is IFTTT best used for?
IFTTT is most often used for casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plan, power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via pro plan, advanced automation with unlimited applets and ai services via pro+ plan. Of those, casual automation with up to 2 simple applets via free plan and power users requiring 20 applets and multi-action capabilities via pro plan are not what Thread is typically brought in for.
What can IFTTT do that Thread cannot?
IFTTT covers If-then applets, Webhooks, Smart home integration, Social media. Thread covers IPv6 Mesh, Self-Healing, Secure, Low Power.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

IFTTT: Is there a free version of IFTTT?

Yes, IFTTT offers a free tier that allows users to create up to 2 Applets with standard speeds and unlimited runs. The free plan includes DIY or published Applets access, a mobile app, and 30 days of onboarding support.

Source
Thread: How much does Thread Group membership cost?

The Thread Group website does not disclose specific membership costs or pricing. Membership benefits are referenced with action buttons, but financial details are not published.

Source
IFTTT: How much does IFTTT Pro cost?

IFTTT Pro costs $2.99/month (or $35.88/year with 40% annual savings). Pro users get up to 20 Applets with fastest speeds, multi-action Applets, Webhooks access, Twitter Applets, and customer support.

Source
Thread: Is there a free option to access Thread information?

The Thread Group website provides public information about the Thread protocol and certification but does not specify whether membership is required to access resources or what costs are involved.

Source
IFTTT: What does the IFTTT Pro+ tier include?

IFTTT Pro+ costs $8.99/month ($107.88/year with 40% annual discount). It includes unlimited Applets, all Pro features, AI services access, multiple account connections per service, query and filter code capabilities, and prioritized customer support.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads