Web Development · head to head
Bolt.new vs Framer

Bolt.new
Web Development
Prompt, run, edit, and deploy full-stack web apps
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Bolt.new the free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month; Framer free tier limited to 500 credits and 1 GB bandwidth
- They diverge on capability: Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Framer covers Visual design editor.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Bolt.new and Framer actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Bolt.new
- Full-stack app generation
- Prompt-to-app creation
- Real-time editing
- Instant deployment
- Screenshot to UI
- Multi-framework support
- Live preview
- Code export
Only in Framer
- Visual design editor
- Interactive components
- Responsive design
- CMS integration
- SEO optimization
- Custom code
- Team collaboration
- Version control
Both cover
- Cloud deployment
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Bolt.new
- Rapid prototypingnot Framer
- MVP developmentnot Framer
- UI mockup creationnot Framer
- Full-stack app generationnot Framer
- Proof of conceptnot Framer
Framer
- Marketing websitesnot Bolt.new
- Landing pagesnot Bolt.new
- Portfoliosnot Bolt.new
- SaaS productsnot Bolt.new
- E-commerce sitesnot Bolt.new
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Bolt.new
- The free plan is capped at 300K tokens a day and 1M tokens a month
- Pro starts at 10M tokens a month for $25, so heavy sessions are metered rather than unlimited
- Team seats are billed at $30 per member per month and tokens are not pooled across the team
- Unused tokens roll over for one additional month only, so they expire after two
Framer
- Free tier limited to 500 credits and 1 GB bandwidth
- CMS collections capped at 10 on Pro tier; unlimited only on Enterprise
- Free tier does not include custom domain support
- Paid editor slots cost extra at $20/month per additional editor
Pricing, plan by plan
Bolt.new
Free- FreeFree
- Limited generations
- Basic templates
- Public projects
- Pro$20/month
- Unlimited generations
- Advanced AI models
- Private projects
Framer
Free- FreeFree
- 500 credits
- Free Framer domain
- 1 GB bandwidth
- Basic$10/month
- Custom domain
- 2 CMS collections
- 50 GB bandwidth
- Pro$30/month
- All Basic features
- 10 CMS collections
- 100 GB bandwidth
- Enterprise$undefined/custom
- Custom limits
- Unlimited editors
- 99.99% uptime guarantee
Which should you pick?
Choose Bolt.new if
- You need full-stack app generation.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want prompt-to-app creation.
Choose Framer if
- You need visual design editor.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Macos.
- You also want interactive components.
Questions people ask
- Is Bolt.new or Framer better?
- Neither clearly leads. Bolt.new starts at Free and Framer at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Bolt.new or Framer?
- Bolt.new starts at Free and Framer at Free.
- Does Bolt.new or Framer run on more platforms?
- Bolt.new runs on Web. Framer runs on Web, Macos.
- Can I use Bolt.new for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Bolt.new best used for?
- Bolt.new is most often used for rapid prototyping, mvp development, ui mockup creation, full-stack app generation. Of those, rapid prototyping and mvp development are not what Framer is typically brought in for.
- What can Bolt.new do that Framer cannot?
- Bolt.new covers Full-stack app generation, Prompt-to-app creation, Real-time editing, Instant deployment. Framer covers Visual design editor, Interactive components, Responsive design, CMS integration. Both handle Cloud deployment.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Bolt.new: Can I use Bolt for free indefinitely?
Bolt invites users to 'Try it out and start building for free', indicating a free option is available. However, the page mentions two tiers (Standard and MaxPro) and includes a '/pricing' link, suggesting paid plans exist. Specific details about free tier limits and paid pricing are not on the main page.
SourceFramer: What's included in Framer's free tier?
The Free plan provides 500 credits to try the platform, a free Framer domain, and 1 GB bandwidth for exploring the builder.
SourceBolt.new: What are the differences between Standard and MaxPro tiers?
The page mentions both 'Standard' (described as 'Recommended for general development') and 'MaxPro' tiers in feature comparisons, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or what qualifies as 'general development' vs. other use cases.
SourceFramer: Can I use my own custom domain with Framer?
Custom domains are included in Basic ($10/month) and higher plans. Free tier is limited to a free Framer domain.
SourceBolt.new: Are there usage limits on the free tier?
The page does not specify what limits apply to the free tier. To obtain detailed information about free tier limits and paid plan features, you would need to visit the dedicated pricing page.
SourceFramer: What AI features does Framer offer?
Framer includes an AI design agent that works on the canvas to generate and refine designs in real-time, plus a CMS agent for managing content directly on the canvas.
SourceFramer: How many CMS collections can I create on different plans?
Basic ($10/month) includes 2 CMS collections, Pro ($30/month) includes 10 CMS collections. Enterprise plans offer custom limits.
SourceFramer: Does Framer support staging environments and previews?
Staging environments and branching with previews are included on the Pro plan ($30/month). Standard plan includes published-only access.
SourceFramer: What uptime guarantee does Framer provide?
Framer offers 99.99% uptime guarantee on paid plans. Enterprise plans include dedicated support and custom SLAs.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Bolt.new vs Flask
- Bolt.new vs MySQL
- Bolt.new vs Django
- Bolt.new vs Next.js
- Bolt.new vs Remix
- Bolt.new vs SolidStart
- Bolt.new vs TanStack Start
- Bolt.new vs Ruby on Rails
- Bolt.new vs Nuxt
- Bolt.new vs Qwik
- Bolt.new vs Spring Boot
- Bolt.new vs Rollup
- Bolt.new vs Sass
- Bolt.new vs SolidJS
- Bolt.new vs v0 by Vercel
- Bolt.new vs Webflow
- Bolt.new vs Principle
- Bolt.new vs Rive
- Bolt.new vs Spline
- Bolt.new vs InVision
- Bolt.new vs Origami Studio
- Bolt.new vs Photopea
- Bolt.new vs Lunacy
- Bolt.new vs ProtoPie
- Bolt.new vs LottieFiles
- Bolt.new vs Proto.io
- Bolt.new vs Adobe XD
- Bolt.new vs Subframe
- Bolt.new vs Vectr
- Bolt.new vs Womp
- Bolt.new vs Zeplin
- Bolt.new vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Framer vs Flask
- Framer vs MySQL
- Framer vs Django
- Framer vs Next.js
- Framer vs Remix
- Framer vs SolidStart
- Framer vs TanStack Start
- Framer vs Ruby on Rails
- Framer vs Nuxt
- Framer vs Qwik
- Framer vs Spring Boot
- Framer vs Rollup
- Framer vs Sass
- Framer vs SolidJS
- Framer vs v0 by Vercel
- Framer vs Webflow
- Framer vs Principle
- Framer vs Rive
- Framer vs Spline
- Framer vs InVision
- Framer vs Origami Studio
- Framer vs Photopea
- Framer vs Lunacy
- Framer vs ProtoPie
- Framer vs LottieFiles
- Framer vs Proto.io
- Framer vs Adobe XD
- Framer vs Subframe
- Framer vs Vectr
- Framer vs Womp
- Framer vs Zeplin
- Framer vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite

