Softwr

Developer Tools · head to head

Ansible vs Pipedream

Ansible logo

Ansible

Developer Tools

Simple, agentless IT automation

From
Free
Rated
-
Pipedream logo

Pipedream

Automation Integration

Build reliable workflows in minutes, not months

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Ansible the open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform; Pipedream the Internet Archive's capture of Pipedream's pricing page on 26 December 2023 listed Free at $0/month (750 credits/mo, 3 active workflows, 3 connected accounts), Basic at $19/month billed annually (2,000 credits, 20 workflows), Advanced at $49/month billed annually (5,000 credits, unlimited workflows), and Business at $99/month billed annually (dedicated VPC, SSO); Enterprise is by contact only.
  • They diverge on capability: Ansible covers Playbooks, Pipedream covers Workflow builder.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Ansible and Pipedream actually diverge.

Attributes where Ansible and Pipedream differ
AttributeAnsiblePipedream
Pricing modelopen-sourceusage-based
PlatformsLinux, Windows, Mac, ApiWeb, Api
CategoryDeveloper ToolsAutomation Integration
Founded20122018

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Ansible

  • Playbooks
  • Inventory management
  • Module library
  • Variables and templating
  • Handlers
  • Roles
  • Async tasks
  • Plugins

Only in Pipedream

  • Workflow builder
  • Node.js scripting
  • Webhooks
  • Schedulers
  • Data transformation
  • Error handling
  • Analytics
  • Git integration

Both cover

  • AWS
  • Cloud deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Ansible

  • Configuration managementnot Pipedream
  • Server provisioningnot Pipedream
  • Application deploymentnot Pipedream
  • Multi-node managementnot Pipedream
  • Orchestrationnot Pipedream

Pipedream

  • Workflow Automationnot Ansible
  • Data Integrationnot Ansible
  • Process Automationnot Ansible
  • App Integrationnot Ansible
  • API Connectivitynot Ansible

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Ansible

  • The open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform
  • Event-Driven Ansible and the AI coding assistant are platform features rather than open source ones
  • Red Hat does not publish platform pricing
  • Running open source Ansible at scale means building the control plane the platform otherwise provides

Pipedream

  • The Internet Archive's capture of Pipedream's pricing page on 26 December 2023 listed Free at $0/month (750 credits/mo, 3 active workflows, 3 connected accounts), Basic at $19/month billed annually (2,000 credits, 20 workflows), Advanced at $49/month billed annually (5,000 credits, unlimited workflows), and Business at $99/month billed annually (dedicated VPC, SSO); Enterprise is by contact only.

Pricing, plan by plan

Ansible

Free
  • Open SourceFree
    • Community edition
    • Unlimited nodes
    • Full functionality
  • Ansible Automation Platform$5000/year
    • Enterprise support
    • Ansible Tower
    • Advanced features

Pipedream

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 100000 executions/month
    • 1000 sources
    • Community support
  • Pro$50/month
    • 500000 executions/month
    • Unlimited sources
    • Email support
  • Business$250/month
    • Unlimited executions
    • Priority support
    • Advanced features

Which should you pick?

Choose Ansible if

  • You need playbooks.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Pipedream if

  • You need workflow builder.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Api.
  • You also want node.js scripting.

Questions people ask

Is Ansible or Pipedream better?
Neither clearly leads. Ansible starts at Free and Pipedream at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Ansible or Pipedream?
Ansible starts at Free and Pipedream at Free.
Does Ansible or Pipedream run on more platforms?
Ansible runs on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api. Pipedream runs on Web, Api.
Can I use Ansible for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Ansible best used for?
Ansible is most often used for configuration management, server provisioning, application deployment, multi-node management. Of those, configuration management and server provisioning are not what Pipedream is typically brought in for.
What can Ansible do that Pipedream cannot?
Ansible covers Playbooks, Inventory management, Module library, Variables and templating. Pipedream covers Workflow builder, Node.js scripting, Webhooks, Schedulers. Both handle AWS, Cloud deployment.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Ansible: Is Ansible free for commercial use?

Ansible Collaborative is open source. The page describes it as 'an open source IT automation engine' and does not impose restrictions on commercial use for the open source version.

Source
Pipedream: What does Pipedream's free plan include?

The free plan provides access to Workflows and Connect for development purposes with limited active workflows and connected accounts. Development and testing workflows consume no credits.

Source
Ansible: What is the difference between open source Ansible and the commercial alternative?

The page references Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform as an enterprise alternative to Ansible Collaborative, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or feature comparisons between the two offerings.

Source
Pipedream: How does Pipedream's credit-based billing work?

Pipedream charges one credit per 30 seconds of compute time at the default 256MB memory level. Increasing memory to 512MB doubles the credit cost. Paid plans include a base monthly credit allotment plus a platform fee.

Source
Ansible: Is there paid support available for Ansible?

The page does not disclose whether paid support contracts are available for open source Ansible or whether Red Hat offers support plans for their enterprise Ansible Automation Platform.

Source
Pipedream: What actions and operations consume credits?

Action executions, tool calls via MCP, deployed trigger emissions, and Connect proxy requests consume credits. Free operations include listing apps, account management, and the first 30 seconds of public registry source executions.

Source
Pipedream: How is Pipedream's Connect feature billed?

Connect billing includes API usage charges for operations and compute, plus per-end-user charges based on unique external users connecting accounts, not the number of accounts.

Source
Pipedream: What happens if I downgrade my plan?

Plan downgrades take effect at the end of the current billing cycle, and the new plan's limits are enforced at that time. Cancellation also takes effect at the end of the current period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads