Softwr

Research · head to head

Elicit vs Zotero

Elicit logo

Elicit

Research

The AI research assistant

From
Free
Rated
-
Zotero logo

Zotero

Research

Collect, organize, annotate, cite and share your research

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Elicit pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified; Zotero free account storage is limited; paid tiers start at $20/year for 2GB and reach $120/year for unlimited storage
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 28 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Elicit and Zotero actually diverge.

Attributes where Elicit and Zotero differ
AttributeElicitZotero
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Research).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Elicit

  • Screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviewsnot Zotero
  • Extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automaticallynot Zotero
  • Querying full-text papers using AI for custom literature analysisnot Zotero
  • Tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alertsnot Zotero

Zotero

  • Research paper and citation managementnot Elicit
  • Academic bibliography organizationnot Elicit
  • Cross-device synchronization of research materialsnot Elicit

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Elicit

  • Pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified
  • Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed; requires contacting vendor

Zotero

  • Free account storage is limited; paid tiers start at $20/year for 2GB and reach $120/year for unlimited storage
  • Sync and web access are optional add-ons layered on the core desktop app rather than included outright

Pricing, plan by plan

Elicit

Free
  • BasicFree
    • Limited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports
    • Unlimited search across 138+ million papers
    • Unlimited summaries and chat with papers
  • Pro$49/month
    • Standard usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Dedicated workflow screening up to 5,000 papers
    • Up to 20 table columns
  • Scale$169/month
    • 5x usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Figure extraction and interpretation
    • Real-time team collaboration
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • Custom usage limits
    • Unlimited alerts and up to 40,000 paper screening
    • Up to 40 table columns

Zotero

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 300 MB storage
    • Collaboration features at no cost
    • Group libraries for team use
  • 2 GB Storage$20/year
    • 2 GB storage
    • Synchronization of PDFs, images, web snapshots across devices
  • 6 GB Storage$60/year
    • 6 GB storage
    • Synchronization across all devices
  • Unlimited Storage$120/year
    • Unlimited storage
    • Full synchronization capabilities

Which should you pick?

Choose Elicit if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose Zotero if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Elicit or Zotero better?
Neither clearly leads. Elicit starts at Free and Zotero at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Elicit or Zotero?
Elicit starts at Free and Zotero at Free.
Does Elicit or Zotero run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Elicit for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Elicit best used for?
Elicit is most often used for screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews, extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically, querying full-text papers using ai for custom literature analysis, tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alerts. Of those, screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews and extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically are not what Zotero is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Elicit: Does Elicit offer a free plan?

Yes, Elicit's Basic plan is free and includes unlimited search across 138+ million research papers, unlimited summaries, chat with papers, source viewing, and Zotero import. Limited usage is included for Research Agent and Research Reports.

Source
Zotero: How much storage does Zotero's free tier provide?

The free tier includes 300 MB of storage for research materials, citations, and related files. Collaboration features in group libraries are available at no additional cost.

Source
Elicit: What is the difference between Elicit's Pro and Scale plans?

Elicit's Pro plan ($49/month) includes standard usage limits, dedicated screening of up to 5,000 papers, and access to 135 data sources. The Scale plan ($169/month) offers 5x higher usage limits, screening of up to 40,000 papers, figure extraction, team collaboration, and access to 200 data sources.

Source
Zotero: What are the pricing tiers for Zotero paid storage plans?

Zotero offers three paid storage tiers: 2 GB for $20 per year ($1.67 monthly), 6 GB for $60 per year ($5 monthly), and Unlimited storage for $120 per year ($10 monthly).

Source
Elicit: What security features does Elicit Enterprise offer?

Elicit's Enterprise plan includes single sign-on (SSO), SAML, two-factor authentication (2FA), PRISMA-grade screening and extraction accuracy, and a dedicated customer success team. Pricing is custom and requires contacting the vendor.

Source
Zotero: Do group libraries count against storage limits in Zotero?

Group library file storage draws from the group owner's personal storage account, not a separate quota. Collaboration in group libraries is available at no additional charge.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads