Softwr

Developer Tools · head to head

GitLab CI/CD vs Sourcegraph

GitLab CI/CD logo

GitLab CI/CD

Developer Tools

Automatically build, test, deploy, and monitor your applications with GitLab CI/CD

From
Free
Rated
-
Sourcegraph logo

Sourcegraph

Developer Tools

Code search and intelligence platform for large codebases with Cody AI assistant

From
$16000/year
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only GitLab CI/CD has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: GitLab CI/CD compute minute quotas for Premium and Ultimate tiers not disclosed in documentation; Sourcegraph enterprise pricing starting at $16k annually creates significant barrier for small teams
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which GitLab CI/CD and Sourcegraph actually diverge.

Attributes where GitLab CI/CD and Sourcegraph differ
AttributeGitLab CI/CDSourcegraph
Starting priceFree$16000/year
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebCloud, Self-hosted

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Developer Tools).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

GitLab CI/CD

  • Reducing open source project infrastructure costs with public project discountsnot Sourcegraph
  • Enforcing monthly CI/CD spending limits and quota notificationsnot Sourcegraph
  • Allocating compute minutes to open source contributors affordablynot Sourcegraph
  • Forecasting CI/CD spending patterns across multiple projectsnot Sourcegraph
  • Providing private runners for cost control without owning infrastructurenot Sourcegraph

Sourcegraph

  • Large-scale code migrations across hundreds of repositoriesnot GitLab CI/CD
  • Enterprise governance and code ownership trackingnot GitLab CI/CD
  • AI-assisted bug hunting and security pattern detectionnot GitLab CI/CD
  • Onboarding engineers into large unfamiliar codebasesnot GitLab CI/CD
  • Regulatory compliance and code audit trailsnot GitLab CI/CD

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

GitLab CI/CD

  • Compute minute quotas for Premium and Ultimate tiers not disclosed in documentation
  • Additional compute minutes beyond quota incur charges; exact pricing not specified

Sourcegraph

  • Enterprise pricing starting at $16k annually creates significant barrier for small teams
  • No free tier or standard plan published; all options require custom sales engagement
  • Complex enterprise-only positioning limits adoption compared to GitHub Copilot's pervasiveness
  • Requires indexing entire codebase; not suitable for small or ephemeral projects

Pricing, plan by plan

GitLab CI/CD

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 400 compute minutes per month for free tier namespaces
    • Linux x86-64 runners at 1x cost factor
  • Premium$null/tiered
    • Higher monthly compute minute quotas than free tier
    • Additional compute minutes available for purchase
  • Ultimate$null/tiered
    • Highest monthly compute minute allocations
    • Additional compute minutes available for purchase

Sourcegraph

$16000/year
  • Enterprise$16000/year
    • Scales with team size
    • Credits for AI features per user
    • Deep Search

Which should you pick?

Choose GitLab CI/CD if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose Sourcegraph if

  • You work on Cloud, Self-hosted.

Questions people ask

Is GitLab CI/CD or Sourcegraph better?
Neither clearly leads. GitLab CI/CD starts at Free and Sourcegraph at $16000/year, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, GitLab CI/CD or Sourcegraph?
GitLab CI/CD has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for GitLab CI/CD and $16000/year for Sourcegraph.
Does GitLab CI/CD or Sourcegraph run on more platforms?
GitLab CI/CD runs on Web. Sourcegraph runs on Cloud, Self-hosted.
Can I use GitLab CI/CD for free?
Yes. GitLab CI/CD has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Sourcegraph starts at $16000/year.
What is GitLab CI/CD best used for?
GitLab CI/CD is most often used for reducing open source project infrastructure costs with public project discounts, enforcing monthly ci/cd spending limits and quota notifications, allocating compute minutes to open source contributors affordably, forecasting ci/cd spending patterns across multiple projects. Of those, reducing open source project infrastructure costs with public project discounts and enforcing monthly ci/cd spending limits and quota notifications are not what Sourcegraph is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

GitLab CI/CD: How many GitLab CI compute minutes does the free tier include?

The free tier of GitLab CI includes 400 compute minutes per month for free tier namespaces on GitLab.com.

Source
GitLab CI/CD: What is the cost factor for different GitLab CI runner types?

Linux x86-64 small runners cost 1x; medium runners cost 2x; large runners cost 3x. macOS and Windows runners have cost factors of 6-12x and are in beta status.

Source
GitLab CI/CD: Do public open-source projects get discounts on GitLab CI compute minutes?

Public open-source projects receive a 0.5x discount on compute minutes. Public forks of GitLab open-source projects receive a 0.008x discount.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads