Softwr

Research · head to head

Elicit vs Scispot

Elicit logo

Elicit

Research

The AI research assistant

From
Free
Rated
-
Scispot logo

Scispot

Research

No-code lab operating system combining LIMS, ELN and inventory for biotech teams

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Elicit has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Elicit pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified; Scispot pricing is presented as four dollar sign bands with no figures, so a vendor whose marketing attacks competitor pricing opacity requires a discovery call before telling you its own numbers.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Elicit and Scispot actually diverge.

Attributes where Elicit and Scispot differ
AttributeElicitScispot
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWebWeb, API

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Research).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Elicit

Nothing recorded that Scispot does not also cover.

Only in Scispot

  • No-code configuration
  • LIMS and ELN together
  • Inventory management
  • Instrument integration
  • Audit trails and e-signatures
  • API and data layer
  • Validation support
  • Integrations

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Elicit

  • Screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviewsnot Scispot
  • Extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automaticallynot Scispot
  • Querying full-text papers using AI for custom literature analysisnot Scispot
  • Tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alertsnot Scispot

Scispot

  • A Series A biotech replacing a folder of spreadsheets before a partner or investor audit exposes the gapnot Elicit
  • A diagnostics company that needs sample chain of custody and electronic signatures without a year-long LIMS implementationnot Elicit
  • A contract research organisation configuring different workflows per client without buying a separate instance each timenot Elicit
  • A computational team that wants laboratory data queryable through an API rather than exported by handnot Elicit

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Elicit

  • Pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified
  • Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed; requires contacting vendor

Scispot

  • Pricing is presented as four dollar sign bands with no figures, so a vendor whose marketing attacks competitor pricing opacity requires a discovery call before telling you its own numbers.
  • Compliance capability is bundled into tier scope rather than itemised, which makes it hard to tell at purchase whether the tier you are quoted actually covers the Part 11 controls your auditor will ask for.
  • Validation remains your responsibility: the vendor supplies support and correctly states that no platform makes a lab compliant, but the documentation effort and its cost sit with your quality function.
  • It is a young and small vendor holding your primary scientific record, so business continuity, data escrow and full export guarantees need to be settled contractually rather than assumed.
  • Instrument integration breadth is narrower than the established LIMS vendors, so labs with older or unusual analysers may need custom connector work that undercuts the no-code promise.

Pricing, plan by plan

Elicit

Free
  • BasicFree
    • Limited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports
    • Unlimited search across 138+ million papers
    • Unlimited summaries and chat with papers
  • Pro$49/month
    • Standard usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Dedicated workflow screening up to 5,000 papers
    • Up to 20 table columns
  • Scale$169/month
    • 5x usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Figure extraction and interpretation
    • Real-time team collaboration
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • Custom usage limits
    • Unlimited alerts and up to 40,000 paper screening
    • Up to 40 table columns

Scispot

On request
  • Scispot$undefined/year
    • Custom annual pricing released after a discovery call
    • Four relative investment tiers shown only as dollar sign bands
    • Mid tier adds roles, e-signatures, approvals, audit trails and validation support

Which should you pick?

Choose Elicit if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose Scispot if

  • You need no-code configuration.
  • You work on Web, API.
  • You also want lims and eln together.

Questions people ask

Is Elicit or Scispot better?
Neither clearly leads. Elicit starts at Free and Scispot at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Elicit or Scispot?
Elicit has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Elicit and On request for Scispot.
Does Elicit or Scispot run on more platforms?
Elicit runs on Web. Scispot runs on Web, API.
Can I use Elicit for free?
Yes. Elicit has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Scispot starts at On request.
What is Elicit best used for?
Elicit is most often used for screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews, extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically, querying full-text papers using ai for custom literature analysis, tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alerts. Of those, screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews and extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically are not what Scispot is typically brought in for.
What can Elicit do that Scispot cannot?
Scispot covers No-code configuration, LIMS and ELN together, Inventory management, Instrument integration.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Elicit: Does Elicit offer a free plan?

Yes, Elicit's Basic plan is free and includes unlimited search across 138+ million research papers, unlimited summaries, chat with papers, source viewing, and Zotero import. Limited usage is included for Research Agent and Research Reports.

Source
Scispot: How much does Scispot cost?

It does not publish figures. The pricing page shows four relative investment tiers as dollar sign bands, with real numbers given after a discovery call.

Elicit: What is the difference between Elicit's Pro and Scale plans?

Elicit's Pro plan ($49/month) includes standard usage limits, dedicated screening of up to 5,000 papers, and access to 135 data sources. The Scale plan ($169/month) offers 5x higher usage limits, screening of up to 40,000 papers, figure extraction, team collaboration, and access to 200 data sources.

Source
Scispot: Does it support 21 CFR Part 11?

It can be configured for Part 11 controlled workflows with roles, e-signatures, approvals and audit trails from the mid tier, and it supports ALCOA+ principles. Validation of your configuration is still your responsibility.

Elicit: What security features does Elicit Enterprise offer?

Elicit's Enterprise plan includes single sign-on (SSO), SAML, two-factor authentication (2FA), PRISMA-grade screening and extraction accuracy, and a dedicated customer success team. Pricing is custom and requires contacting the vendor.

Source
Scispot: Is it a LIMS or an ELN?

Both, plus inventory, in one subscription rather than separately licensed products.

Scispot: Who is it not for?

Large regulated manufacturers with existing validated LIMS estates, and any lab that needs deep integration with an unusual analyser fleet.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads