Softwr

No-Code · head to head

Appsmith vs Sensedia

Appsmith logo

Appsmith

No-Code

The open-source low-code framework

From
Free
Rated
-
Sensedia logo

Sensedia

APIs

Full lifecycle API management and integration platform

From
$1000/monthly
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Appsmith has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Appsmith the free cloud tier is capped at 5 users, 5 workspaces and 3 Git repositories; Sensedia specific pricing is not disclosed; enterprise custom pricing model requires direct contact with Sensedia.
  • They diverge on capability: Appsmith covers Drag-and-drop builder, Sensedia covers API Gateway.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Appsmith and Sensedia actually diverge.

Attributes where Appsmith and Sensedia differ
AttributeAppsmithSensedia
Starting priceFree$1000/monthly
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Self-hostedCloud, On-premise, Hybrid
CategoryNo-CodeAPIs
Founded20192007

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Appsmith

  • Drag-and-drop builder
  • Database integration
  • REST API
  • Workflows
  • Authentication
  • Custom code
  • Git integration
  • 100+ integrations

Only in Sensedia

  • API Gateway
  • Integration Platform
  • Real-time Analytics
  • SAP
  • Salesforce
  • AWS
  • Azure
  • Cloud support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Appsmith

  • Building internal admin panels over existing databases and APIsnot Sensedia
  • Self-hosting a low-code internal tool platformnot Sensedia
  • Custom CRUD dashboards for operations teamsnot Sensedia
  • Versioning applications through Gitnot Sensedia

Sensedia

  • API Developmentnot Appsmith
  • API Gatewaynot Appsmith
  • API Testingnot Appsmith
  • API Documentationnot Appsmith
  • Microservicesnot Appsmith

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Appsmith

  • The free cloud tier is capped at 5 users, 5 workspaces and 3 Git repositories
  • Workflows, custom roles and audit logs all require the Business plan at $15 per user per month
  • SAML and OIDC single sign-on need Enterprise, which starts at $2,500 a month with a 100 user minimum
  • Embedding an app privately is Enterprise only; the lower tiers embed publicly
  • Managed hosting is an Enterprise add-on rather than an included option

Sensedia

  • Specific pricing is not disclosed; enterprise custom pricing model requires direct contact with Sensedia.

Pricing, plan by plan

Appsmith

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Up to 5 users on cloud
    • 5 workspaces
    • 3 Git repos
  • Business$15/month per user
    • Up to 99 users
    • Unlimited workspaces and Git repos
    • Workflows and reusable packages
  • Enterprise$2500/month
    • Minimum 100 users
    • Unlimited users above 100
    • SAML/OIDC SSO

Sensedia

$1000/monthly
  • Starter$1000/monthly
    • API Gateway
    • Basic monitoring
    • Standard support
  • Professional$3000/monthly
    • Advanced analytics
    • Integration flows
    • Priority support
  • Enterprise$undefined/monthly
    • Custom deployment
    • Open banking modules
    • Dedicated support

Which should you pick?

Choose Appsmith if

  • You need drag-and-drop builder.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Self-hosted.
  • You also want database integration.

Choose Sensedia if

  • You need api gateway.
  • You work on Cloud, On-premise, Hybrid.
  • You also want integration platform.

Questions people ask

Is Appsmith or Sensedia better?
Neither clearly leads. Appsmith starts at Free and Sensedia at $1000/monthly, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Appsmith or Sensedia?
Appsmith has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Appsmith and $1000/monthly for Sensedia.
Does Appsmith or Sensedia run on more platforms?
Appsmith runs on Web, Self-hosted. Sensedia runs on Cloud, On-premise, Hybrid.
Can I use Appsmith for free?
Yes. Appsmith has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Sensedia starts at $1000/monthly.
What is Appsmith best used for?
Appsmith is most often used for building internal admin panels over existing databases and apis, self-hosting a low-code internal tool platform, custom crud dashboards for operations teams, versioning applications through git. Of those, building internal admin panels over existing databases and apis and self-hosting a low-code internal tool platform are not what Sensedia is typically brought in for.
What can Appsmith do that Sensedia cannot?
Appsmith covers Drag-and-drop builder, Database integration, REST API, Workflows. Sensedia covers API Gateway, Integration Platform, Real-time Analytics, SAP.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Appsmith: How much does Appsmith cost?

Appsmith offers a free plan for up to 5 users, a Business plan at $15 per user per month (up to 99 users), and an Enterprise plan starting at $2,500 per month for a minimum of 100 users with unlimited users available at that rate.

Source
Sensedia: How much does Sensedia cost?

Sensedia does not publish pricing on their website. The company offers custom pricing and supports 3 levels of support tailored to different business needs and complexity. Customers must contact Sensedia directly or schedule a demo to receive pricing.

Source
Appsmith: Does Appsmith have a free version?

Yes, Appsmith's Free plan provides access for up to 5 users with 5 workspaces, 3 Git repos, and community support at no cost. All plans offer unlimited apps.

Source
Sensedia: Does Sensedia offer a free trial?

Sensedia offers a free trial for API Management. Interested customers can request a trial through the Contact us or free trial links on their website.

Source
Appsmith: What does the Business plan include compared to Free?

The Business plan at $15 per user per month supports up to 99 users, provides unlimited workspaces and Git repos, includes workflows and reusable packages, premium integrations, custom roles, and access controls with email and chat support compared to the Free plan's community support only.

Source
Sensedia: What support levels does Sensedia provide?

Sensedia offers 3 levels of support tailored to business needs and complexity. Specific features and pricing for each support tier are available by contacting Sensedia directly.

Source
Appsmith: How are Appsmith users counted for billing purposes?

Appsmith counts any user who builds or edits applications as a standard user for billing. Developers and builders are treated the same as other users and all users count toward the per-user billing model without separate developer seat charges.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads