Softwr

Inventory · head to head

Asset Panda vs IBM Maximo Application Suite

Asset Panda logo

Asset Panda

Inventory

Flexible asset tracking platform

From
On request
Rated
-
IBM Maximo Application Suite logo

IBM Maximo Application Suite

Manufacturing

Enterprise asset management suite licensed by a shared pool of AppPoints rather than by named user

From
$3150/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Asset Panda no pricing published online; IBM Maximo Application Suite appPoints are consumed by users, applications and environments at once, so a routine decision like adding a test environment or enabling Health quietly eats pool capacity and can trigger a true-up nobody budgeted for.
  • They diverge on capability: Asset Panda covers Custom workflows, IBM Maximo Application Suite covers AppPoint pooling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Asset Panda and IBM Maximo Application Suite actually diverge.

Attributes where Asset Panda and IBM Maximo Application Suite differ
AttributeAsset PandaIBM Maximo Application Suite
Starting priceOn request$3150/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionPer year by AppPoint pool
PlatformsWeb, Mobile app, Cloud-basedWeb, Cloud, On-premise, iOS, Android, Linux
CategoryInventoryManufacturing
Founded2012Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Asset Panda

  • Custom workflows
  • Asset lifecycle
  • Maintenance tracking
  • GPS tracking
  • Salesforce
  • ServiceNow
  • Zendesk
  • Active Directory

Only in IBM Maximo Application Suite

  • AppPoint pooling
  • Maximo Manage
  • Maximo Health and Predict
  • Maximo Visual Inspection
  • Industry solutions
  • OpenShift deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Asset Panda

  • IT asset and device tracking through their lifecyclenot IBM Maximo Application Suite
  • Equipment and tool tracking across sitesnot IBM Maximo Application Suite
  • Scheduled inspections and maintenance workflowsnot IBM Maximo Application Suite
  • Fleet and facilities managementnot IBM Maximo Application Suite
  • Audit readiness and compliance reportingnot IBM Maximo Application Suite

IBM Maximo Application Suite

  • A transmission utility managing hundreds of thousands of linear and point assets with regulatory reporting that a mid-market CMMS cannot producenot Asset Panda
  • An airline or rail operator needing configuration control and maintenance history depth that survives a regulator audit going back yearsnot Asset Panda
  • A manufacturer wanting condition-based maintenance and work order execution in the same system rather than integrating a predictive tool to a separate CMMSnot Asset Panda
  • A defence or nuclear estate where the industry solution and long-term vendor viability matter more than the licence costnot Asset Panda

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Asset Panda

  • No pricing published online
  • Custom quote required; no standard rate cards published
  • Offers 7-day free trial but does not specify trial limits

IBM Maximo Application Suite

  • AppPoints are consumed by users, applications and environments at once, so a routine decision like adding a test environment or enabling Health quietly eats pool capacity and can trigger a true-up nobody budgeted for.
  • Pools are commonly sized from headcount rather than concurrency and application mix, and licence reviews frequently find them over-provisioned by a large margin, meaning organisations pay for entitlement they never consume.
  • Implementation, data migration, customisation and integrator fees routinely cost two to three times the first-year licence, so a business case built on the subscription figure will be materially wrong.
  • MAS requires Red Hat OpenShift, which for a customer-hosted deployment adds a container platform, its licensing and the specialist administration skills to run it, none of which the previous standalone Maximo needed.
  • Maximo is deep and slow to change; configuration is a specialist skill, upgrades are projects rather than updates, and organisations without a dedicated Maximo team end up permanently dependent on an implementation partner.

Pricing, plan by plan

Asset Panda

On request
  • Standard$50/month
    • 500 assets
    • 5 users
    • Standard support
  • Professional$100/month
    • 2500 assets
    • 15 users
    • Priority support
  • Enterprise$200/month
    • Unlimited assets
    • Unlimited users
    • Dedicated support

IBM Maximo Application Suite

$3150/month
  • Essentials (SaaS)$3150/month
    • Entry SaaS tier for a small user population
    • One production environment
    • Core Manage functionality
  • Standard (SaaS)$undefined/month
    • Larger AppPoint pool
    • Additional applications and environments
    • Priced on application
  • Premium (SaaS)$undefined/month
    • Full application set including Predict and Visual Inspection
    • Multiple environments
    • Priced on application
  • Customer hosted$undefined/year
    • AppPoint entitlement bought outright and run on your own OpenShift cluster
    • Infrastructure, OpenShift and administration costs are yours
    • Annual support and subscription contract required

Which should you pick?

Choose Asset Panda if

  • You need custom workflows.
  • You work on Web, Mobile app, Cloud-based.
  • You also want asset lifecycle.

Choose IBM Maximo Application Suite if

  • You need apppoint pooling.
  • You work on Web, Cloud, On-premise, iOS, Android, Linux.
  • You also want maximo manage.

Questions people ask

Is Asset Panda or IBM Maximo Application Suite better?
Neither clearly leads. Asset Panda starts at On request and IBM Maximo Application Suite at $3150/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Asset Panda or IBM Maximo Application Suite?
Asset Panda starts at On request and IBM Maximo Application Suite at $3150/month.
Does Asset Panda or IBM Maximo Application Suite run on more platforms?
Asset Panda runs on Web, Mobile app, Cloud-based. IBM Maximo Application Suite runs on Web, Cloud, On-premise, iOS, Android, Linux.
What is Asset Panda best used for?
Asset Panda is most often used for it asset and device tracking through their lifecycle, equipment and tool tracking across sites, scheduled inspections and maintenance workflows, fleet and facilities management. Of those, it asset and device tracking through their lifecycle and equipment and tool tracking across sites are not what IBM Maximo Application Suite is typically brought in for.
What can Asset Panda do that IBM Maximo Application Suite cannot?
Asset Panda covers Custom workflows, Asset lifecycle, Maintenance tracking, GPS tracking. IBM Maximo Application Suite covers AppPoint pooling, Maximo Manage, Maximo Health and Predict, Maximo Visual Inspection.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Asset Panda: How much does Asset Panda cost?

Asset Panda pricing is custom and based on organizational needs. No published rate is available; all pricing is provided via personalized quote.

Source
IBM Maximo Application Suite: Is Maximo still sold per user?

No. The Maximo Application Suite licenses a shared AppPoint pool consumed by users, applications and environments. Per-seat Maximo is the old model.

Asset Panda: Does Asset Panda offer a free trial?

Yes, Asset Panda offers a free 7-day trial. Specific usage limits for the trial period are not disclosed on the pricing page.

Source
IBM Maximo Application Suite: What does the entry SaaS tier cost?

The Essentials package starts around $3,150 per month for a small user population and one production environment. Larger tiers are quoted.

IBM Maximo Application Suite: Do non-production environments cost AppPoints?

Yes. Development, test and training environments draw from the same pool, which is the most common sizing surprise.

IBM Maximo Application Suite: Can I run MAS without OpenShift?

No. OpenShift is the deployment platform whether you host it yourself or consume MAS as a service from IBM.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads