Softwr

Beauty · head to head

SalonRunner vs Square

S

SalonRunner

Beauty

Run your salon like a pro

From
$19/month
Rated
-
Square logo

Square

E-Commerce

Powering the economy

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: SalonRunner salonRunner is the underlying platform behind the flagship Rosy Salon Software brand, offered white-label through a VAR program (Internet Archive capture, 29 December 2021); no pricing figures were published; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
  • They diverge on capability: SalonRunner covers Online booking, Square covers Payment processing.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which SalonRunner and Square actually diverge.

Attributes where SalonRunner and Square differ
AttributeSalonRunnerSquare
Starting price$19/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidPOS (Mobile app), Web
CategoryBeautyE-Commerce
Founded20122009

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in SalonRunner

  • Online booking
  • Client management
  • Staff scheduling
  • POS system
  • Commission tracking
  • Mobile apps
  • SMS reminders
  • Marketing campaigns

Only in Square

  • Payment processing
  • Point of sale
  • Invoicing
  • Payroll
  • Banking
  • QuickBooks
  • WooCommerce
  • Wix

Both cover

  • Web support
  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

SalonRunner

  • Mobile salon managementnot Square
  • Client bookingnot Square
  • Staff coordinationnot Square
  • Payment processingnot Square

Square

  • Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot SalonRunner
  • Online ordering and basic website creationnot SalonRunner
  • Invoicing and appointment bookingnot SalonRunner
  • Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot SalonRunner

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

SalonRunner

  • SalonRunner is the underlying platform behind the flagship Rosy Salon Software brand, offered white-label through a VAR program (Internet Archive capture, 29 December 2021); no pricing figures were published

Square

  • Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
  • Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
  • Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
  • Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included

Pricing, plan by plan

SalonRunner

$19/month
  • Solo$19/month
    • 1 user
    • Online booking
    • Client management
  • Team$49/month
    • Up to 5 users
    • All Solo features
    • Staff scheduling

Square

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
    • Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
    • Item library and inventory tracking
  • Plus$null/mo
    • All Free plan features
    • Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
    • Lower processing fees on card transactions

Which should you pick?

Choose SalonRunner if

  • You need online booking.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want client management.

Choose Square if

  • You need payment processing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
  • You also want point of sale.

Questions people ask

Is SalonRunner or Square better?
Neither clearly leads. SalonRunner starts at $19/month and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, SalonRunner or Square?
Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $19/month for SalonRunner and Free for Square.
Does SalonRunner or Square run on more platforms?
SalonRunner runs on Web, Ios, Android. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
Can I use Square for free?
Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. SalonRunner starts at $19/month.
What is SalonRunner best used for?
SalonRunner is most often used for mobile salon management, client booking, staff coordination, payment processing. Of those, mobile salon management and client booking are not what Square is typically brought in for.
What can SalonRunner do that Square cannot?
SalonRunner covers Online booking, Client management, Staff scheduling, POS system. Square covers Payment processing, Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll. Both handle Web support, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Square: Does Square offer a free plan?

Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.

Source
Square: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?

Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads