APIs · head to head
Directus vs HTTPie

Directus
APIs
Open-source data platform providing REST and GraphQL APIs
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -

HTTPie
APIs
Command-line HTTP client with intuitive interface and syntax
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Directus free permissive use of the self hosted product is limited to organisations under $5M annual revenue with fewer than 50 employees, so crossing either threshold turns a free dependency into a paid licence; HTTPie the desktop application is in public beta rather than a finished release
- They diverge on capability: Directus covers REST API, HTTPie covers REST Client.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Directus and HTTPie actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (open-source), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (APIs).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Directus
- REST API
- GraphQL API
- Database management
- PostgreSQL
- MySQL
- SQLite
- Webhooks
- Node.js support
Only in HTTPie
- REST Client
- JSON support
- Colored output
- CI/CD
- Shell scripting
- Automation
- Linux support
- MacOS support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Directus
- Wrapping an existing SQL database in a REST and GraphQL API with an admin interfacenot HTTPie
- Running a self hosted headless CMS over a schema you already ownnot HTTPie
HTTPie
- Sending and inspecting HTTP requests from the terminalnot Directus
- A readable alternative to curl for API debuggingnot Directus
- Testing APIs through a graphical clientnot Directus
- Installing through apt, brew or pip in a development environmentnot Directus
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Directus
- Free permissive use of the self hosted product is limited to organisations under $5M annual revenue with fewer than 50 employees, so crossing either threshold turns a free dependency into a paid licence
- The free Core tier is a hard limit of 3 seats, 25 collections and 5 flows
- The Team plan is $499 a month billed annually, or $599 monthly, with extra seats at $50 each
- Team caps collections at 50, expandable to 100, and flows at 20
HTTPie
- The desktop application is in public beta rather than a finished release
- Pricing for the desktop and web products is not published, while the terminal client is free and open source
- The graphical versions are newer than the CLI, so parity between them is not guaranteed
Pricing, plan by plan
Directus
Free- CommunityFree
- Self-hosted Directus
- Community support
- Cloud$25/monthly
- Managed cloud
- Automatic updates
- Backups
HTTPie
Free- Open SourceFree
- Full HTTPie CLI
- Community support
- HTTPie for Web$10/monthly
- Web interface
- Cloud storage
- Team collaboration
Which should you pick?
Choose Directus if
- You need rest api.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Node.js, Cloud, Self-hosted, Docker.
- You also want graphql api.
Choose HTTPie if
- You need rest client.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Linux, MacOS, Windows, Web.
- You also want json support.
Questions people ask
- Is Directus or HTTPie better?
- Neither clearly leads. Directus starts at Free and HTTPie at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Directus or HTTPie?
- Directus starts at Free and HTTPie at Free.
- Does Directus or HTTPie run on more platforms?
- Directus runs on Node.js, Cloud, Self-hosted, Docker. HTTPie runs on Linux, MacOS, Windows, Web.
- Can I use Directus for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Directus best used for?
- Directus is most often used for wrapping an existing sql database in a rest and graphql api with an admin interface, running a self hosted headless cms over a schema you already own. Of those, wrapping an existing sql database in a rest and graphql api with an admin interface and running a self hosted headless cms over a schema you already own are not what HTTPie is typically brought in for.
- What can Directus do that HTTPie cannot?
- Directus covers REST API, GraphQL API, Database management, PostgreSQL. HTTPie covers REST Client, JSON support, Colored output, CI/CD.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Directus: What is Directus's pricing?
Directus Core is free and self-hosted. The Team tier costs $499/month (annual) or $599/month (rolling), including 10 user seats and cloud hosting at $99/month additional. Enterprise plans have custom pricing. Additional seats cost $50/month each.
SourceHTTPie: Is HTTPie free?
HTTPie for Terminal is open source and free. The Desktop and Web versions are in public beta, and their pricing model is not disclosed.
SourceDirectus: Can I use Directus for free?
Yes, Directus Core is completely free with 3 user seats, 25 Collections, 5 Flows, AI Assistant, and Advanced RBAC. Self-hosting is available at no cost.
SourceHTTPie: Can I use HTTPie for commercial purposes?
HTTPie Terminal is open source, but check the specific license (likely MIT, Apache, or GPL) to confirm commercial use is permitted in your jurisdiction.
SourceDirectus: How many user seats does each Directus tier include?
Core includes 3 user seats, Team includes 10 SSO seats, and Enterprise includes custom SSO seat counts. Additional Team seats cost $50/seat per month.
SourceHTTPie: What is HTTPie Desktop and how much does it cost?
HTTPie Desktop is an API testing client in public beta. Pricing is not disclosed on the website.
SourceDirectus: What happens to my monthly Directus plan if I switch?
Monthly plans are grandfathered for six months after switching, and annual plans are honored until renewal. Self-hosted licenses are handled case-by-case at renewal.
SourceHTTPie: Is there an HTTPie AI version?
Yes, HTTPie AI is mentioned as a product, but details about functionality and pricing are not provided on the main page.
SourceDirectus: Is there a free trial for Directus?
No trial period is mentioned. Users can start with the free Core tier immediately without a credit card.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Directus vs Appwrite
- Directus vs Hasura
- Directus vs PocketBase
- Directus vs Sanity
- Directus vs Parse Server
- Directus vs Strapi
- Directus vs Gravitee
- Directus vs Payload CMS
- Directus vs KeystoneJS
- Directus vs Tyk
- Directus vs Asyncapi
- Directus vs Hoppscotch
- Directus vs Janus Gateway
- Directus vs LiteLLM
- Directus vs Method Financial
- Directus vs curl
- Directus vs REST Client VSCode
- Directus vs Bruno
- Directus vs GraphQL Playground
- Directus vs Thunder Client
- Directus vs GraphQL Apollo
- Directus vs AWS API Gateway
- Directus vs Microsoft Azure API Management
- Directus vs Basis Theory
- Directus vs Boomi API Management
- Directus vs Codat
- HTTPie vs Appwrite
- HTTPie vs Hasura
- HTTPie vs PocketBase
- HTTPie vs Sanity
- HTTPie vs Parse Server
- HTTPie vs Strapi
- HTTPie vs Gravitee
- HTTPie vs Payload CMS
- HTTPie vs KeystoneJS
- HTTPie vs Tyk
- HTTPie vs Asyncapi
- HTTPie vs Hoppscotch
- HTTPie vs Janus Gateway
- HTTPie vs LiteLLM
- HTTPie vs Method Financial
- HTTPie vs curl
- HTTPie vs REST Client VSCode
- HTTPie vs Bruno
- HTTPie vs GraphQL Playground
- HTTPie vs Thunder Client
- HTTPie vs GraphQL Apollo
- HTTPie vs AWS API Gateway
- HTTPie vs Microsoft Azure API Management
- HTTPie vs Basis Theory
- HTTPie vs Boomi API Management
- HTTPie vs Codat
