Softwr

Backup · head to head

Comet Backup vs Duplicacy

Comet Backup logo

Comet Backup

Backup

White-label backup software for service providers

From
$19/month
Rated
-
Duplicacy logo

Duplicacy

Backup

Lock-free deduplication cloud backup

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Duplicacy has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Comet Backup per-endpoint costs ($2/month per endpoint) can add up for large deployments with many protected machines; Duplicacy web GUI pricing tier not specified on product page
  • They diverge on capability: Comet Backup covers White-label branding, Duplicacy covers Lock-free deduplication.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Comet Backup and Duplicacy actually diverge.

Attributes where Comet Backup and Duplicacy differ
AttributeComet BackupDuplicacy
Starting price$19/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, macOS, LinuxmacOS, Linux, Windows
Founded20172016

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Backup).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Comet Backup

  • White-label branding
  • Bring your own storage
  • End-to-end encryption
  • Chunking deduplication
  • Delta compression
  • Multi-tenant
  • Wasabi
  • SFTP

Only in Duplicacy

  • Lock-free deduplication
  • Client-side encryption
  • Multiple computers
  • Erasure coding
  • Variable-size chunking
  • RSA encryption
  • Dropbox
  • OneDrive

Both cover

  • AWS S3
  • Azure
  • Google Cloud
  • Backblaze B2
  • Windows support
  • Mac support
  • Linux support
  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Comet Backup

  • MSP backup and disaster recovery solutionsnot Duplicacy
  • Cloud-to-cloud backup automationnot Duplicacy
  • Ransomware protection with immutable storagenot Duplicacy

Duplicacy

  • Client-side encrypted cloud backupsnot Comet Backup
  • Lock-free deduplication for efficient backup storagenot Comet Backup
  • Multi-destination backup supportnot Comet Backup

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Comet Backup

  • Per-endpoint costs ($2/month per endpoint) can add up for large deployments with many protected machines
  • Advanced and Enterprise tiers with additional management capabilities are significantly more expensive than base tiers
  • Platform-specific features (SQL, MySQL, MongoDB, Microsoft 365) have separate per-unit pricing

Duplicacy

  • Web GUI pricing tier not specified on product page

Pricing, plan by plan

Comet Backup

$19/month
  • Starter$19/month
    • 1 self-hosted license
    • Endpoint scaling at $2/endpoint/month
  • Growth$49/month
    • 2 self-hosted licenses
    • Primary/replica setups
    • Endpoint scaling at $2/endpoint/month
  • Advanced$99/month
    • 5 management console licenses
    • Audit logging
    • Air-gap management console
  • Professional (Cloud-Hosted)$49/month
    • 1 cloud-hosted console license
    • Endpoint scaling at $2/endpoint/month

Duplicacy

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Duplicacy review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Comet Backup if

  • You need white-label branding.
  • You work on Windows, macOS, Linux.
  • You also want bring your own storage.

Choose Duplicacy if

  • You need lock-free deduplication.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on macOS, Linux, Windows.
  • You also want client-side encryption.

Questions people ask

Is Comet Backup or Duplicacy better?
Neither clearly leads. Comet Backup starts at $19/month and Duplicacy at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Comet Backup or Duplicacy?
Duplicacy has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $19/month for Comet Backup and Free for Duplicacy.
Does Comet Backup or Duplicacy run on more platforms?
Comet Backup runs on Windows, macOS, Linux. Duplicacy runs on macOS, Linux, Windows.
Can I use Duplicacy for free?
Yes. Duplicacy has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Comet Backup starts at $19/month.
What is Comet Backup best used for?
Comet Backup is most often used for msp backup and disaster recovery solutions, cloud-to-cloud backup automation, ransomware protection with immutable storage. Of those, msp backup and disaster recovery solutions and cloud-to-cloud backup automation are not what Duplicacy is typically brought in for.
What can Comet Backup do that Duplicacy cannot?
Comet Backup covers White-label branding, Bring your own storage, End-to-end encryption, Chunking deduplication. Duplicacy covers Lock-free deduplication, Client-side encryption, Multiple computers, Erasure coding. Both handle AWS S3, Azure, Google Cloud, Backblaze B2.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Comet Backup: How much does Comet Backup cost?

Self-hosted plans start at $19/month (Starter) and go up to $99/month (Advanced), with cloud-hosted plans starting at $49/month (Professional). All plans charge $2 per endpoint per month for additional protected machines beyond the base license count.

Source
Duplicacy: What is the cost of the Duplicacy command line version for commercial use?

The commercial license for Duplicacy's command line version costs $50 per machine per year. The CLI version is free for individual users.

Source
Comet Backup: What is the price difference between self-hosted and cloud-hosted deployments?

Cloud-hosted plans start at $49/month (Professional) versus self-hosted which starts at $19/month (Starter). The main advantage of cloud-hosted is Comet manages the console infrastructure, though both models charge the same per-endpoint fees.

Source
Duplicacy: Is pricing available for the Duplicacy Web GUI edition?

No pricing information is provided for the Web Edition (GUI) on the Duplicacy website. You would need to contact [email protected] for Web Edition pricing details.

Source
Comet Backup: Does Comet Backup charge for additional protected machines?

Yes, all plans charge $2 per endpoint per month beyond the licensed endpoints. For example, the Growth plan includes 2 self-hosted licenses, but each additional protected machine costs $2/month.

Source
Duplicacy: Are volume discounts available for IT service providers?

Yes, volume discounts are available for IT service providers and resellers. Contact [email protected] to discuss volume pricing options.

Source
Duplicacy: What backup modes and features are included in the free version?

The free version includes file, disk, partition, and system backup with full, incremental, and differential backup modes. It also offers scheduled backups, encryption, and emergency disk creation.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads