Softwr

Beauty · head to head

Envision vs Square

Envision logo

Envision

Beauty

Salon management software with integrated POS

From
$79/month
Rated
-
Square logo

Square

E-Commerce

Powering the economy

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Envision standard plan includes only 1 user and charges $20 per additional user up to a 5 seat cap; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
  • They diverge on capability: Envision covers Appointment scheduling, Square covers Payment processing.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Envision and Square actually diverge.

Attributes where Envision and Square differ
AttributeEnvisionSquare
Starting price$79/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWebPOS (Mobile app), Web
CategoryBeautyE-Commerce
Founded20082009

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Envision

  • Appointment scheduling
  • Inventory management
  • Client database
  • Staff scheduling
  • SMS reminders
  • Reporting
  • Stripe
  • Facebook

Only in Square

  • Payment processing
  • Invoicing
  • Payroll
  • Banking
  • QuickBooks
  • WooCommerce
  • Wix
  • PCI DSS

Both cover

  • Point of sale
  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Envision

  • Salon and spa businesses managing bookings, marketing campaigns and payments in one platformnot Square

Square

  • Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Envision
  • Online ordering and basic website creationnot Envision
  • Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Envision
  • Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Envision

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Envision

  • Standard plan includes only 1 user and charges $20 per additional user up to a 5 seat cap
  • No dollar amounts are shown for any plan; the page states pricing is tailored to your practice and requires contacting sales

Square

  • Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
  • Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
  • Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
  • Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included

Pricing, plan by plan

Envision

$79/month
  • Starter$79/month
    • Scheduling
    • Basic POS
    • Client management
  • Professional$159/month
    • Everything in Starter
    • Advanced POS
    • Inventory

Square

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
    • Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
    • Item library and inventory tracking
  • Plus$null/mo
    • All Free plan features
    • Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
    • Lower processing fees on card transactions

Which should you pick?

Choose Envision if

  • You need appointment scheduling.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Square if

  • You need payment processing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
  • You also want invoicing.

Questions people ask

Is Envision or Square better?
Neither clearly leads. Envision starts at $79/month and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Envision or Square?
Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $79/month for Envision and Free for Square.
Does Envision or Square run on more platforms?
Envision runs on Web. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
Can I use Square for free?
Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Envision starts at $79/month.
What is Envision best used for?
Envision is most often used for salon and spa businesses managing bookings, marketing campaigns and payments in one platform. Of those, salon and spa businesses managing bookings, marketing campaigns and payments in one platform is not what Square is typically brought in for.
What can Envision do that Square cannot?
Envision covers Appointment scheduling, Inventory management, Client database, Staff scheduling. Square covers Payment processing, Invoicing, Payroll, Banking. Both handle Point of sale, Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Envision: How much does Envision cost?

Envision does not publish pricing information on its website. The vendor directs customers to schedule a demo or use an ROI calculator to obtain pricing details.

Source
Square: Does Square offer a free plan?

Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.

Source
Square: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?

Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads