Developer Tools · head to head
Ansible vs GoLand

GoLand
Developer Tools
JetBrains IDE for developing applications in Go
- From
- $24/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Ansible has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Ansible the open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform; GoLand requires a paid subscription with no permanently free tier for commercial use.
- They diverge on capability: Ansible covers Playbooks, GoLand covers Smart code completion.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Ansible and GoLand actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Developer Tools).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Ansible
- Playbooks
- Inventory management
- Module library
- Variables and templating
- Handlers
- Roles
- Async tasks
- Plugins
Only in GoLand
- Smart code completion
- Integrated debugger
- Refactoring tools
- Version control integration
- Docker and Kubernetes support
- Built-in terminal and database tools
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Ansible
- Configuration managementnot GoLand
- Server provisioningnot GoLand
- Application deploymentnot GoLand
- Multi-node managementnot GoLand
- Orchestrationnot GoLand
GoLand
- Developing Go microservices and backend systemsnot Ansible
- Debugging and profiling Go applicationsnot Ansible
- Working with Docker and Kubernetes deploymentsnot Ansible
- Refactoring large Go codebasesnot Ansible
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Ansible
- The open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform
- Event-Driven Ansible and the AI coding assistant are platform features rather than open source ones
- Red Hat does not publish platform pricing
- Running open source Ansible at scale means building the control plane the platform otherwise provides
GoLand
- Requires a paid subscription with no permanently free tier for commercial use.
- Heavier resource usage than lightweight text editors like Vim or Sublime Text.
- Primarily optimized for Go, so multi-language teams may prefer a broader IDE like VS Code or IntelliJ Ultimate.
- License renewal pricing increases after the first year if a subscription lapses.
Pricing, plan by plan
Ansible
Free- Open SourceFree
- Community edition
- Unlimited nodes
- Full functionality
- Ansible Automation Platform$5000/year
- Enterprise support
- Ansible Tower
- Advanced features
GoLand
$24/month- Individual$24/month
- Personal use license
- Access to GoLand
- Free for students and open-source maintainers
- Organization$34/month
- Business use license
- Access to GoLand
- Volume and renewal discounts
Which should you pick?
Choose Ansible if
- You need playbooks.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api.
- You also want inventory management.
Choose GoLand if
- You need smart code completion.
- You work on windows, mac, linux.
- You also want integrated debugger.
Questions people ask
- Is Ansible or GoLand better?
- Neither clearly leads. Ansible starts at Free and GoLand at $24/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Ansible or GoLand?
- Ansible has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Ansible and $24/month for GoLand.
- Does Ansible or GoLand run on more platforms?
- Ansible runs on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api. GoLand runs on windows, mac, linux.
- Can I use Ansible for free?
- Yes. Ansible has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. GoLand starts at $24/month.
- What is Ansible best used for?
- Ansible is most often used for configuration management, server provisioning, application deployment, multi-node management. Of those, configuration management and server provisioning are not what GoLand is typically brought in for.
- What can Ansible do that GoLand cannot?
- Ansible covers Playbooks, Inventory management, Module library, Variables and templating. GoLand covers Smart code completion, Integrated debugger, Refactoring tools, Version control integration.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Ansible: Is Ansible free for commercial use?
Ansible Collaborative is open source. The page describes it as 'an open source IT automation engine' and does not impose restrictions on commercial use for the open source version.
SourceGoLand: How much does GoLand cost?
GoLand is sold as a JetBrains Toolbox subscription starting around $24/month for individuals and $34/month for organizations, with discounts for longer commitments and free licenses for students and open-source maintainers.
SourceAnsible: What is the difference between open source Ansible and the commercial alternative?
The page references Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform as an enterprise alternative to Ansible Collaborative, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or feature comparisons between the two offerings.
SourceGoLand: Is there a free trial?
JetBrains offers a free trial period for GoLand before requiring purchase of a Toolbox subscription license.
SourceAnsible: Is there paid support available for Ansible?
The page does not disclose whether paid support contracts are available for open source Ansible or whether Red Hat offers support plans for their enterprise Ansible Automation Platform.
SourceGoLand: What platforms does GoLand run on?
GoLand runs on Windows, macOS, and Linux as a desktop application distributed through JetBrains Toolbox.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Ansible vs Visual Studio Code
- Ansible vs Nix
- Ansible vs pnpm
- Ansible vs ESLint
- Ansible vs Turborepo
- Ansible vs Garden
- Ansible vs Penpot
- Ansible vs Bazel
- Ansible vs Depot
- Ansible vs Pants Build
- Ansible vs Helix
- Ansible vs Backstage
- Ansible vs Spacelift
- Ansible vs Argo CD
- Ansible vs Atlantis
- Ansible vs Blacksmith
- Ansible vs Coder
- Ansible vs Sweep
- Ansible vs Eclipse IDE
- Ansible vs Cody
- Ansible vs GitHub Copilot
- Ansible vs CLion
- Ansible vs Harness
- Ansible vs GitLab CI/CD
- Ansible vs Helm
- Ansible vs WarpBuild
- Ansible vs Webpack
- Ansible vs Avo
- Ansible vs Azure DevOps
- Ansible vs Bitbucket
- GoLand vs Visual Studio Code
- GoLand vs Nix
- GoLand vs pnpm
- GoLand vs ESLint
- GoLand vs Turborepo
- GoLand vs Garden
- GoLand vs Penpot
- GoLand vs Bazel
- GoLand vs Depot
- GoLand vs Pants Build
- GoLand vs Helix
- GoLand vs Backstage
- GoLand vs Spacelift
- GoLand vs Argo CD
- GoLand vs Atlantis
- GoLand vs Blacksmith
- GoLand vs Coder
- GoLand vs Sweep
- GoLand vs Eclipse IDE
- GoLand vs Cody
- GoLand vs GitHub Copilot
- GoLand vs CLion
- GoLand vs Harness
- GoLand vs GitLab CI/CD
- GoLand vs Helm
- GoLand vs WarpBuild
- GoLand vs Webpack
- GoLand vs Avo
- GoLand vs Azure DevOps
- GoLand vs Bitbucket

