E-Commerce · head to head
Square vs Squire
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation; Squire booking fees of $1-3 per appointment add significant cost beyond subscription, increasing total cost of ownership
- They diverge on capability: Square covers Payment processing, Squire covers Online booking.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Square and Squire actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Square
- Payment processing
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
- EMV compliant
Only in Squire
- Online booking
- Walk-in queue
- Team management
- Instant payouts
- Client app
- Marketing tools
- Business analytics
Both cover
- Point of sale
- PCI DSS
- Web support
- Ios support
- Android support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Squire
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Squire
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Squire
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Squire
Squire
- Barbershop managementnot Square
- Walk-in handlingnot Square
- Team payrollnot Square
- Client bookingnot Square
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Squire
- Booking fees of $1-3 per appointment add significant cost beyond subscription, increasing total cost of ownership
- Limited to barbershops and beauty salons; not suitable for other service industries
- Walk-in and waitlist features only available on higher-tier plans, limiting functionality for drop-in appointments
- POS system tightly integrated; cannot use with alternative payment processors or systems
- Customer data locked into Squire platform with limited export options
Pricing, plan by plan
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Squire
$30/monthNo published plan breakdown. See the Squire review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Square if
- You need payment processing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want invoicing.
Choose Squire if
- You need online booking.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want walk-in queue.
Questions people ask
- Is Square or Squire better?
- Neither clearly leads. Square starts at Free and Squire at $30/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Square or Squire?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Square and $30/month for Squire.
- Does Square or Squire run on more platforms?
- Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web. Squire runs on Web, Ios, Android.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Squire starts at $30/month.
- What is Square best used for?
- Square is most often used for accept payments with all-in-one pos application, online ordering and basic website creation, invoicing and appointment booking, staff scheduling and loyalty programmes. Of those, accept payments with all-in-one pos application and online ordering and basic website creation are not what Squire is typically brought in for.
- What can Square do that Squire cannot?
- Square covers Payment processing, Invoicing, Payroll, Banking. Squire covers Online booking, Walk-in queue, Team management, Instant payouts. Both handle Point of sale, PCI DSS, Web support, Ios support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Square: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceSquire: What are Squire's pricing tiers?
Squire offers Pro plans starting at $30/month for independent barbers, Pro-Complete at $100/month for full shops, Executive tiers at $100-150/month, and Titan at $250/month. All include scheduling, POS, and customer management features.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceSquire: Does Squire charge booking fees?
Yes, Squire charges customers $1-3 per booking for online scheduling, in addition to the monthly subscription cost. This is a key cost factor beyond the base subscription.
SourceSquire: What integrations does Squire support?
Squire integrates with Square, QuickBooks, Google Calendar, and Stripe. It also offers an API for custom integrations and works with Zapier to connect to hundreds of other applications.
SourceSquire: What core features does Squire provide?
Squire includes online appointment scheduling, integrated POS system, customer relationship management, loyalty reward programs, promo codes, and automated text reminders.
SourceSquire: Does Squire support walk-in customers?
Yes, Squire supports walk-in booking through its waitlist feature, which is available on all plans except the basic Pro tier.
SourceSquire: Who founded Squire and how is it backed?
Squire was founded by Songe LaRon and Dave Salvant in 2016. The company raised $162M in funding as of February 2026 and achieved a $750M valuation in 2021.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Temu
- Square vs Vinted
- Square vs Klarna
- Square vs NCR Voyix
- Square vs Checkout.com
- Square vs SalonBiz
- Square vs Envision
- Square vs Kitomba
- Square vs Salon Ultimate
- Square vs Meevo
- Square vs Insight Salon Software
- Square vs SimpleSalon
- Square vs Genbook
- Square vs Salonist
- Square vs StyleSeat
- Square vs Bookeo
- Square vs Goldie
- Square vs Salonized
- Square vs SalonRunner
- Square vs SalonTarget
- Square vs Shedul
- Square vs Shortcuts Software
- Squire vs Stripe
- Squire vs KORONA POS
- Squire vs Heartland Retail
- Squire vs Shopkeep
- Squire vs Toast
- Squire vs BigCommerce
- Squire vs Medusa
- Squire vs Retail Pro
- Squire vs Magento
- Squire vs Squarespace Commerce
- Squire vs AliExpress
- Squire vs commercetools
- Squire vs Temu
- Squire vs Vinted
- Squire vs Klarna
- Squire vs NCR Voyix
- Squire vs Checkout.com
- Squire vs SalonBiz
- Squire vs Envision
- Squire vs Kitomba
- Squire vs Salon Ultimate
- Squire vs Meevo
- Squire vs Insight Salon Software
- Squire vs SimpleSalon
- Squire vs Genbook
- Squire vs Salonist
- Squire vs StyleSeat
- Squire vs Bookeo
- Squire vs Goldie
- Squire vs Salonized
- Squire vs SalonRunner
- Squire vs SalonTarget
- Squire vs Shedul
- Squire vs Shortcuts Software


