Softwr

Energy · head to head

Sunrun EnergyBase vs Uplight

Sunrun EnergyBase logo

Sunrun EnergyBase

Energy

Residential solar and energy management platform

From
On request
Rated
-
Uplight logo

Uplight

Energy

Customer engagement, rebate marketplaces and demand flexibility software sold to regulated utilities

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Sunrun EnergyBase no specific pricing published on website; mentions locked-in rates but does not disclose dollar amounts; Uplight the product assumes a regulated utility with commission-approved programmes, so competitive retailers and aggregators find much of the reporting and measurement machinery irrelevant while still paying for it.
  • They diverge on capability: Sunrun EnergyBase covers Solar design and simulation, Uplight covers Energy marketplace.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Sunrun EnergyBase and Uplight actually diverge.

Attributes where Sunrun EnergyBase and Uplight differ
AttributeSunrun EnergyBaseUplight
PlatformsWeb, MobileWeb, iOS, Android, API
Founded2007Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (quote), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Energy).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Sunrun EnergyBase

  • Solar design and simulation
  • Project management
  • Real-time monitoring
  • Customer portal
  • Financial analysis
  • Salesforce
  • Google Maps
  • SSL encryption

Only in Uplight

  • Energy marketplace
  • Personalised recommendations
  • Rates engagement
  • Demand response
  • Distributed energy resource management
  • Programme reporting
  • Home energy reports
  • OEM and device partnerships

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Sunrun EnergyBase

  • Residential solar salesnot Uplight
  • Energy managementnot Uplight

Uplight

  • A regulated utility that must deliver an approved energy efficiency programme and evidence the savings to its commissionnot Sunrun EnergyBase
  • A utility launching a residential demand response programme built on customer-owned thermostats and batteriesnot Sunrun EnergyBase
  • A utility moving customers onto time-of-use tariffs that needs enrolment journeys rather than a billing change alonenot Sunrun EnergyBase
  • A utility that wants rebates applied at the point of purchase instead of processing claim forms after the factnot Sunrun EnergyBase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Sunrun EnergyBase

  • No specific pricing published on website; mentions locked-in rates but does not disclose dollar amounts

Uplight

  • The product assumes a regulated utility with commission-approved programmes, so competitive retailers and aggregators find much of the reporting and measurement machinery irrelevant while still paying for it.
  • Procurement runs through long RFPs tied to rate cases and programme approvals, so implementation dates are set by a regulator rather than by the utility or the vendor and slip when filings slip.
  • The investor group of Schneider Electric, AES and Octopus Energy Group is made up of active energy market participants, which is a governance question a utility should raise in diligence rather than discover later.
  • The platform spans engagement, marketplace and demand management, and those capabilities were built or acquired separately, so a buyer taking one module gets less of the integration benefit than the platform story implies.
  • The reference base and product depth are strongest in North America, so a European or Asia-Pacific utility gets fewer comparable deployments and less functionality built around local market rules.

Pricing, plan by plan

Sunrun EnergyBase

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Sunrun EnergyBase review.

Uplight

On request
  • Uplight platform$undefined/year
    • Quoted per utility programme by customer count and modules
    • Frequently structured around approved programme budgets and performance targets
    • Marketplace economics include product fulfilment and rebate handling

Which should you pick?

Choose Sunrun EnergyBase if

  • You need solar design and simulation.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want project management.

Choose Uplight if

  • You need energy marketplace.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android, API.
  • You also want personalised recommendations.

Questions people ask

Is Sunrun EnergyBase or Uplight better?
Neither clearly leads. Sunrun EnergyBase starts at On request and Uplight at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Sunrun EnergyBase or Uplight?
Sunrun EnergyBase starts at On request and Uplight at On request.
Does Sunrun EnergyBase or Uplight run on more platforms?
Sunrun EnergyBase runs on Web, Mobile. Uplight runs on Web, iOS, Android, API.
What is Sunrun EnergyBase best used for?
Sunrun EnergyBase is most often used for residential solar sales, energy management. Of those, residential solar sales and energy management are not what Uplight is typically brought in for.
What can Sunrun EnergyBase do that Uplight cannot?
Sunrun EnergyBase covers Solar design and simulation, Project management, Real-time monitoring, Customer portal. Uplight covers Energy marketplace, Personalised recommendations, Rates engagement, Demand response.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Sunrun EnergyBase: How much does Sunrun EnergyBase cost?

Sunrun does not publish specific pricing for EnergyBase on its website. The company mentions predictable monthly payments with locked-in rates and add-on battery options available for as little as $0 down, but exact costs are not disclosed.

Source
Uplight: Who owns Uplight?

It is privately held and backed by Schneider Electric, AES Corporation and Octopus Energy Group.

Sunrun EnergyBase: How can I get a Sunrun EnergyBase price quote?

To obtain pricing details, interested customers must use the quote request form or contact a Sunrun solar advisor directly through the website.

Source
Uplight: Can a competitive energy retailer use it?

It can, but the product is designed around regulated programme delivery and measurement, so a retailer pays for machinery it does not need.

Uplight: Does Uplight do demand response as well as efficiency?

Yes. It acquired the AutoGrid distributed energy resource platform from Schneider Electric in 2024, which added device control and dispatch to the engagement business.

Uplight: Is pricing published?

No. Deals are quoted per programme and usually sized against an approved programme budget.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads