Softwr

Backup · head to head

Duplicacy vs OwnBackup

Duplicacy logo

Duplicacy

Backup

Lock-free deduplication cloud backup

From
Free
Rated
-
OwnBackup logo

OwnBackup

Backup

Leading backup for Salesforce and SaaS platforms

From
$5/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Duplicacy has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Duplicacy web GUI pricing tier not specified on product page; OwnBackup own states its products are officially part of Salesforce, and routes pricing to Salesforce's Cloud Data Security page rather than publishing a figure of its own
  • They diverge on capability: Duplicacy covers Lock-free deduplication, OwnBackup covers Automated backup.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Duplicacy and OwnBackup actually diverge.

Attributes where Duplicacy and OwnBackup differ
AttributeDuplicacyOwnBackup
Starting priceFree$5/month
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsmacOS, Linux, WindowsWeb
Founded20162015

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Backup).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Duplicacy

  • Lock-free deduplication
  • Client-side encryption
  • Multiple computers
  • Erasure coding
  • Variable-size chunking
  • RSA encryption
  • AWS S3
  • Azure

Only in OwnBackup

  • Automated backup
  • Instant recovery
  • Proactive monitoring
  • Data seeding
  • Sandbox management
  • Compliance archiving
  • Salesforce
  • ServiceNow

Both cover

  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Duplicacy

  • Client-side encrypted cloud backupsnot OwnBackup
  • Lock-free deduplication for efficient backup storagenot OwnBackup
  • Multi-destination backup supportnot OwnBackup

OwnBackup

  • Data protectionnot Duplicacy
  • Disaster recoverynot Duplicacy
  • Business continuitynot Duplicacy
  • Ransomware protectionnot Duplicacy
  • Compliancenot Duplicacy

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Duplicacy

  • Web GUI pricing tier not specified on product page

OwnBackup

  • Own states its products are officially part of Salesforce, and routes pricing to Salesforce's Cloud Data Security page rather than publishing a figure of its own

Pricing, plan by plan

Duplicacy

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Duplicacy review.

OwnBackup

$5/month
  • OwnBackup$5/month
    • Daily backup
    • Instant recovery
    • Proactive monitoring

Which should you pick?

Choose Duplicacy if

  • You need lock-free deduplication.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on macOS, Linux, Windows.
  • You also want client-side encryption.

Choose OwnBackup if

  • You need automated backup.
  • You also want instant recovery.

Questions people ask

Is Duplicacy or OwnBackup better?
Neither clearly leads. Duplicacy starts at Free and OwnBackup at $5/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Duplicacy or OwnBackup?
Duplicacy has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Duplicacy and $5/month for OwnBackup.
Does Duplicacy or OwnBackup run on more platforms?
Duplicacy runs on macOS, Linux, Windows. OwnBackup runs on Web.
Can I use Duplicacy for free?
Yes. Duplicacy has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. OwnBackup starts at $5/month.
What is Duplicacy best used for?
Duplicacy is most often used for client-side encrypted cloud backups, lock-free deduplication for efficient backup storage, multi-destination backup support. Of those, client-side encrypted cloud backups and lock-free deduplication for efficient backup storage are not what OwnBackup is typically brought in for.
What can Duplicacy do that OwnBackup cannot?
Duplicacy covers Lock-free deduplication, Client-side encryption, Multiple computers, Erasure coding. OwnBackup covers Automated backup, Instant recovery, Proactive monitoring, Data seeding. Both handle Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Duplicacy: What is the cost of the Duplicacy command line version for commercial use?

The commercial license for Duplicacy's command line version costs $50 per machine per year. The CLI version is free for individual users.

Source
OwnBackup: How do I get pricing information?

Pricing is available through a demo request. The homepage directs visitors to 'Get a Demo' to discuss specific costs. Ownbackup (now Own by Salesforce) provides Backup & Recover, Data Security, Data Mask & Seed, and Archive products.

Source
Duplicacy: Is pricing available for the Duplicacy Web GUI edition?

No pricing information is provided for the Web Edition (GUI) on the Duplicacy website. You would need to contact [email protected] for Web Edition pricing details.

Source
OwnBackup: Can I access pricing without talking to sales?

No. The pricing page exists at salesforce.com but the homepage directs all interested buyers through the 'Get a Demo' sales contact process.

Source
Duplicacy: Are volume discounts available for IT service providers?

Yes, volume discounts are available for IT service providers and resellers. Contact [email protected] to discuss volume pricing options.

Source
Duplicacy: What backup modes and features are included in the free version?

The free version includes file, disk, partition, and system backup with full, incremental, and differential backup modes. It also offers scheduled backups, encryption, and emergency disk creation.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads