Accounting · head to head
Chargebee vs Square
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Chargebee priced as a percentage of billing, 0.80 percent on pay-as-you-go or 0.65 percent plus $99 a month on the committed plan, so the fee rises with revenue; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- They diverge on capability: Chargebee covers Subscription management, Square covers Payment processing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Chargebee and Square actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Chargebee
- Subscription management
- Recurring billing
- Revenue recognition
- Dunning management
- Checkout pages
- Stripe
- PayPal
- Salesforce
Only in Square
- Payment processing
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
Both cover
- PCI DSS
- Web support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Chargebee
- Subscription billingnot Square
- Revenue operationsnot Square
- Pricing experimentationnot Square
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Chargebee
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Chargebee
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Chargebee
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Chargebee
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Chargebee
- Priced as a percentage of billing, 0.80 percent on pay-as-you-go or 0.65 percent plus $99 a month on the committed plan, so the fee rises with revenue
- Split into four separate product lines, Billing, CPQ, RevRec and Growth, each with its own tiers and most quote-only
- CPQ Lite is free only for the first 50 quotes
- Revenue recognition pricing is demo-only
- Enterprise Plus requires an annual commitment
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Pricing, plan by plan
Chargebee
Free- Flow (Billing)Free
- Usage-based billing: $0.80% for first $20K invoicing volume
- Then $99 + 0.65% for higher volumes
- Includes 100M usage events per month
- CPQ LiteFree
- Free for first 50 quotes
- Growth (Starter)Free
- Free exclusively for Chargebee Billing customers
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Which should you pick?
Choose Chargebee if
- You need subscription management.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Api.
- You also want recurring billing.
Choose Square if
- You need payment processing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want point of sale.
Questions people ask
- Is Chargebee or Square better?
- Neither clearly leads. Chargebee starts at Free and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Chargebee or Square?
- Chargebee starts at Free and Square at Free.
- Does Chargebee or Square run on more platforms?
- Chargebee runs on Web, Api. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- Can I use Chargebee for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Chargebee best used for?
- Chargebee is most often used for subscription billing, revenue operations, pricing experimentation. Of those, subscription billing and revenue operations are not what Square is typically brought in for.
- What can Chargebee do that Square cannot?
- Chargebee covers Subscription management, Recurring billing, Revenue recognition, Dunning management. Square covers Payment processing, Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll. Both handle PCI DSS, Web support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Chargebee: What does Chargebee Billing cost?
Chargebee Billing (Flow plan) starts free with usage-based fees: 0.80% for the first $20K in monthly invoicing volume, then $99 monthly + 0.65% for higher volumes. Includes 100M usage events per month.
SourceSquare: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceChargebee: Can I try Chargebee for free?
Yes. Chargebee Billing Flow plan starts at $0 with usage-based fees. CPQ Lite is free for the first 50 quotes. Growth (Starter) is free for Chargebee Billing customers.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceChargebee: How much does Chargebee's advanced modules cost?
RevRec and Enterprise CPQ require booking a demo or requesting a quote. No list pricing is published for these modules.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Chargebee vs Ramp
- Chargebee vs Airbase
- Chargebee vs Maxio
- Chargebee vs QuickBooks
- Chargebee vs Melio
- Chargebee vs Zuora
- Chargebee vs Orb
- Chargebee vs Recurly
- Chargebee vs Creem
- Chargebee vs Tipalti
- Chargebee vs Paddle
- Chargebee vs Lago
- Chargebee vs Dodo Payments
- Chargebee vs Empower
- Chargebee vs Fakturoid
- Chargebee vs Fiken
- Chargebee vs Fortnox
- Chargebee vs FreeAgent
- Chargebee vs Stripe
- Chargebee vs KORONA POS
- Chargebee vs Heartland Retail
- Chargebee vs Shopkeep
- Chargebee vs Toast
- Chargebee vs BigCommerce
- Chargebee vs Medusa
- Chargebee vs Retail Pro
- Chargebee vs Magento
- Chargebee vs Squarespace Commerce
- Chargebee vs AliExpress
- Chargebee vs commercetools
- Chargebee vs Depop
- Chargebee vs Mercari
- Chargebee vs Poshmark
- Chargebee vs Shein
- Chargebee vs Temu
- Square vs Ramp
- Square vs Airbase
- Square vs Maxio
- Square vs QuickBooks
- Square vs Melio
- Square vs Zuora
- Square vs Orb
- Square vs Recurly
- Square vs Creem
- Square vs Tipalti
- Square vs Paddle
- Square vs Lago
- Square vs Dodo Payments
- Square vs Empower
- Square vs Fakturoid
- Square vs Fiken
- Square vs Fortnox
- Square vs FreeAgent
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Depop
- Square vs Mercari
- Square vs Poshmark
- Square vs Shein
- Square vs Temu


