Software Development · head to head
Cursor vs Inflection AI
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Cursor cannot work fully offline; AI features require internet connection; Inflection AI inflection AIs consumer product Pi is distributed as a free app with no subscription tiers or in-app purchases named in its App Store listing
- They diverge on capability: Cursor covers AI code completion, Inflection AI covers Personal AI.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Cursor and Inflection AI actually diverge.
| Attribute | Cursor | Inflection AI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Unknown | free |
| Platforms | Windows, Macos, Linux | Web, Ios, Android |
| Category | Software Development | AI |
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), founded (2022).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Cursor
- AI code completion
- Natural language editing
- Codebase chat
- Multi-file editing
- Code generation
- Bug fixing assistance
- Refactoring suggestions
- AI pair programming
Only in Inflection AI
- Personal AI
- Conversational interface
- Voice interaction
- Cross-platform
- Pi app
- Web interface
- Web support
- Ios support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Cursor
- AI-assisted codingnot Inflection AI
- Code generationnot Inflection AI
- Bug fixingnot Inflection AI
- Refactoringnot Inflection AI
- Learning new codebasesnot Inflection AI
- Rapid prototypingnot Inflection AI
Inflection AI
- ai tools managementnot Cursor
- Workflow automationnot Cursor
- Reportingnot Cursor
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Cursor
- Cannot work fully offline; AI features require internet connection
- Local models require requests to route through Cursor's backend, not true localhost support
- Free tier capped at 2,000 completions per month
- Codebase indexing uploads code chunks to compute embeddings, with file caching handled server-side
Inflection AI
- Inflection AIs consumer product Pi is distributed as a free app with no subscription tiers or in-app purchases named in its App Store listing
Pricing, plan by plan
Cursor
Free- HobbyFree
- 2,000 completions/month
- 50 slow premium requests
- Basic autocomplete
- Pro$20/month
- Unlimited completions
- 500 fast premium requests
- Composer multi-file editor
- Pro+$60/month
- 3x Pro limits on Agent requests
- Priority feature access
- Teams Standard$40/user/month
- All Individual Pro features
- Centralized billing
- SAML/OIDC SSO
Inflection AI
Free- FreeFree
- Access to Pi
- Unlimited usage
Which should you pick?
Choose Cursor if
- You need ai code completion.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Linux.
- You also want natural language editing.
Choose Inflection AI if
- You need personal ai.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want conversational interface.
Questions people ask
- Is Cursor or Inflection AI better?
- Neither clearly leads. Cursor starts at Free and Inflection AI at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Cursor or Inflection AI?
- Cursor starts at Free and Inflection AI at Free.
- Does Cursor or Inflection AI run on more platforms?
- Cursor runs on Windows, Macos, Linux. Inflection AI runs on Web, Ios, Android.
- Can I use Cursor for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Cursor best used for?
- Cursor is most often used for ai-assisted coding, code generation, bug fixing, refactoring. Of those, ai-assisted coding and code generation are not what Inflection AI is typically brought in for.
- What can Cursor do that Inflection AI cannot?
- Cursor covers AI code completion, Natural language editing, Codebase chat, Multi-file editing. Inflection AI covers Personal AI, Conversational interface, Voice interaction, Cross-platform.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Cursor: What's included in Cursor's free tier and what are its limits?
The free Hobby plan provides 2,000 completions per month and 50 slow premium requests, with access to basic autocomplete features. Codebase-wide indexing and the Composer multi-file editor are not available on the free plan.
SourceInflection AI: Is Inflection AI's Pi service free to use?
The website invites users to 'Try Pi' but does not disclose pricing details, whether there is a free tier, usage limits, or what happens after a trial period.
SourceCursor: Does Cursor require an internet connection to edit code?
While Cursor can open and edit files locally, its AI features including autocomplete, chat, agents, and codebase-aware reasoning require internet access to cloud-hosted models.
SourceInflection AI: Does Pi have a paid tier or premium features?
Pricing information is not published on Inflection's main website. Users must try the Pi platform or contact support to learn about premium options or costs.
SourceCursor: Can I use Cursor with local models running on my machine?
Cursor can integrate with local models, but requests still route through Cursor's backend for prompt building. True localhost mode without external endpoints is not supported. The paid plan ($20+/month) is required to use local models.
SourceInflection AI: What commercial terms apply to using Pi?
Inflection does not disclose subscription models, pricing tiers, commercial licenses, or terms of service on their homepage, directing questions to support channels.
SourceCursor: What privacy controls does Cursor offer?
Cursor offers Privacy Mode (enabled on paid Team plans) which prevents customer data from being used for model training, with zero data retention agreements with all AI providers. When disabled, Cursor may use codebase data to improve features.
SourceCursor: What are the differences between Pro and Pro+ plans?
Pro ($20/month) includes unlimited completions and 500 fast premium requests, while Pro+ ($60/month) provides 3x those request limits, priority feature access, and extended Agent capabilities.
SourceCursor: Does Cursor support SSO and on which plan?
SSO with SAML/OIDC is included on Teams Standard ($40/user/month) and higher plans, with full team administration and audit logs.
SourceRelated pages
More on Inflection AI
Other head to heads
- Cursor vs Zed
- Cursor vs Windsurf
- Cursor vs Amp
- Cursor vs Braintrust
- Cursor vs Devin
- Cursor vs Augment Code
- Cursor vs Baseten
- Cursor vs Cline
- Cursor vs Bun
- Cursor vs Factory
- Cursor vs Humanloop
- Cursor vs Langfuse
- Cursor vs Drizzle ORM
- Cursor vs Skaffold
- Cursor vs Pika
- Cursor vs D-ID
- Cursor vs Fathom
- Cursor vs Anthropic API
- Cursor vs ChatGPT
- Cursor vs Perplexity
- Cursor vs Copy.ai
- Cursor vs Play.ht
- Cursor vs Rytr
- Cursor vs Voiceflow
- Cursor vs Vellum
- Cursor vs AutoGen
- Cursor vs RunPod
- Cursor vs Veritone
- Cursor vs Writer
- Cursor vs Writesonic
- Cursor vs You.com
- Inflection AI vs Zed
- Inflection AI vs Windsurf
- Inflection AI vs Amp
- Inflection AI vs Braintrust
- Inflection AI vs Devin
- Inflection AI vs Augment Code
- Inflection AI vs Baseten
- Inflection AI vs Cline
- Inflection AI vs Bun
- Inflection AI vs Factory
- Inflection AI vs Humanloop
- Inflection AI vs Langfuse
- Inflection AI vs Drizzle ORM
- Inflection AI vs Skaffold
- Inflection AI vs Pika
- Inflection AI vs D-ID
- Inflection AI vs Fathom
- Inflection AI vs Anthropic API
- Inflection AI vs ChatGPT
- Inflection AI vs Perplexity
- Inflection AI vs Copy.ai
- Inflection AI vs Play.ht
- Inflection AI vs Rytr
- Inflection AI vs Voiceflow
- Inflection AI vs Vellum
- Inflection AI vs AutoGen
- Inflection AI vs RunPod
- Inflection AI vs Veritone
- Inflection AI vs Writer
- Inflection AI vs Writesonic
- Inflection AI vs You.com


