Softwr

Maritime · head to head

Clarksons vs Portcast

Clarksons logo

Clarksons

Maritime

World's leading shipbroker and data provider

From
$3000/month
Rated
-
Portcast logo

Portcast

Maritime

AI-powered container tracking and ETA

From
$500/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Clarksons no pricing published on website; Portcast pricing not published on homepage or dedicated pricing page
  • They diverge on capability: Clarksons covers Market intelligence, Portcast covers Predictive ETAs.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Clarksons and Portcast actually diverge.

Attributes where Clarksons and Portcast differ
AttributeClarksonsPortcast
Starting price$3000/month$500/month
Founded18522018

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), platforms (Web, Api), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Maritime).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Clarksons

  • Market intelligence
  • Fleet database
  • Freight rates
  • Research reports
  • API
  • Excel add-in
  • Data exports

Only in Portcast

  • Predictive ETAs
  • Container tracking
  • Exception alerts
  • Port congestion data
  • TMS platforms
  • ERP systems
  • Shipping lines

Both cover

  • Web support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Clarksons

  • Maritime brokerage and shipping servicesnot Portcast
  • Ship finance and leasingnot Portcast
  • Shipping market researchnot Portcast
  • Port services and operationsnot Portcast

Portcast

  • Real-time container and air cargo tracking across carriersnot Clarksons
  • Predicted ETAs and delay forecasting for ocean freightnot Clarksons
  • Port congestion monitoringnot Clarksons
  • Auditing freight invoices automaticallynot Clarksons
  • Feeding predicted arrival data into a TMS or ERPnot Clarksons

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Clarksons

  • No pricing published on website
  • Pricing model not disclosed
  • Enterprise maritime services requiring custom quotes
  • Multiple business lines (broking, finance, research, ports, tech) with different pricing
  • Direct sales contact required

Portcast

  • Pricing not published on homepage or dedicated pricing page
  • No free tier or trial information disclosed
  • Features and billing model not detailed publicly

Pricing, plan by plan

Clarksons

$3000/month
  • Shipping Intelligence Network$5000/month
    • Market data
    • Fleet database
    • Research reports

Portcast

$500/month
  • Professional$1500/month
    • AI-powered ETAs
    • Container tracking
    • Analytics

Which should you pick?

Choose Clarksons if

  • You need market intelligence.
  • You work on Web, Api.
  • You also want fleet database.

Choose Portcast if

  • You need predictive etas.
  • You work on Web, Api.
  • You also want container tracking.

Questions people ask

Is Clarksons or Portcast better?
Neither clearly leads. Clarksons starts at $3000/month and Portcast at $500/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Clarksons or Portcast?
Clarksons starts at $3000/month and Portcast at $500/month.
Does Clarksons or Portcast run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, Api, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is Clarksons best used for?
Clarksons is most often used for maritime brokerage and shipping services, ship finance and leasing, shipping market research, port services and operations. Of those, maritime brokerage and shipping services and ship finance and leasing are not what Portcast is typically brought in for.
What can Clarksons do that Portcast cannot?
Clarksons covers Market intelligence, Fleet database, Freight rates, Research reports. Portcast covers Predictive ETAs, Container tracking, Exception alerts, Port congestion data. Both handle Web support, Api support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Clarksons: How much does Clarksons charge for its services?

Clarksons does not publish pricing on its website. The company operates as a marine and shipping services provider with five business lines. Pricing is customized by service line and must be obtained by contacting Clarksons directly.

Source
Portcast: Where can I find Portcast pricing?

Portcast does not display pricing information on their website. They direct inquiries to Book a demo or Get in Touch options on their homepage for pricing and plan details. Source: https://www.portcast.io

Source
Clarksons: Which Clarksons division should I contact for pricing?

Clarksons has five business divisions: Broking, Financial Services, Research, Port Services, and Technology. Contact their specific department for pricing relevant to your needs.

Source
Portcast: Does Portcast offer a free trial or demo?

Portcast emphasizes booking a demo as the primary way to learn about features and pricing. No free tier details are described on their homepage. Source: https://www.portcast.io

Source
Portcast: Is Portcast supply chain visibility software priced per user or by usage?

Portcast does not disclose their pricing model publicly. Contact their sales team through their website's demo booking or contact form to discuss per-user, usage-based, or other billing options. Source: https://www.portcast.io

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads