Softwr

Parenting · head to head

FamilyWall vs Greenlight

FamilyWall logo

FamilyWall

Parenting

Private family network for organizing and sharing

From
Free
Rated
-
Greenlight logo

Greenlight

Parenting

The family finance app for modern families

From
$5.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only FamilyWall has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: FamilyWall budget tracking, meal planning, family document storage and schedule management are Premium only; Greenlight family plan capped at five kids maximum; larger families require external solutions
  • They diverge on capability: FamilyWall covers Private family network, Greenlight covers Debit cards for kids.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which FamilyWall and Greenlight actually diverge.

Attributes where FamilyWall and Greenlight differ
AttributeFamilyWallGreenlight
Starting priceFree$5.99/month
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidiOS, Android
Founded20122014

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Parenting).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in FamilyWall

  • Private family network
  • Shared calendar
  • Real-time location sharing
  • Location history
  • Family messaging
  • Photo sharing
  • Shopping lists
  • Chore assignment

Only in Greenlight

  • Debit cards for kids
  • Store-level spending controls
  • Chores & allowance
  • Automatic allowance
  • Savings goals with interest
  • Investing for kids
  • Real-time notifications
  • Financial education

Both cover

  • Cloud deployment
  • Web support
  • Ios support
  • Android support
  • English language support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

FamilyWall

  • Running a shared colour-coded family calendar across phones and the webnot Greenlight
  • Keeping shared shopping, chore and to-do lists for a householdnot Greenlight
  • Planning meals and tracking family expenses on the Premium plannot Greenlight

Greenlight

  • Families teaching financial literacy through automated allowance and chore trackingnot FamilyWall
  • Parents seeking real-time spending notifications and location safety for childrennot FamilyWall
  • Households wanting youth investment accounts with parent-directed stock picksnot FamilyWall

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

FamilyWall

  • Budget tracking, meal planning, family document storage and schedule management are Premium only
  • Google and Outlook calendar sync and subscribing to a calendar by URL are Premium only
  • Locating family members and arrival or departure notifications are Premium only
  • Premium storage is capped at 25 GB
  • Premium costs 4.99 USD per month or 44.99 USD per year in the US and Canada, with other countries priced only in-app
  • Premium features apply only to the first 5 circles created
  • The Premium subscription renews automatically unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24 hours before the period ends
  • Any unused part of the 30-day free trial is forfeited when a subscription is purchased

Greenlight

  • Family plan capped at five kids maximum; larger families require external solutions
  • Investment advisory through Greenlight Investment Advisors not FDIC-insured; subject to market risk
  • Safety features depend on 'sensory and motion data from cell phone'; requires always-on location tracking
  • Risk-free trial valid for new customers only and requires identity verification and minimum load requirements
  • Specific minimum age requirements not published on website; requires account creation to determine eligibility

Pricing, plan by plan

FamilyWall

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Shared calendar
    • Location sharing
    • Family messaging
  • Premium$4.99/month
    • Everything in Free
    • Unlimited members
    • Location history

Greenlight

$5.99/month

No published plan breakdown. See the Greenlight review.

Which should you pick?

Choose FamilyWall if

  • You need private family network.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want shared calendar.

Choose Greenlight if

  • You need debit cards for kids.
  • You work on iOS, Android.
  • You also want store-level spending controls.

Questions people ask

Is FamilyWall or Greenlight better?
Neither clearly leads. FamilyWall starts at Free and Greenlight at $5.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, FamilyWall or Greenlight?
FamilyWall has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for FamilyWall and $5.99/month for Greenlight.
Does FamilyWall or Greenlight run on more platforms?
FamilyWall runs on Web, Ios, Android. Greenlight runs on iOS, Android.
Can I use FamilyWall for free?
Yes. FamilyWall has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Greenlight starts at $5.99/month.
What is FamilyWall best used for?
FamilyWall is most often used for running a shared colour-coded family calendar across phones and the web, keeping shared shopping, chore and to-do lists for a household, planning meals and tracking family expenses on the premium plan. Of those, running a shared colour-coded family calendar across phones and the web and keeping shared shopping, chore and to-do lists for a household are not what Greenlight is typically brought in for.
What can FamilyWall do that Greenlight cannot?
FamilyWall covers Private family network, Shared calendar, Real-time location sharing, Location history. Greenlight covers Debit cards for kids, Store-level spending controls, Chores & allowance, Automatic allowance. Both handle Cloud deployment, Web support, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

FamilyWall: Is FamilyWall free to download?

Yes. FamilyWall can be downloaded for free and includes core features designed for families. The app also offers Premium features, but pricing for Premium is not published on the website.

Source
Greenlight: How much does Greenlight cost?

Greenlight plans start at $5.99/month for the whole family, including up to five kids. Multiple tiers exist (Core, Max, Infinity, Family Shield) but complete pricing is not publicly detailed.

Source
FamilyWall: What does FamilyWall Premium include?

FamilyWall offers a Premium tier with features including Budget and Meal Planner functionality, but specific Premium pricing is not disclosed on the website.

Source
Greenlight: Does Greenlight offer a free trial?

Yes. Greenlight offers a 7-day risk-free trial period for new customers. Your first monthly fee is billed 7 days after registration, and you can request a refund if you cancel before the next billing date.

Source
Greenlight: What interest rates do Greenlight tiers offer?

Different Greenlight tiers offer varying savings interest rates ranging from 2% to 6% annually, though complete tier-by-tier pricing is not disclosed on the public website.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads