Softwr

Video Production · head to head

Captions vs Inflection AI

Captions logo

Captions

Video Production

AI video editor that automates post-production at scale

From
Free
Rated
-
Inflection AI logo

Inflection AI

AI

Personal AI for everyone

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Captions credit rollover limited to 3x monthly maximum, forcing spending within quarters; Inflection AI inflection AIs consumer product Pi is distributed as a free app with no subscription tiers or in-app purchases named in its App Store listing
  • They diverge on capability: Captions covers AI Edit, Inflection AI covers Personal AI.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Captions and Inflection AI actually diverge.

Attributes where Captions and Inflection AI differ
AttributeCaptionsInflection AI
Pricing modelUnknownfree
CategoryVideo ProductionAI
FoundedUnknown2022

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web, iOS, Android), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Captions

  • AI Edit
  • Auto-Captions
  • AI Avatars
  • Eye Contact Correction
  • Background Noise Removal
  • Pause Trimming
  • Text-to-Edit
  • Royalty-Free Music

Only in Inflection AI

  • Personal AI
  • Conversational interface
  • Voice interaction
  • Cross-platform
  • Pi app
  • Web interface
  • Web support
  • Ios support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Captions

  • Rapid video production for social media content at scalenot Inflection AI
  • Converting long-form recordings into short-form clipsnot Inflection AI
  • Adding captions and translations for global audience reachnot Inflection AI
  • Cleaning up podcast and interview audio automaticallynot Inflection AI
  • Building library of branded videos with consistent stylingnot Inflection AI

Inflection AI

  • ai tools managementnot Captions
  • Workflow automationnot Captions
  • Reportingnot Captions

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Captions

  • Credit rollover limited to 3x monthly maximum, forcing spending within quarters
  • Free plan provides limited editing capability, requiring immediate paid upgrade
  • Minimum 3-day refund window and 10-20 percent credit usage threshold restricts refunds
  • Per-credit pricing model increases costs for high-volume video production
  • Enterprise plan requires custom negotiation with no transparent pricing

Inflection AI

  • Inflection AIs consumer product Pi is distributed as a free app with no subscription tiers or in-app purchases named in its App Store listing

Pricing, plan by plan

Captions

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Basic editing tools
    • Trim functionality
    • Transitions
  • Max$24.99/month
    • 500 AI credits per month
    • AI Edit styles
    • Digital twins and custom AI actors
  • Scale 1x$69.99/month
    • 1,400 AI credits per month
    • Everything in Max
    • Sophisticated generative AI model access
  • Scale 2x$139.99/month
    • 2,800 AI credits per month
    • Everything in Max
    • Sophisticated generative AI model access

Inflection AI

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Access to Pi
    • Unlimited usage

Which should you pick?

Choose Captions if

  • You need ai edit.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want auto-captions.

Choose Inflection AI if

  • You need personal ai.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want conversational interface.

Questions people ask

Is Captions or Inflection AI better?
Neither clearly leads. Captions starts at Free and Inflection AI at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Captions or Inflection AI?
Captions starts at Free and Inflection AI at Free.
Does Captions or Inflection AI run on more platforms?
Captions runs on Web, iOS, Android. Inflection AI runs on Web, Ios, Android.
Can I use Captions for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Captions best used for?
Captions is most often used for rapid video production for social media content at scale, converting long-form recordings into short-form clips, adding captions and translations for global audience reach, cleaning up podcast and interview audio automatically. Of those, rapid video production for social media content at scale and converting long-form recordings into short-form clips are not what Inflection AI is typically brought in for.
What can Captions do that Inflection AI cannot?
Captions covers AI Edit, Auto-Captions, AI Avatars, Eye Contact Correction. Inflection AI covers Personal AI, Conversational interface, Voice interaction, Cross-platform.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Captions: What is the price of the Max plan?

The Max plan costs $24.99 per month and includes 500 AI credits per month, AI Edit styles, digital twins, chat-based editor, and custom B-roll.

Source
Inflection AI: Is Inflection AI's Pi service free to use?

The website invites users to 'Try Pi' but does not disclose pricing details, whether there is a free tier, usage limits, or what happens after a trial period.

Source
Captions: How many languages are supported for captions?

Captions supports 100+ languages for auto-caption generation with 100+ caption style options.

Source
Inflection AI: Does Pi have a paid tier or premium features?

Pricing information is not published on Inflection's main website. Users must try the Pi platform or contact support to learn about premium options or costs.

Source
Captions: Can I use Captions on mobile devices?

Yes, Captions is available on iOS App Store and Google Play for mobile editing, along with the web-based editor.

Source
Inflection AI: What commercial terms apply to using Pi?

Inflection does not disclose subscription models, pricing tiers, commercial licenses, or terms of service on their homepage, directing questions to support channels.

Source
Captions: What does the Scale pricing tier include?

Scale plans offer 1,400, 2,800, or 5,600 AI credits per month at $69.99, $139.99, and $279.99 respectively, with everything in Max plus access to sophisticated generative AI models.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads