Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Roomba vs Zigbee Alliance

Roomba logo

Roomba

Smart Home

iRobot's intelligent robot vacuum series

From
$399.99/one-time
Rated
-
Zigbee Alliance logo

Zigbee Alliance

Smart Home

Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Roomba limited promotional pricing detail (savings of $100 mentioned but exact promo terms not specified); Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
  • They diverge on capability: Roomba covers Smart Mapping, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Roomba and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.

Attributes where Roomba and Zigbee Alliance differ
AttributeRoombaZigbee Alliance
Starting price$399.99/one-timeFree
Pricing modelone-timeopen-source
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIOS, Android, WebZigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms
Founded19902002

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Roomba

  • Smart Mapping
  • Auto-Empty Base
  • Multi-Room Navigation
  • Dirt Detect
  • Alexa
  • Google Home
  • IFTTT
  • Smart schedules

Only in Zigbee Alliance

  • Low Power
  • Mesh Networking
  • Self-Healing
  • Scalable
  • Smart home devices
  • Hubs
  • Controllers
  • Integration platforms

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Roomba

  • Automated vacuuming and mopping of home floorsnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Scheduled cleaning managed through a connected appnot Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance

  • Smart lightingnot Roomba
  • Sensor networksnot Roomba
  • Home automationnot Roomba
  • Industrial monitoringnot Roomba

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Roomba

  • Limited promotional pricing detail (savings of $100 mentioned but exact promo terms not specified)
  • Financing through Affirm with variable APR up to 36% available

Zigbee Alliance

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.

Pricing, plan by plan

Roomba

$399.99/one-time
  • Roomba Electro Plus$399.99/one-time
    • Disinfecting floor cleaner
  • Roomba Plus 415 Combo$499.99/one-time
    • Vacuum and mop combo
    • Reduced from $599.99
  • Roomba Plus 515 Combo$599.99/one-time
    • Vacuum and mop combo
    • Reduced from $699.99
  • Roomba Plus 575 Combo$699.99/one-time
    • Vacuum and mop combo
    • Reduced from $799.99

Zigbee Alliance

Free
  • Open SpecificationFree
    • Low power mesh
    • Self-healing
    • Interoperable

Which should you pick?

Choose Roomba if

  • You need smart mapping.
  • You work on IOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want auto-empty base.

Choose Zigbee Alliance if

  • You need low power.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
  • You also want mesh networking.

Questions people ask

Is Roomba or Zigbee Alliance better?
Neither clearly leads. Roomba starts at $399.99/one-time and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Roomba or Zigbee Alliance?
Zigbee Alliance has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $399.99/one-time for Roomba and Free for Zigbee Alliance.
Does Roomba or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
Roomba runs on IOS, Android, Web. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
Can I use Zigbee Alliance for free?
Yes. Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Roomba starts at $399.99/one-time.
What is Roomba best used for?
Roomba is most often used for automated vacuuming and mopping of home floors, scheduled cleaning managed through a connected app. Of those, automated vacuuming and mopping of home floors and scheduled cleaning managed through a connected app are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
What can Roomba do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
Roomba covers Smart Mapping, Auto-Empty Base, Multi-Room Navigation, Dirt Detect. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Roomba: How much do Roomba robots cost?

Combo models range from $499.99 to $999.99. Roomba Max 715 vacuum is $699.99. Roomba Electro Plus disinfecting cleaner is $399.99. Current promotions save up to $100 on select combo models.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?

Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.

Source
Roomba: Are there financing options available?

Yes, Affirm financing is available with APR rates between 0-36%. Example: $700 purchase at 15% APR = $63.24 per month for 12 months.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?

Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.

Source
Roomba: What trade-in and discount programs does iRobot offer?

Trade-in program credits up to $195 for eligible used robots. New customers save 10% on first purchase with email signup. Free shipping on orders over $39.99. Price matching available on identical competitor models.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?

The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads