Databases · head to head
Aiven vs Ansible
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Aiven the free plan gives 1 VM with 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM and 1 GB storage, and cannot pick a specific cloud or region; Ansible the open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform
- They diverge on capability: Aiven covers Multi-cloud Support, Ansible covers Playbooks.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Aiven and Ansible actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Aiven
- Multi-cloud Support
- Automated Backups
- Seamless Upgrades
- VPC Peering
- End-to-end Encryption
- Compliance
- Observability
- PostgreSQL
Only in Ansible
- Playbooks
- Inventory management
- Module library
- Variables and templating
- Handlers
- Roles
- Async tasks
- Plugins
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Aiven
- Running managed open source databases without operating themnot Ansible
- Multi-cloud deployment across AWS, Google Cloud, Azure, DigitalOcean, OVH and UpCloudnot Ansible
- Highly available data services with automatic failovernot Ansible
- Prototyping on a small free instance before scaling upnot Ansible
Ansible
- Configuration managementnot Aiven
- Server provisioningnot Aiven
- Application deploymentnot Aiven
- Multi-node managementnot Aiven
- Orchestrationnot Aiven
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Aiven
- The free plan gives 1 VM with 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM and 1 GB storage, and cannot pick a specific cloud or region
- Free and Developer tiers have no integrations and no connection pooling
- Connection pooling, database forks and dynamic disk sizing need the Business or Premium plan
- A 99.99 percent uptime SLA starts at the Startup plan from $75 a month
- High availability with automatic failover starts at Business from $180 a month
Ansible
- The open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform
- Event-Driven Ansible and the AI coding assistant are platform features rather than open source ones
- Red Hat does not publish platform pricing
- Running open source Ansible at scale means building the control plane the platform otherwise provides
Pricing, plan by plan
Aiven
Free- Free TrialFree
- $300 credits
- 30 day trial
- All services
- Startup$19/month
- Single node
- Basic support
- Daily backups
Ansible
Free- Open SourceFree
- Community edition
- Unlimited nodes
- Full functionality
- Ansible Automation Platform$5000/year
- Enterprise support
- Ansible Tower
- Advanced features
Which should you pick?
Choose Aiven if
- You need multi-cloud support.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Aws, Azure, Gcp, Do.
- You also want automated backups.
Choose Ansible if
- You need playbooks.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api.
- You also want inventory management.
Questions people ask
- Is Aiven or Ansible better?
- Neither clearly leads. Aiven starts at Free and Ansible at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Aiven or Ansible?
- Aiven starts at Free and Ansible at Free.
- Does Aiven or Ansible run on more platforms?
- Aiven runs on Web, Aws, Azure, Gcp, Do. Ansible runs on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api.
- Can I use Aiven for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Aiven best used for?
- Aiven is most often used for running managed open source databases without operating them, multi-cloud deployment across aws, google cloud, azure, digitalocean, ovh and upcloud, highly available data services with automatic failover, prototyping on a small free instance before scaling up. Of those, running managed open source databases without operating them and multi-cloud deployment across aws, google cloud, azure, digitalocean, ovh and upcloud are not what Ansible is typically brought in for.
- What can Aiven do that Ansible cannot?
- Aiven covers Multi-cloud Support, Automated Backups, Seamless Upgrades, VPC Peering. Ansible covers Playbooks, Inventory management, Module library, Variables and templating.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Aiven: What does Aiven's free tier include and does it have any time limit?
The free tier includes PostgreSQL with 1 VM, 1 CPU, 1 GB RAM, and 1 GB storage with access to limited cloud and region selections. There are no time limitations on the free tier, though Aiven reserves the right to shut down accounts that violate policies or remain unused for extended periods.
SourceAnsible: Is Ansible free for commercial use?
Ansible Collaborative is open source. The page describes it as 'an open source IT automation engine' and does not impose restrictions on commercial use for the open source version.
SourceAiven: How is Aiven billed and what are the monthly costs for each tier?
Aiven bills services by the hour and invoices monthly, charging only for what you actually run. PostgreSQL pricing starts at 5 dollars per month for Developer, 12 dollars per month for Hobbyist, 75 dollars per month for Startup, 180 dollars per month for Business, and 270 dollars per month for Premium. All paid tiers offer hourly billing options as well.
SourceAnsible: What is the difference between open source Ansible and the commercial alternative?
The page references Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform as an enterprise alternative to Ansible Collaborative, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or feature comparisons between the two offerings.
SourceAiven: What backup retention periods are included at different Aiven tiers?
Backup retention increases with tier level: Startup tier provides 2 days of backup retention, Business tier offers 14 days, and Premium tier includes 30 days. Point-in-time restore is available on all paid tiers.
SourceAnsible: Is there paid support available for Ansible?
The page does not disclose whether paid support contracts are available for open source Ansible or whether Red Hat offers support plans for their enterprise Ansible Automation Platform.
SourceAiven: Is high availability included in Aiven pricing or charged separately?
High availability, backups, and routine maintenance are all included in the tier costs with no separate charges. The Business tier includes 2 VMs with automatic failover, and Premium includes 3 VMs with a second standby node.
SourceAiven: Does Aiven offer a trial period to test premium features?
Aiven offers a 30-day free trial to access premium features beyond what the free plan provides.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Aiven vs PostgreSQL
- Aiven vs Instaclustr
- Aiven vs Amazon Aurora
- Aiven vs Cockroach Labs
- Aiven vs Airtable
- Aiven vs Google Cloud SQL
- Aiven vs Apache Kafka
- Aiven vs RabbitMQ
- Aiven vs Azure SQL
- Aiven vs MariaDB
- Aiven vs LanceDB
- Aiven vs Marqo
- Aiven vs Nile
- Aiven vs Ninox
- Aiven vs Presto
- Aiven vs Privacera
- Aiven vs Amazon RDS
- Aiven vs Apache Flink
- Aiven vs Visual Studio Code
- Aiven vs Nix
- Aiven vs pnpm
- Aiven vs ESLint
- Aiven vs Turborepo
- Aiven vs Garden
- Aiven vs Penpot
- Aiven vs Bazel
- Aiven vs Depot
- Aiven vs Pants Build
- Aiven vs Helix
- Aiven vs Backstage
- Aiven vs Spacelift
- Aiven vs Argo CD
- Aiven vs Atlantis
- Aiven vs Blacksmith
- Aiven vs Coder
- Ansible vs PostgreSQL
- Ansible vs Instaclustr
- Ansible vs Amazon Aurora
- Ansible vs Cockroach Labs
- Ansible vs Airtable
- Ansible vs Google Cloud SQL
- Ansible vs Apache Kafka
- Ansible vs RabbitMQ
- Ansible vs Azure SQL
- Ansible vs MariaDB
- Ansible vs LanceDB
- Ansible vs Marqo
- Ansible vs Nile
- Ansible vs Ninox
- Ansible vs Presto
- Ansible vs Privacera
- Ansible vs Amazon RDS
- Ansible vs Apache Flink
- Ansible vs Visual Studio Code
- Ansible vs Nix
- Ansible vs pnpm
- Ansible vs ESLint
- Ansible vs Turborepo
- Ansible vs Garden
- Ansible vs Penpot
- Ansible vs Bazel
- Ansible vs Depot
- Ansible vs Pants Build
- Ansible vs Helix
- Ansible vs Backstage
- Ansible vs Spacelift
- Ansible vs Argo CD
- Ansible vs Atlantis
- Ansible vs Blacksmith
- Ansible vs Coder


